We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME HOTEL & STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME HOTEL & STAFF”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were in the area for business and just looking for an affordable, clean hotel. We searched and made phone calls for 2 hrs. and visited MANY Hotels that were supposedly awesome by many reviews but what we found was disgusting! They were either dirty, moldy smelling, or charged a rediculous amount for parking. We found a "GEM" when we stumbled onto the Beachcomber Resort! When we drove up to the Beachcomber we thought we had found a run of the mill hotel, after searching for so long.... We went in to the lobby (it is beautiful and the view to the beach from the lobby was breathtaking!) got prices and they were very good then we asked to see a room thinking that would be the bad part since the pricing was so affordable. But much to our surprise it was wonderful! We had a corner room (#709) with a king bed, a great balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean and the loungechairs were padded and so clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and bedroom was very comfortable. They have a dining room (with entertainment) that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was delicious and afordable too. They staff was really friendly, we ended our business 2 days early so we stayed and enjoyed the area since we had never been to this part of FL. They had answers to all of our questions and were very helpful with restaurants to visit for our tastes. They really made our business trip into a vacation! I cannot say enough nice things about them or the hotel! BUT I will tell you we just booked a week with them in Sept. and cannot wait to go back! The hotel grounds are kept perfectly. They are clean and beautiful. We had our meals served outside around the pool. They have 2 pools. Just check out the website, everything you see is for real not just made to look good for the website. You know the hotels that look so good until you check in! This IS NOT one of them. They are a little piece of heaven and are right on the beach. We cannot wait to go back! So go ahead and book it with confidence because they really are a diamond right there among many cubic zirconias!!!! You will not regret your stay with them!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are great but we looked at several room types and liked them all. They were all dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCSHEREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    444
    189
    71
    57
See reviews for
374
563
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I booked this hotel through my airline. I was very happy with the hotel. The place was clean, I had a great view and the room was huge. We booked the ocean view room and it was perfect. No need for a ocean front, we had a gorgeous view. The balconies are nice and they have 2 lounge chairs to lay on. There isn't much privacy but that wasn't a big issue.

The rooms have a king bed so there's lot of room and a separate area for the bathroom and closet/dresser. I did notice the air filters were really dirty but overall it was a clean hotel. The walls did seem thin, some mornings I was woken up by other people out in the hallway or out on their balcony. The pool was nice, we didn't use the bar but we did use the beach in front of the hotel. You can rent chairs and umbrellas at a reasonable price from the pool area. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay close to Miami but save some money.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor, it was perfect. Not too high and not too low. A lower level will get a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdottie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The reason I chose the Beachcomber was they did not charge you $20.00 to $35.00 per day to park your car. All of the Hotels in Ft. Lauderdale were charging this. We had two cars for four nights..You do the math. Just refused to pay that. Will never go to that area because of that. Find it just ridiculious. We really enjoyed the Beachcomber. Great staff..All of them. The pool and beach area were excellant. Food was great and very reasonable priced.Its a little dated but its an old building and they were doing lots of work to update. My only complaint was the housekeeping. She didnt do that great of a job. The TV was all dusty and should really be updated. Pillows were aweful, need updating. I realize thats not her fault, but I wont even go on about what she didnt do. Overall yes, we would go back.

Room Tip: Oceonview rooms are great! Fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed this past weekend (July 27-30). We traveled with a few other couples from west coast of Florida. We originally wanted to stay in FTL Beach, but couldn't find what we were looking for. Then we took a chance on Beachcomber & very glad we did! We all stayed in different rooms & all had something different to offer.

We stayed in the pool deck rooms which is a seperate bldg & enjoyed them very much. There are 2 pools but the one at the pool deck rooms is quieter, and had more lounges. While it (room) was older & does need updating, it was very clean. It was efficiency style so had micro, ref, breakfast nook etc which was nice, and a small loveseat whuch was nice. The best part was walk out the door 6 steps to the pool & 12 to the beach! The only downer was you get a towel card & only 1 towel pp but you can keep changing out for a dry one.

Our friends stayed in the main bldg, the oceanfront rooms are super, updated, with great chaise lounges on the balcony. We did have breakfast at the hotel & there was a nice variety, and prices were fair. \We stayed an extra day & happy to find out that prices drop on Sunday- they consider it a weekday!

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with spa with chocolates on your pillow at night this ain't it folks, but if you are looking for a clean reasonable priced hotel right on the beach- the Beachcomber is the place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zieg633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you Zieg633 from Tampa, Florida, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Beachcomber. Really appreciate the positive review.

With regards our towel card system, we issue a towel card for the number of guests registered to the room. We created this system to make sure only registered resort guests have access to our pool towels and to avoid the hassle of making our guests log in/log out for their pool towels; it is also easier for our pool attendants to manage. It works much like a coat check, every time you give us a towel card, we give you a towel, when you turn in the towel we give you the towel card back so you can start all over when you need another towel. We ask our guests to return the towel card at check out to avoid a fee for lost or missing towels. You can always trade in a wet towel for a dry towel (during the pool shop's operating hours or at our front desk when the pool shop is closed), we certainly allow our guest to swap out their wet towels, and do it all the time. Sorry if we did not make that clear that there was no problem to trade a wet towel for a dry towel at any time; we certainly don't expect our guest to deal with a wet towel all day.

Well now you know and we sure do hope you will be our guest again the next time you visit the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. Thanks again for the nice review, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The location is great, right on the beach. The room ... not so great, very small and somewhat dated. Check-in was efficient but not overly friendly. Our room was clean but small and a few features had seen better days, specifically the air conditioner and bathroom plumbing. The A/C was set at 79 when we entered the room and it wasn't cool. I started turning it down and eventually set it on 64. This succeeded in making it noisier but not much cooler. We had one breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The food was good, prices were a bit high. Parking was a pain since all the spaces near the entrance seem to always be occupied so we had to park across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampabobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deale, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Beautiful room with wonderfully padded chaise lounges on the balcony overlooking the 2 pools and ocean. The curved balconies give you the illusion of privacy as you sit enjoying the evening music at the tiki bar. The staff was very friendly and our room very clean which is amazing given the amount of sand constantly trekked through the beach. The grounds are lush with tropical plants. As for the beach, you can walk in either direction with views of pristine water and the various hotels/condos along the beach. We had breakfast there as well as a few drinks in the tiki bar. The service was very good and the food was delicious. My only regret is that I didn't book enough time here and will have to return next time. I, too, didn't take any pictures but only because my camera was broken. Otherwise I would have enjoyed sharing the lovely ocean views and room with you.

Room Tip: Skip the European room and try a small splurge with the ocean view above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cattinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I have just returned from my stay at this " resort " I did not take any pictures, but should have to show the black mold that was growing on my old , extremely dated bathroom! No working outlets, so I had to use the blowdryer in the kitchen, no sleep the first night due to some sort of water valve that the cleaning staff left on all night and the night staff were unable to access the area in question until 8:30 the next morning. And yes the management was alerted to all the problems and at check out all I was told was " sorry for the trouble " On the flip side- i did ask for a low room , due to my husband's back problem and was indeed gievn a 1st floor room , so a plus for that and the Tiki bar staff are all extemely freindly- that's about all I can say about my stay- Thank goodness Pompano is getting a Marriott!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a balcony room- on the beach- I understand part of this hotel has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaynenunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#21 of 38 in Pompano Beach
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#16 of 38 in Pompano Beach
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Property: Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing