We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Port Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knights Inn Port Charlotte
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Portage,MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I booked at this motel because it is convenient to reach the airport from it and the price was good as we were going to arrive late afternoon with our 6 year old grandson and leave early as we had a 7:30a.m. flight.
We arrived around 9p.m. and had a little difficulty finding the motel...everything was much smaller on the outside than the photos on-line had indicated. Then we had difficulty understanding what the manager said as English was NOT his primary language. We got to our room and again it was much smaller than indicated on-line. The room did appear clean but with a worn out look. I helped our grandson get ready for a shower before bed and discovered there no hot water so now we had three very hot, sweaty people with no chance for a shower. Which might be a good thing as the towels were paper thin and exactly 3 in the room. My husband went to get bottled water (most motels these days supply at least one per guest in the room) . He put money in the machine and no water, no money back..... so he tried to have a conversation with the manager and after quite awhile did get the money back....the vending machine was outside and there was nothing inside that allowed you to get a drink or snack. The air-conditioner was so loud it vibrated the front door, so we had to stuff paper in to stop that. Then all night long it went from a volume of a jet plane landing to a dull roar off and on every few minutes until we wanted to tear our hair out, but it was way too hot to turn it off. The beds were double beds, which I now know mean a full bed, not queen size bed and the bedding was smaller than should be and the pillows flatter - in other words very little sleep, like three hours and we had to get up at 5:00 to be at the airport by 6:30a.m. The manager had told us (I think that is what he said) that there would be coffee and breakfast available when we left the next morning.....as we pulled out of the parking lot the office and breakfast area there was no lights on and no one there to greet us for the promised breakfast....we left the keys on the desk tired, hot, hungry and upset! It would have been better to have slept in our car than at this place. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joneslinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    11
    12
    28
See reviews for
25
20
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etheslvill, AL 35461
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Booked this room online. BAD mistake, having never stayed here before. Checked in, went to room, returned to desk and informed Mgt. we couldnt stay there. She offered to let us look at another room. Looked, returned to desk, left key and then left property. Mgt. would not refund money because "they offered us another room". Beware, this is a DUMP!

Room Tip: The pictures online are deceiving. This place is a rat hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We booked a non-smoking room here for 3 nights. The first room we were given smelled of stale smoke, so we asked to move. We were given a room that was somewhat better smell-wise. Overall the room was OK, what you would expect from an older motel.

However, we had a family situation arise where we needed to cut our stay short. We talked to the manager about this on the first night, and the possibility of getting la partial refund for the remaining nights. He was absolutely unwilling to even consider this, even though our reservations specifically stated that our credit card wouldn't be charged until check out. He told us that he had already submitted our card info to the company, and that they had already charged it, and there was no way he could get anything back. When we called the company customer service number, they said this was untrue. When we mentioned this to the manager, he came up with more lies and excuses. He made it very clear that he would NEVER under any circumstances consider our request.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

I have booked two nights there. The location was good, right off Highway 41.
The room looked clean but smelled very bad.
In the night I heard some noise, like rustling curtains but was too lazy to investigate.
Next morning I discovered my loaf of French bread was mutilated by a rat (?) and my Blackberry phone charger cord dangling from the wall socket.

The management replaced the charger.
Priceline apologized for the ruined first night stay and refunded me for the second night.
I would not stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Port Charlotte Knights Inn On Tamiami from 1/21-1/25. We booked this online. On Saturday we heard a gunshot and later the sherrif's department asked us questions about that. It turns out a man was shot and later died from this. Several of the hotel patrons left that night. We were with my wife's parents and they too were awakened from this event. We attemted to check out on Tuesday but the Barely English speaking owners told us they were unable to help us due to the fact we booked online. We then spoke with the help line on the phone and were told that it was up to the owners to assist us. We wil NEVER stay at this place again. We also found out from the Bob Evans diner next door that this hotel is noted for being a hotel rife with prostitution and drugs. Find another hotel unless you want to be part of a CSI episode!!
Just google a search for "Port Charlotte Knights Inn shooting" and read the news of this event.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epinefrn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Clean, well run, excellent staff, close to everything. Couple who own the motel are friendly and knowledgeable about all aspects of the business and where to go and what to see. Very pleased with my stay and will definitely stay on my next business trip to Port Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Days Inn Port Charlotte
#2 of 8 in Port Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
3.0 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Port Charlotte

Property: Knights Inn Port Charlotte
Address: 4100 Tamiami Trl, Port Charlotte, FL 33952-9209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Port Charlotte 2*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Knights Inn Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Port Charlotte Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing