We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property, even if you don't play golf!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, even if you don't play golf!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in Ponte Vedra for a wedding and chose to stay here as it was a little less expensive that the Ponte Vedra resort and we were busy with wedding festivities. What a wonderful surprise, it does not even feel like a Marriott hotel. We did not play golf but did enjoy the putt putt, free bicyles, beautiful pool areas and numerous restaurants. We loved the pub..the food was very good and there were plenty of pub games(shuffleboard, pool, darts etc) to play with my teenagers. The men enjoyed their cigars on the deck and we loved sitting around the firepit at night. We stayed in Villas and again, a lovely surprise. While they are a bit dated on the outside, the inside is recently renovated. 6 of us stayed in a 2 br villa that had a bedroom on either side of a shared living space. We had a small kitchen so we were able to eat breakfast and some lunches at the Villa. It overlooked a pond where we saw several people fishing. The shuttle is readily available to take you around the property and to the beach club, also very nice. Great pool, restaurant and nice beach. My only complaint was the high cost of renting chairs at the beach club...but I guess it is a resort so should expect it. The staff was very nice and helpful, we felt quite spoiled. I would definately stay here again and think it is great for families, couples or golf buddies looking for a getaway weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriors3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a pleasant stay with us at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. I am so glad to know you were pleasantly surprised by all that we have to offer. While our name is often used when considering golf, we offer our guests so much more and it is great to see you were able to take advantage of many of our activities and amenities on site. Our Villa accommodations are perfect for larger groups and offer all of the comforts of home. From mini golf, swimming in our pools or at the Cabana Beach Club, bicycling and more, it seems like you were able to enjoy so much. I do hope you will come back again for another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    257
    116
    47
    22
See reviews for
208
205
21
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I want to start by saying that I travel most weeks and am a fan of Marriott hotels. The room was fine, the dining was good, the staff was very helpful. My disappointment came with the cabana club experience that I encountered during my stay. The beach is not at the hotel, it is a 5 minute shuttle ride. It is a private beach that is very nice. Showers are available, restaurant and junior Olympic size pool. Just be aware that the Cabana restaurant closes at 8:30 and the shuttle runs on an as needed basis after 8:30 pm. I was disappointed that the pool displayed "open until 11:00 pm" closed at 8:40pm for cleaning. Overall, it was fine but not on my must return list.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stac410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. I am so glad you enjoyed much of your stay with us from your guest room accommodations to the helpfulness of our associates. It is regrettable, however, if you were disappointed by some aspects of your encounter. As you mentioned, our property is not located directly on the ocean, but our complimentary shuttle service will take you to our very own private Cabana Beach Club for the opportunity to enjoy the coast. We apologize if you were inconvenienced by any of our restaurants’ hours of operation. The Sea Porch Bar & Grill or 619 Ocean View at the Cabana Club are open until 9:00pm and 9:30pm, respectively. We also feature several options at our main property that are open later for your dining pleasure. It is our hope that you will reconsider another visit with us so that we can fully impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My husband brought me here for the last night of our trip. So awesome. Multiple restaurants to choose from. They have a shuttle service that takes you to the beach where there is also a restaurant. The multiple pools are nice and the is other activities on the property. Everyone is incredibly nice and helpful.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your time with us. We think a stay at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa is the perfect way to start or end a vacation! As you mentioned, we have a number of dining choices on-site to satisfy any cravings and our complimentary shuttle service will take guests to our private Cabana Beach Club with waterfront dining and access to some of the most picturesque beaches in Florida. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back for a getaway again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel it self is old but it has been renovated and it has lots to offer in the way of amenities ! You can go to the beach via the shuttle and use the pool or private beach area at the cabana club. The on site pools are both beautiful and the hotel lobby is very comfortable. The pub on site has lots of activities and outdoor seating to enjoy the beautiful waterfalls and golf course views. Most of the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. A few problem areas include the staffing of the bar and food service by the pools, bed sheets and room temperature. We attempted to get lunch one day by the pool only to find that the staff was very overwhelmed and could not serve us at one of the tables in the eating areas by the outside bar. After going to the bar to serve ourselves we waited a while to get served and then were told it would take 20 minutes or more to get the food and would have to serve ourselves. Lunch for 2 was over 50$ and I was my own waitress! The staff were clearly working as hard as they could and needed more help! Management should work on this as I have seen this problem reported in other posts.
The beds are very comfortable but the sheets are not big enough to stay on the mattress and every morning we woke to the sheets being half off the bed. We also had a problem with the room not being cool enough even when the thermostat was set to a very low temperature.
Overall the resort is very nice. We have been several times and plan to go again... Only hope that management will work on these few small items.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. I am so happy you have enjoyed a number of stays with us and plan to visit again. Our resort amenities are truly world class and designed for our guests ultimate relaxation. Whether you choose to golf, take a dip in one of our pools or walk along the miles of sandy beaches at our private Cabana Beach Club, we have many ways to relax. No matter how busy we may be, our associates try to provide the very best in service in all ways. With that being said, I must apologize if you found anything to be lacking while dining or if you found the temperature in your guest room not more to your liking. I will be sure to share your comments with our everyone here. We all look forward to welcoming back and improving upon your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was a very nice hotel, the parking valet top notch guys! I really thought this was going to be directly on the beach. I specifically asked the lady when I changed some dates and called her up. But overall, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smariebooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of your stay with us. I will be happy to let our Valet team know you found their efforts to be, as you put it, top notch. As you mentioned, our hotel is not located on beachfront property, but we do regret if that was not more clear to you. We offer complimentary shuttle service to our very own private Cabana Beach Club directly on the water and perhaps that was the source of the confusion. I hope you will consider staying with us again at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

we were there for a family wedding weekend. we reserved a villa and an adjoining room as well as an additional room to house our immediate family and grandkids. I was told the villa had a kitchen. we were disappointed to find a dorm fridge, a microwave and a small sink. even the coffee pot only made two cups of bad coffee! not what I consider a kitchen. we could have gotten the same at a much cheaper motel. the grounds were lovely and they have done a nice job of updating the rooms but don't call that little poorly equipped space a kitchen, please.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank beck52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us about your stay. A family getaway weekend can be such a special time. I am glad that you found many areas of our resort to your liking, including the upgrades made during our recent renovation. It is disappointing, however, if your accommodations were not as anticipated. As you mentioned, our Villas feature kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves, but I must apologize if you were felt any of the amenities featured were lacking. Our website is the best place to review any of the features of our guest accommodations, but it is regrettable if that was not more clear to you. We feature a number of different dining options and restaurants on site from upscale to casual for your convenience. Additionally, our associates are always happy to direct guests to choices that can be found off-site. I do hope you will visit us again and take advantage of more of what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in April 2014, after a confusing check-in where the agent (I think she was in training) said she had a room available on an upper floor and then handed us a keycard with a 2nd floor room written on it...we started to walk away and then turned back to ask about the room number and she replied "oh yeah I changed it"...umm ok thanks. After arriving to our room no sooner than 10 minutes later someone was trying to access our room, after a call to the front desk and a trip back there, they discovered the desk agent never truly checked us in even though she took my credit card and then checked the next guest into the same room. I work at hotel so I know mistakes happen but it wasn't busy at the desk and you took my card so??? Pay attention to what you're doing. They offered to waive the hotel daily resort fee, more than enough for the mix-up. Although at check out the charge was of course on the bill so after another wait to speak with a manager the fee was finally taken off.
The room itself was fine, nothing special but the refrigerator is always a nice addition to have. Bathroom was large but no fan, seriously? We had to leave one of the french doors open while showering otherwise it was a sauna.
The pool area was fine but don't waste your time there, take the shuttle to the private beach club...lovely! Good size pool there and nice beach area with lounge chairs and umbrellas plus a great cafe onsite with good service.
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, just hit the Starbucks a couple times coming and going throughout our stay. Go offsite for meals, plenty of great places within a short drive. We did try the poolside grille one day, they need help there...the girl was overwhelmed with trying to keep up on drinks and orders, I felt bad for her but in a resort this size they should have been able to find someone to jump in. Food was ok, not worth the almost hour wait for a chicken wrap.
All in all an average Marriott stay, nothing super wow but nothing awful, next time we'll try a boutique hotel in the St. Augustine area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your time with us. Although it is great to know our Cabana Beach Club left you with such a positive impression, we regret not meeting your expectations in every way or for any confusion that transpired upon check in. The honest and open feedback of our valued guests is important to us and we want to assure you that your experience is not indicative of the level of service we strive to deliver. We are grateful you allowed us to speak to you regarding your concerns. We have shared the matter with our management team again. Please accept our apology for any inconveniences you encountered. We hope you will reconsider a future for stay so we can impress you at every turn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
8.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
6.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1000 Pga Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-3036
Region: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, we provide guests all the elements for a winning stay. Accommodations range from newly refreshed guest rooms, to Premium Service Wing rooms and suites and spacious Villas with kitchenettes and patios, located in two-story buildings clustered around scenic lagoons. A spa, four pools and a variety of indoor and outdoor dining options offer choices for relaxing, indulging and mingling. Privileged access to iconic golf at the adjacent TPC® Sawgrass and to our recently renovated private Cabana Beach Club with dining overlooking the Atlantic ocean are each a quick, complimentary shuttle ride. Groups appreciate the convenience of over 61,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor and outdoor event space, including an exhibit area, 2,500-person capacity ballroom, private beach venue and over 36 meeting rooms. Genuinely warm hospitality, a casual ambience and pleasant weather year-round await at our beautiful 65-acre resort, just 30 minutes from Jacksonville airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort And Spa
Marriott Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Hotel Sawgrass
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing