We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Rated and Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Over Rated and Over Priced”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Rooms in serious need of a renovation and rather tiny. Poky and old. Breakfast nothing special and takes forever which probably explains why there was hardly anyone there. On our first day there we arrived back at our suite at 4.00pm to find that it hadn't been serviced yet!!!!!!!!and when we called and asked for someone to come clean our room, it was done in under five minutes by a not too happy lady!!! A waste of good money. Would not recommend and will never go back

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are very appreciative of your comments from your recent stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all guests have a wonderful visit and the feedback we receive is truly valued. I am disappointed to know that your visit did not meet your expectations. Your feedback on the housekeeping and breakfast service has been forwarded to the appropriate departments so we may take corrective actions. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will reconsider a return in the future.

Best wishes,
David Mariotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    50
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
145
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel stretches along the beach so most rooms have a great view and easy access to it. The rooms are well furnished but need some renovation. Lugging your luggage to your room can also be a chore with the distance and stairs involved. There are elevators, but you have to know your way around to use and find them.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank 73F250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Staff is great! The rooms were comfortable. Can't beat the location and view! Shopping, tennis, health club, golf, spa all on the property BUT find someplace else to eat, food not so good. Overall both of us were very comfortable and pleased with the resort

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A great venue for a wedding! The bride and groom overlooked the ocean while pelicans flew overhead. The view of the Atlantic Ocean was spectacular, and made the day even more wonderful. The "Heart Reef Plated Dinner" was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin5travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our family lives in Ponte Verdra, and are members of the Lodge, thus we'd always been aware of the place. This past year, we'd had occasion to stay for a family reunion of sorts, and was treated to a great stay. Most rooms look out over the ocean, although some are provided with an oblique view if set back from the rooms closest to the beach. The rooms are spacious and inviting. The top floor rooms have cathedral ceilings, in which we'd heard the rain atop at night (which was rather nice). The bathrooms in the units are huge and ours offers a tub and a separate shower. The location is nice, and it's really steps to the beach. The pool sits above the beach, and there's a separate area for adults. The food service around the pool is decent, and the lunches are pretty big. The staff is inviting and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms I assume all have views, yet some are oblique to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Never seen a staff that was so courteous! Nice large rooms and easy access to the beach! The pool was very nice! The outside bar (near pool) was a bit slow on service but managed to get the job done! Meals here are the best! I really enjoyed my stay here!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The on site restaurant has terrific service. VERY attentive waiters and tasty food...even our banquet food was good. Being from Texas we were surprised at the cold weather at the beginning of the week late March to early April stay. Very windy so the outdoor dinner was freezing and they have no heaters for outdoor dining. The spa is phenomenal except for the over-selling that slightly dampened the mood during my massage. I had 7 recommendations, none of which I asked for and it was hard for me to relax with my masseuse constantly recommending a new product for my dry skin (which I did not know I had) and then for my sleep problems (which I don't have) ...it went on. Okay enough of the bad... the positives: great access to the beach, the Spa had an outdoor pool that was adult only and very attentive attendants at their cabana. The spa is huge and definitely worth a visit for the entire day. Just make sure you tell your masseuse you prefer not to talk during the massage prior to beginning. The scents provided were top notch. Fireplace in our room was enjoyed, the rooms are quite large with kitchenette which we like for fruit in the morning. Maid service comes twice a day and are VERY good at coming back when you are not in the room. The valet guys were fun and friendly, appreciated their good moods. The pool/patio area just up from the beach is heated and a mere walk from your room. Try the white sangria at the pool and their key lime pie is to die for. LOVED it. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Very minor items all considering and if we were in town again for a conference I would stay here again. Beach walks were nice, not too shelly for bare feet. A great place to bring the kids. Oh last thing - the gym! my husband said it was small with little equipment but I went to the classes and I have been to a lot of country clubs where they are very unwelcoming of non-members who are hotel guests - not so at this gym. Each instructor welcomed me and the front desk staff at the gym was so kind and welcoming. I understand some guests are not prudent of the members at a club but at this gym I did not feel like an outsider. I really appreciated the gym staff. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Not sure how to get a quiet room... there was no sleeping in allowed here. Not sure if it was const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
7.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Property: The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Address: 607 Ponte Vedra Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-2782
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Jacksonville and St. Augustine, The Lodge & Club is situated in the lovely seaside setting of Ponte Vedra Beach. Framed by graceful palms and rolling dunes, the intimate AAA Four-Diamond boutique hotel has charmed guests with world-class amenities and gracious service since its debut in 1989. Panoramic vistas of the Atlantic provide an awe-inspiring setting for The Lodge's 66 luxurious rooms and suites. Indulgent days are spent enjoying the Atlantic surf, shelling along the beach, swimming, surfing, cycling and sampling The Lodge's inventive cuisine. Nearby, guests have access privileges to oceanfront golf, world-class tennis and a relaxing spa. The Lodge & Club and its nearby sister property, Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, comprise the oceanfront luxury vacation experience known as Ponte Vedra Beach Resorts. Hotel guests enjoy reciprocal access to the amenities of both establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Club At Ponte Vedra Beach Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge And Club At Ponte Vedra Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing