We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOTs of BUGS, no manager, double charged. AWFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Port Charlotte
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
sarasota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOTs of BUGS, no manager, double charged. AWFUL”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Checked into a room full of all kinds of bugs everywhere. I mean the kind of bugs that BITE! Not surprising considering the big gap under the door. Checked out and asked clerk for refund. Checked my account and found they charged me twice! Called and got lied to and stonewalled. "The manager is gone, don't know when he'll be back, can't do anything", etc. Called corporate customer service, more stonewalling, and I'm still fighting for refund. Will begin fraud charges today. I believe all the positive reviews herein are FAKE, don't believe them. It is NOT clean and the owners are NOT nice. Avoid this nasty rat-hole at all costs. The locals tell me this place is known for criminal activity, And a cursory search of local news archives backs this up. A dump run by crooks.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel without bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    11
    13
    29
See reviews for
26
21
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at Knights Inn Port Charlotte while beginning employment. They are the best around. Very nice. Excellent housekeeping. Computer access always available. I wouldn't stay elsewhere in Port Charlotte.

Room Tip: Plenty of restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen34575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here last week. The exterior of the property is beautiful, they have really done a great job with the landscaping. Georgeous palms everywhere you look. The interior was very nice, the bed had the coolest sheets I have ever seen in a hotel. They were printed and so soft! Myself, hubby and our chihuahua slept like rocks! The room was spacious and included an almost full sized refrigerator and microwave. We didn't need them, but it was cool to have just in case. The bathtub was huge and perfect to relax in after a long drive.
I cannot believe some of the reviews about this place, I guess some people are not happy no matter where they are. I will always recommend this hotel to anyone coming this way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhorselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed there when my trip turned out to be longer than planned. I needed a basic place to clean up and crash for some overnite rest. Nothing fancy here, everything seemed good enough for the cost... since I was out of my budget already.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNCjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

From the bed sheets, to the towels, to the front desk staff....HORRIBLE!!! Not a good experience. I only stayed here because of my boss paying for it for work. But I would never spend my money on this place. The breakfast was terrible by the way. So I would not recommend this place to anybody!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My father and I stayed in this hotel while visiting South Florida. We were trying to get to Naples, but hotels were sold out or overpriced all the way from Port Charlotte down. We were lucky to stumble upon the Knights Inn. The price was fair, the room was clean, and the location was accessible to restaurants and anything else you may need. However, what stood out the most was the absolutely selfless service from the wonderful staff at this establishment. The Patel family knew that we were really struggling to get to Naples and how we kept falling short. In order to help us out, they contacted friends and families that owned hotels in the area we were trying to get to. Low and behold, they reserved a fabulous room for us at a great price, which helped us more than you could imagine. They did not have to do this and got nothing out of it. They simply did it out of the goodness of their hearts, and my father and I greatly appreciated such an act of kindness. We highly recommend staying here. It is a small, one-story hotel, and it is simple and clean and provides all that you need for the night.

Thank you very much to the Patel family. There are very few people out there nowadays that help people just for the sake of helping. You are greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I recently stayed here in March of '12. The owners are very nice but that doesn't reflect the shape of the facility. Do not walk around your room in bare feet because the rugs are never washed and need replacement. In fact the whole room needed to be upgraded. There were holes in the bed spreads, cracked lamp shades, bath exhaust fan dirty and falling down, the sheets and pillow cases were yellow and had some funky stains or marking on them. And the kicker were the horrible beds. They killed my back so I tried to flip the mattress. When I lifted it up, the lower bed skirt had this big stain on it. If you want cheap this is it. They have maid service but she can only do so much with these terrible rooms. I wouldn't stay here again unless I needed only one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Days Inn Port Charlotte
#3 of 8 in Port Charlotte
742 reviews
3.0 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
2.9 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Port Charlotte

Property: Knights Inn Port Charlotte
Address: 4100 Tamiami Trl, Port Charlotte, FL 33952-9209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Port Charlotte 2*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Port Charlotte Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing