We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Moline
1 review
“Great Service and very clean”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I have never felt the need to write a review before, but the people that run this place deserve to be thanked for the great job they do.

Everything was perfect. Friendly Front desk, knowledgeable concierge (thanks for the tips Andrew!), very clean rooms and pool. Beautiful beach. Great restaurant. Bar with 3 hour long 2-1 happy hours and free appetizers. Free wifi, etc, etc, etc

We ran into cold weather and fortunately one of their two pools is heated so the kids still had a great time.

If I go back to the Fort Lauderdale area again, I know where I will stay!

It is refreshing to see that family owned resorts are still alive and well. Well done Beachcomber. Well Done!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkFanMoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
Thank you so much for your comments about the Beachcomber Resort! We are so pleased that your experience with us went so well!!! We appreciate the time you took to write to Trip Advisor and will look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again! Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    455
    191
    72
    61
See reviews for
392
572
50
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Came across the Beachcomber when searching for hotels in the Fort Lauderdale beach area. The Beachcomber is located on the beach at the north end of Lauderdale, in Pompano Beach. Front desk staff was very friendly upon check-in. No bell hop, but the concierge was very helpful; was an escort to the room and helped with the luggage. The hallways and elevators were a little worn, but my room and balcony were beautiful. Pay the extra for an oceanview room!!! It was more like a suite. (Check out my pics!) Recently remodeled with granite countertops in the kitchen and bathroom. Kitchen was more like an effiency. New micro, mini fringe, coffee maker, sink and a table & 2 chairs. (Note...does not come plates, glasses or silverware but the bar staff at the tiki bar are more than happy to supply you with plastic.) View from the balcony was awesome and the cushioned lawnchairs were a bonus. Stayed off season between Thanksgiving and Christmas so the restaurant was not open at the beginning of the week for dinner service. Did eat dinner in the restaurant once and lunch by the pool, and at the tiki bar a few times. Food was great and did not feel it was over priced. Beach area was beautiful and well maintained. There was 2 pools. 1 was heated (tiki side) and was like bath water. Bartenders at the tiki bar were very friendly and made you feel at home. Especially Jamie! She was the bomb! There isn't much withing walking distance unless you walk a mile +, but most everything you need is on the property. There is a strip mall right across the road with a gift shop, liquor/conveinence store, and a bar/restaurant. (Stingers...awesome pizza!) Cab ride to Downtown Lauderdale Beach Area @ $20-$25. Trip was for rest, re-coup in the sun. The Beachcomber delivered all...I would definetly recommend and stay here again. Until next time Beachcomber...

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livemusic2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
We, at the Beachcomber Resort, sincerely thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it sounds like we accomplished our mission with your stay! We look forward to your return visit and hope you will consider us your "home away from home"! Thanks again for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor and for the hotel photos. Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days after a cruise and really enjoyed it. Both my husband and I and our friends rooms were lovely, spacious with large balconys and comfy furniture. This hotel is one of the few hotel on the beach that were either not chains or condos. It is older, but so well kept up , it makes you feel you are stepping into an elegant piece of the past. The bartender poolside is very friendly and entertaining with great knowledge of the area. The first day we arrived we were just too "cruised out" to want to go anywhere, so we ate at the hotel restaurant. The price was very reasonable, the food was good and they had a piano player playing old favoraites in the bar area and it just added to the ambience that you had stepped into the past. The pool area is very nice, the pool warm and if it happens to be a little windy, it has a plexiglass wind block. The area is very nice around the hotel, with plenty of restaurants and shops. It is 10-15 minutes from the port and airport if you are cruising. So the convenience is great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 4 January 2010
We thank you for your great comments about our hotel! Our hope is that you will come back and visit with us again when you find yourself in South Florida. Thank you again for your kind words! The Management of the Beachcomber Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We booked in advance after stopping briefly the summer before(just to peek). The beautiful ocean view balconies enticed us, along with the ocean beach and pool. We booked 3 rooms for family who all traveled down for a family Christening from throughout the USA. We spent 4 nights and had beautiful rooms, not to mention we were all jealous of my brother's oceanfront penthouse. We decorated our balconies with Christmas lights and Marty took family pictures in the lobby by the Nutcrackers.. We had a wonderful time and we are already looking forward to our next trip down. Did I mention the pool sparkled and was the perfect temperature for late November. This may be an older resort, but maintenance came immediately when needed, even for the smallest thing (I guess I blew a fuse). The beds were extremely comfortable, which made it difficult to get up early to walk the beach at sunrise, but we settled for sunset instead. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone looking for a perfect getaway with perfect hosts.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort thank you so much for your comments about our hotel. We are thrilled that your stay was wonderful and that you will plan a return visit in the near future. We will look forward to it. Thank you again for the time you took to write in to Trip Advisor! Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We stayed at the Beachcomber for 13 days in early December. We had originally booked there only 3 nights but liked it so much we stayed our full 13 days. That in itself says something – we loved it there!

The hotel is right on an amazing long beach. The sound of the waves from the room was very relaxing. The hotel is fairly old but is maintained in excellent shape. It consists of a main 8 storey tower, smaller 2 storey buildings and separate villas. There is ample free parking.

We stayed in an ocean view room in the tower. The room was very nice. It was well decorated with what appears to be dark Indonesian furniture. We had a room on the 7th floor with a large balcony with 2 lounge chairs. The view from the balcony of the pool & beach was spectacular. The room had a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker with free coffee, and free wireless internet.

We ate out most lunches & dinners at several very good restaurants including Seawatch, Bone Fish Grill, Casablanca Café, Blue Moon Fish Company (the most expensive, but 2 for 1 lunch is good deal) and Calypso. We went to some of these several times as they were so good. We also tried the hotel restaurant once for lunch and once for dinner. Both these meals were good and very reasonable.

The hotel staff we dealt with were all very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Margaret & Brian in helping us with our various requests to change rooms and extend our stay. The off season rate we paid was very reasonable for the room we got. Winter rates seem to start after Xmas.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort are so pleased to read your review of our resort! It means a lot to us to hear all feedback, but it is especially nice when the feedback is so GREAT! I will pass your compliments to Margaret and Brian along to them and to the front desk manager. We look forward to your next stay with us! Thank you again for your business. Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

After reading the positive reviews about this hotel, I was prepared for a pleasant stay. Unfortunately that was not the case.
When we first saw our room, it was surprisingly small and narrow. I didn't think hotel rooms were this tiny anymore. It was just large enought to accommodate one bed and allow us to siddle along either side.This was nothing like the picture we had seen.
I asked the clerk at the front desk if we could possibly move to another room. He told me that we had booked through Expedia and that was the room we were entitled to. He said we could have a better room for an additional fee.
We decided to stay and went out for the evening. When we returned I wanted to have a shower. The hot water was cold. After letting it run for some time, I called the fornt desk and the same fellow told me that I should let it run for "ten or fifteen minutes". I told him I had done that and could he put us in a room with hot water. He said "We already had this conversation", and reminded me again that I had booked through Expedia. This seemed to suggest the poorest accommodation available . He again told me that I could have another rooom for an upgrading fee. After not being able to find a maintenance man to "fix it"( I don't know what he would have fixed), he finally did move us.
In the new room we discovered a new problem. This room had hot water but it came out brown and the pipes sang and vibrated. The plumbing here was no better. The bathroom looked of 1950's vintage with old faucets and certainly old plumbing. When we tried to call for a wake-up, we discovered that the phone was not working. Whether we called wake-up, front desk, room service, concierge or housekeeping, there was no answer anywhere despite repeated attempts. We then set the alarm but it didn't work either.
In general, I would not recommend this hotel. The service was dismal and the hotel itself has had some cosmetic improvements (furniture and carpet) but many things reveal that this hotel is old and poorly maintained- the broken bedside lamp, the buttons in the elevator, every one smashed and broken, the old plumbing and bathrooms. This was the first night of our holiday and it was not fun.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onetravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort want to apologize for the issues you experienced recently at our hotel. This is certainly not the "norm" and we want you to know all the issues you mentioned will be reviewed and corrective actions will be taken. The hotel does have cozy hotel rooms on the north side of the building which are sold as a "cozy" room type, limited view and no balconies....these are the least expensive rooms in the hotel. We are going to check with Expedia (your booking venue) to make sure they are selling the room types clearly to the customer so that the customer knows what to expect. Again, our sincere apologies to you for your experience at the hotel, please be assured corrective actions will be taken. The Management Team of the Beachcomber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

This is a good value hotel. Spacious rooms with great balconies, very nice beach and pool. Rooms were clean and had a microwave and fridge. The best part about this hotel is it is right on the beach (you don't have to cross the A1A to get to it). There were some minor issues with housekeeping - small inconsistencies like not leaving enough toilet paper one day, no hand towells or wash clothes the next - luckily, the housekeeping cart was parked outside our room for much of the day, so we just grabbed whatever we needed. The other issue with housekeeping was that they were pretty slow to clean the rooms. We were out on the beach by mid morning and would be ready to come in around 3. Two of our four days, the room wasn't yet ready. However, when we requested late check out on the last day, they said it wasn't possible (even though we agreed to pay the half day rate) and housekeeping was ready to come in right at check out time. This was a little frustrating.

Although I slept soundly the entire time we were there, my husband did complain of some noise.

The restaurant in the hotel was pretty good, but a little pricey for what you got. Be aware that there really isn't anything in the way of shops or restaurants within walking distance. You need to drive pretty much everywhere. And there's really not a town in Pompano - just strip malls really.

With a little bit of effort, the Beachcomber could be an awesome place instead of just a good value. I would recommend it to those on a budget but probably won't stay again myself.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frieda-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 30 November 2009
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Beachcomber Oceanfront Resort. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it sounds like we fell short in the area of housekeeping. Your comments will be passed on to the Executive Housekeeper so that corrections can be made to the deficencies you noted in your review. We do hope that when your future travel brings you to our area, that you will consider us once again for a beach front stay. Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#25 of 38 in Pompano Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#18 of 38 in Pompano Beach
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Property: Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing