We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we have camped for years and this has to be the worst campground ever!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Pass Campground
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we have camped for years and this has to be the worst campground ever!!!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

the office gave us a map of the campground and circled two spots that were "available" One spot had a OLD OLD RV on it and the electricity and water on the other site was being used by another site. They finally put us in a spot next to a long timer....if you don't take my advise and you visit this place and they offer to put you in to A2 ---Run ..Run as if the devil himself is after you. the "Man" in A1 has taken over Half of A2 and is very rude when you pull in to YOUR space and he gets very nasty about you wanting water and electricity that if rightfully yours. they have No sewerage (and you pay $40.00 a night) and no cable the single wide trailer
that serves as bath house is very dirty and ill kept. and the pool is full of sand.....take my advise and go thirty mile east to Carrabelle and camp and HoHum .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradlee S, Front Office Manager at Indian Pass Campground, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our new management team has been working diligently since May to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay in well-maintained campsites. Unfortunately, government regulations prevent us from having a pool, requiring us to fill it in for safety purposes and we do have a "honey wagon" available to dispose of waste. And while some campers and RV'ers prefer newer, pristine sites on concrete pads across the street from the beach like in Carrabelle, Indian Pass Campground allows you to step back in time and stay right on the water's edge under trees larger and older than any of us alive today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was hesitant in staying here after reading so many horrible reviews but there isnt much to choose from in this area. It is out in the middle of nowhere but at the end of the road on the island so the location was absolutely perfect.
When we first arrived, we found our campsite (D2) and were extremely disappointed in it. No table, no grill, no room to do anything outside of the camper. In the process of calling around trying to find somewhere else to go, my husband came back to tell me we could move to another site (A2). This site was perfect. It was at the entrance to the campground. We were able to walk outside of our camper just a few yards and were already on the beach. The beach.....that was another thing. I am not a small woman so its very hard for me to feel comfortable on the beach. IT WAS EMPTY! I absolutely loved it! There were fishermen here and there but for the most part, we were 1 of only 2-3 families on the beach. It was awesome!
Although we have a bathroom in our camper, having the BathHouse close by was another plus. 3 showers and (i think) 3 bathroom stalls and plenty of room (for each, male/female). They are closed from 9-1030a each day for cleaning.
Forget about the pool. They were filling it up with dirt while we were there.
Theres laundry on site but we didnt see what it was like. It was still too cool for bugs but i can see where they would be a problem. Then again, any Southerner is used to mosquitos, or should be. The No-SEE-UMS were what got us this time!
Dogs GALORE! We took our pooch and he had so much fun. The beach is dog friendly. The towns around (Apalachicola and Port St Joe) are also dog friendly, including restaurants. We were also able to have a campfire on the beach!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JoshandAllyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apalachicola, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We arrived thinking it should be like paradise as it was near a state park. When we arrived, the owner told us to choose the place where we wanted. We tried to find the nearest place to the beach and found it but it was full of garbagge (broken black water hose, rusty cans, a rug hung on a tree and even a broken spoiler. We paid 30$ but we decided not to spend the night there.
We don't recommend you this site at all!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 284Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I were looking for a get away that offered remote and quiet accommodations. We settled on Indian Pass rather than the State Park at Port St Joe because we wanted to be able to bring our dogs to the beach and do some paddling in the estuary and around St Vincent Island.

The location is very beautiful and almost made up for the con's, until we had to move.

Pro's
The camp is very remote
Public beach access is amazing
Great Kayaking location
Easy access to St Vincent Nature Preserve
Tank empty service
Owners are very pleasant

Con's
They don't answer the phone often
They do not have enough voltage to support 30 amp service when they are full
The camp is very poorly maintained
Exposed water lines
Zero beach maintenance - dog waste and no safe steps down
Loose dogs
Goats in what was once a pool
The store is closed and in disrepair
Drunken porch front greeting committee

We were books for 5 nights, but only made it 2. Wednesday and Thursday were okay because the park was pretty empty. Come Friday it started filling up and just after 5pm we lost power and could not run the RV. Turns out they couldn't support the voltage on the site we were given and they didn't have any solution for us. They did however refund the remaining nights. We packed up and somehow made it to the State Park by 8:29 snagging the last site. Turns out the SP was less expensive and a lot more agreeable than Indian Pass.

It is unfortunate the camp is in such disrepair it was obviously an amazing place at one time. My take - go the the State Park and avoid the hassle of a run down fish camp.

Room Tip: Avoid Sites 14 - 18 if you have an RV
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Follow the GPS, there is no other way to get there. Keep calling, it may take a while to get through to get reservations. It is definitely a nice quiet location; laid back to say the least. The honor system is in full force here! We actually had to hunt down the owners to pay for our spot rental and the bagged ice we got at the camp store. (The pool is out of service as of 07/23/2013.) Out of date but very clean bath house with wonderful abundance of hot water!! The campground is "rustic" to say the least. Our spot was beautiful with water and 50amp hook ups. (There is a sewer clean out on property.) Plan to entertain yourself and the kids - bring fishing poles, beach supplies, etc. Bring BUG SPRAY!! Take the time to dine at the famous Indian Pass Raw Bar, go charter "fishing" for scallops, drive in to Port St Joe, Aplachicola and Eastpoint.

Room Tip: RV and cabin locations near the boat launch experience LOTS of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjurenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Perfect place to get away from the normal day to day stuff. Bring your fishing poles, kayaks or boats. Nice quiet place. Nearest town is about 30 minutes away so make sure you bring the supplies you need. Everyone around the area was nice

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Made last-minute reservations and snagged an awesome beachfront site just steps to the pristine white sand. The view across Indian Pass to St. George Island is was incredible. The campground is rustic, with lots of shady live oaks and palm trees. There was a decent amount of space between sites, and we had a sense of privacy, unlike some campgrounds where they squeeze you in like sardines. Because the campground is relatively small, there were very few people on the beach, and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Spotted a dolphin, saw lots of pelicans, egrets, and an occasional heron. We're already planning to go back in May.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank JoAnneMB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
7.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
10.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
21.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
14.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Pass Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Pass Campground

Property: Indian Pass Campground
Address: 2817 Indian Pass Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-7835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Port Saint Joe
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very end of Indian Pass peninsula, we are a small locally owned campground. Come stay with us in paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indian Pass Campground Hotel Port Saint Joe
Indian Pass Campground Port Saint Joe, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing