We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Nearby Hotels
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa(Ponte Vedra Beach)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ponte Vedra Inn & Club(Ponte Vedra Beach)
US$359
US$330
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra(Ponte Vedra Beach)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$146
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Mayo Clinic(Jacksonville)
US$208
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express(Jacksonville Beach)(Great Value!)
US$144
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Oceanfront(Jacksonville Beach)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
274
54
18
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
274
54
18
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindow seathigh teaponte vedrasister propertygas fireplacefamily poolbeautiful beachocean viewtop notchjacuzzi tubbell staffseparate showerroom service iswe ate breakfastfood servicerobes and slippersst augustine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Due to our early flight we we were encouraged to arrive to the hotel early as well to have lunch at the hotel and they could probably get us into our room by 1:00ish so we did have lunch at the hotel but unfortunately had to wait there until 3:00pm for our "early check-in". That was the worst of the stay and soon forgotten once we were in our room a Superior Ocean King with a private balcony and incredible view of the ocean. The room was very roomy and clean/comfortable, nice high ceilings with a ceiling fan. Yes this hotel is more for adults but you can go to the sister hotel if you want to utilize the services or restaurants as well. The rooms were very quiet we never heard neighbors.

We had lunch, breakfast and dinner at the Innlet Dining Room and both chef's were incredible!! The food was wonderful!!

This hotel was a great choice for us, staff were very friendly and helpful! We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTraveler002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Beautiful location and views. Fireplace and window seats were nice touches in the room. Service was fantastic - among the best I've experienced. We enjoyed the high tea, the pool area, and the Oasis, although the pool itself was not heated. We liked that the lodge is more suited to adults than to children. St. Augustine is less than a half hour away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbatheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed one night on our way back home to North Carolina from South Florida and had a very nice afternoon, evening and morning. However, we were very glad we were staying for only one night. This is not a place for children and although our children are well behaved and fairly quiet (much quieter than the wedding guests partying right outside our door into the very late hours of the night), it was clear that they were not especially welcome. As noted in other reviews, the main pool area is adults only but was also the main access to the beach and the restaurant. So my little girl was very nervous every time she had to walk through since she wasn't supposed to be there.

The beach is beautiful - soft white sand and clear green water. Lots of shells. I do wish they had complimentary beach chairs.

We were in a king suite which was very nice, clean and traditional. The staff were all very courteous and very formal.

I have read that the Inn is more family friendly so maybe we will check that out next time we are in that area. If you are looking for something similar that is more family friendly, the King and Prince in St Simons is loads of fun and much less formal.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed six nights in January, 2011, in room 243, a king superior room, with private balcony about 30 yards from the ocean (at high tide!). Made the reservation by calling the hotel directly; the polite young lady gave us a discount from the internet rate...ended up paying $257/night (including all taxes and fees), which we thought very reasonable for the location and quality of this boutique hotel.
It's located in an upscale residential neighborhood along a very clean and quiet stretch of beach, approximately two miles to the main road (A1A) shops and restaurants. You can see the high rises of Jacksonville Beach about two miles down the shoreline, but in this area nothing is more than two stories high. On one side of the hotel is the ocean, the other side is Ponte Vedra Blvd, a two lane residential street, not much traffic, lots of bicyclists and people walking dogs. Free parking is just across this street, very convenient. They also offer a free shuttle to anywhere. Located less than ten miles from the Mayo Clinic.
Wonderful front desk staff, even gave us a list and map to recommended nearby restaurants (would need a car for any restaurant other than the hotel's own).
Beautiful, casually elegant lobby, opens to patio and the ocean and outdoor bar (closed in January).
Covered open walkways with columns, wrought iron, and brick pavers and winding around little garden areas, lead to the rooms (see photo). Gives a very private feeling as opposed to regular hotel corridors. Two pools, both overlooking the ocean, and a lovely large outdoor fountain garden. Very nice gym across the street and two computers with free internet just off the lobby.
Rooms are again elegant, with traditional fabrics, posh limestone-looking baths. Very clean, and we're picky about that. Maid service was as should be in a well-managed hotel, inobtrusive. The hotel was sparsely occupied, but we heard no sounds from other guests or rooms, other than an early wake-up buzzer from an adjoining room one time.
Not all rooms have private balconies; some open to a shared veranda overlooking the pools and the ocean beyond. We chose the second floor private balcony room and highly recommend it. We love to look out onto and listen to the ocean on our little balcony with a glass of wine and watch the pelicans dive bomb into schools of fish. The balcony had a small table and two chairs.
Our days consisted of sitting in the sun, walking the beach looking for sharks' teeth, eating, sitting on the balcony; drove to St. Augustine one afternoon. No kids that we saw; this is a quiet, adult-oriented hotel. They feature a high tea each afternoon.
Did not eat in the restaurant, though it looked lovely with glass windows overlooking the ocean. Ordered room service two nights, excellent, and one breakfast, also excellent, especially the eggs Benedict. Had the best crab cake here of all the restaurants in the area. Great spinach salad. However, the filet mignon was a bit bland.
The restaurants where we ate were those that are top recommended by TA for Ponte Vedra Beach: Palm Valley Fish Company, Barbara Jeans, Lulu's, The Aqua Cafe, Restaurant Medure. Restaurant Medure had superb food, very elegant. PVFC was upscale: great food and service, but too loud and hectic for us. Barbara Jeans was more casual, but very good crab cakes and fish and a great view over the Intercoastal Waterway with "wild" Florida right out the window. The Aqua Cafe was excellent also, delicious Oysters Rockerfeller. Lulu's, right next door to PVFC with the same great view of the waterway and woods on the other side, was more like a big diner, the food adequate, not great.
Our only criticism of this hotel was the frequent helicopters flying over several times a day. There are two naval air stations in Jacksonville and apparently this whole area is on their training run flight path. The Friday morning that we checked out, I counted ten fly-overs before noon...sort of a Viet Nam feel. The other days it did not seem to be nearly that many fly-overs. That was the only thing that interrupted the quiet feel of this area, and it was a minor problem.
We are looking forward to returning to this area and will definitely stay at this beautiful, well-run hotel. Next time we'll dress a bit better!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

After staying at the Doral Resort in Miami, Reunion Resort in Orlando, Innisbrook in upper Tampa, by far, The Lodge and Club at Pondte Vedra Beach surpasses overall in ambiance, food, location and service. Yes, I've mentioned three Golf Resorts that are well known to golfers. We were there for our Anniversary weekend. The front desk people were very courteous and welcoming.

Our villa suite was located directly across the hotel and golf course so everything was walking distance. As soon as entered our room, there was a knock on the door, and someone was there to deliver us a bottle of champagne and chocolate truffles. Wow, what a nice touch! So thoughtful! How many places these days do that?? Our room was very elegant with rich dark toned furnishings, plush robes and slippers in the closet, free wifi internet, extra umbrellas just in case it rains, little touches that makes you think, wow.

We didn't get to walk around the beach. It was windy and on the cold side, supposedly very rare around this time of the year.

That day we played at the Hammock course. It was not very impressive as it was short and not very challenging. This place is one of the oldest golf courses in the US, but this course was built later than the Ocean course which was built in 1922 by Robert Trent Jones. Afterwards, it was very comfy and settling at the bar/restaurant to have some beer. We ordered their clam chowder soup. It was very delicious with lots of clams in it but the soup was on the thick side. Then we ordered the crab cake. It's to die for! We both agreed that it is one of the best crab cakes we've ever tasted. It's pricey at $16 for One crab cake, but well worth it!

The next day, we played the Ocean Course. Fantastic course! It's very challenging, well manicured, greens in perfect, very fast condition. There are bunkers set properly, enough to be challenged and water everywhere. Instead of oak or pine trees, there are gazillions of palm trees....

We did dine at the Sea Foam Restaurant. Men have to wear a jacket. It's bleak inside, small and dark. I thought they could use some color in that dining room. Food was your typical, not very exciting to write home about, but the service was very good and attentive.

Don't miss out on the weekend breakfast buffet. Name it, there was everything set up, but a carving table, which I didn't miss. Great pancakes and omelet station. Again, service was impeccable!

All in all, we were very impressed with the place and definitely will return. The best part was the special price they offer pre-Christmas starting from October. The package was $230 day breakfast and golf included for two. Minimum two nights. Perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rits2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews