We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent past traveler to the Beachcomber”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have stayed at the Beachcomber more times than I can remember. There are many things that we as a family LOVE about the Beachcomber including that it is RIGHT on the beach. However, this last visit in December 2013 was very disappointing to us. Our family reserved 2 ocean view rooms, a one bedroom ocean front room in the pool deck building and one 2 bedroom villa. (4 rooms/villas total). When we checked in I opened the back door to the villa and was shocked at the trash (and awful smell coming from this trash) right outside the door. We immediately called the front desk and asked for the old broken down furniture and trash to be removed. No one came. The next morning the same thing, a call to the front desk. No trash removed. We lived for the entire week with this garbage/broken down furniture in back of our villa. Other than the penthouse, I believe a 2 bedroom villa is the most expensive room on the property. For that price I would expect it to be clean and free of junk surrounding the villa. And those items should have never been stored there in the first place. With rusty junk all around what if a child was injured?!?! But since it was there, after the first call it should have been immediately removed. And I don't think that is too much to ask. Our party was also not pleased with other changes in the hotel including there are no brochures displayed anymore. That was one of our children's favorite thing to do, pick out a place to go each trip by looking through the displayed brochures. They have also taken down the shuffle boards which we, as a family, loved. They are trying to make more seating for their restaurant service. So, all in all, probably the last time we will be visiting the Beachcomber.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 614judithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

"Terrific' That's one word to describe our stay at the Beachcomber. My sister were in for a long 5 day stay for a wedding and had booked an Ocean view room. We had a lovely balcony that looked out over the well maintained pool courtyard and off to the beautiful blue sea. 2 Chaise lounges to have our early morning coffee on or late afternoon glass of wine. Just breathtaking. The double room had two very nice beds with very clean sheets and 4 pillows each. I large bathroom with plenty of counter space for 2 people to get ready at the same time. Lots of clean fluffy towels. The staff were very attentive, polite and always at hand to help. Steve in the poolside bar made a rainy afternoon fly by with stories of old Ft Lauderdale and Johnny our waiter in the main dining room was very attentive on our first nights dinner. Which by the way was very good. If you are looking for a getaway right on the ocean with miles of beautiful sand and sea to walk along this is the place for you. The beach is raked every morning. You can walk to the pompano pier or a little farther to Lighthouse point. Or the other direction is Anglers pier in Lauderdale by the sea but it's a little farther. Their restaurant has a really good menu and you can eat inside, by the pool, or right alongside the ocean.

I highly recommend this resort to anyone wishing to get away from it all. This place has everything you need.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room a little farther away from the elevator but with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishiwasincapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you're looking for that "resort experience" in the Ft. Lauderdale/Pompano Beach area, look no further; the Beachcomber is for you! Seriously, I spend nearly 2 hours trying to find a hotel in Ft. Lauderdale that had a resort-like atmosphere, that fronted the ocean, that had good patron reviews, and that didn't gouge you, but no luck. Then I extended my search to include Pompano Beach, and voila! The staff, especially Darby and Andreas, were lovely -- couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The manager was as well (no surprise -- it usually takes good management to hire good management). The atmosphere was charming, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, everything was in great working order, the pools were awesome, the beachfront was spectacular, including the dining area… we couldn't have asked for anything more. Do yourself a favor, and book this hotel. (:

Sincerely,
- New Fans from Pittsburgh (the D & D Sisters)

Room Tip: Higher floors provide the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PITTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My daughter and I spent a long weekend at the Beachcomber and were very pleased with how clean the hotel was. All the staff were courteous, respectful and just plain happy! We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time and hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getlickin_iccrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Paid extra money for an "ocean view" room. The only way to see the ocean was to step onto balcony, lean over railing, and crane neck to the left for a small glimpse. I called the front desk and he said that was considered an ocean view room. Very misleading. Otherwise ok. Nice live musician playing, good breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank 59Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed two nights at this hotel and the location cannot be better. It is directly on the beach! There was no beach construction being done during my stay which I was happy about. The property of this hotel is very pretty. There is a tiki bar in the pool area. We had the most amazy bloody mary one morning!

The beds were comfortable, but the room is very dark in that it has dark furniture. Needs to be modernized, but if you can deal with that (I can for location!), it was clean. We had a beach front room and the balcony is so big and private! It was great. I give a 4 star overall rating because the décor in the room is rather blah. The room is very big though. There is a kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator.

The restaurant is very nice and the lunch prices were good. Dinner prices were rather steep, so we went across the street to a little hole in the wall called Stinger's Pizza. We had a big plate for spaghetti and meatballs for $10 and on another night we had all you can eat pizza for $8. You cannot beach the prices there. There is a 24 hour store across the street also for milk, bread, etc. There's also a hair salon there and a boutique.

The front desk got us a shuttle the the cruise port for $35 (for 2 people).

We will likely stay here again and if you are looking for a hotel on the beach... this is your place!

Room Tip: Choose ocean front if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The room was so filthy the carpet stuck to my feet! The odor from the mustiness penetrated all of my clothing after one nights stay and everything had to be laundered (with the exception of my suitcase which may need clorox!). the tiki bar was very nice and service for food was great. If that is all you are looking for and can put up with the filth and odors, stay here. We are seniors who travel often and can roll with the odd experience but this one keeps "lingering" ( the horrible odor in our clothes!) We did book through an on-line hotel specific site and were told at the desk we could upgrade our room for another $50. Really???Will never use that on-line site again!

Room Tip: very old and musty on 6th floor, pillows were extremely hard (like rubber)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kingsbridgemarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#7 of 38 in Pompano Beach
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#27 of 38 in Pompano Beach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: £80 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing