We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience”
Review of Dixie Belle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dixie Belle Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The only issue I had was the rooms are very tiny BUT in reality how much time do you actually spend in the room...so I'd have to say it was great an very clean...really enjoyed thanks for the experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelada28, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you and I'm glad you mentioned the size of our rooms, because that could be a factor for other guests and they need to know if our rooms will work for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you are planning to make a trip to Florida. Consider this motel. Great staff, Super friendly, calm friendly environment. I had high expectations for this trip. I have been blown away. this has turned into one of the greatest vacations I have ever been on. minutes from two of the best beaches I have ever been on and I am from West Michigan and I know beaches. If you have not been to this side of Florida you may be missing out on a great trip. For sure I am coming back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelada28, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Wow, It's always good to hear of exceeded expectations, however I'm realistic enough to understand that the Dixie Belle had only a small part to play. The Forgotten Coast is awesome to people who have never experienced the old real Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Older place, small rooms, very clean and works perfect for us. We stay here when we visit our son that lives in the area, so we send little time in the room. The staff/owners are very friendlly. Have stayed many times and never an issue.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeAndWendyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelada28, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

You describe the Dixie Belle very accurately. I like people who understand when they book a room here that we have limitations compared to newer, chain motels. We're a mom & pop, doing our best to give our guests a clean, comfortable place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was in the area recently doing timber appraisal work and stayed for several nights at motel. Since I own my own company, I am always looking for a simple, clean, and quiet place to stay. The local owner was very nice and helpful. I really appreciated that my room AC was running and room cooled when I checked in. Room and bathroom were very clean. Older motel, built very well. Outside noise was never an issue. Complimentary WiFi and phone usage was a plus since I had horrible cell phone service in the area. Great location and area. It was a shame I was working long days, never was able to enjoy being so close to the beach. I highly recommend the Dixie Belle for anyone looking for a very nice, quiet, clean, and reasonably priced place to stay in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank JOHN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelada28, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

I'm so pleased that we were able to give you the amenities you needed. We cater to fishermen but often have business people and working men and hope we provide what you need at good prices. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I needed a reasonable place to stay in town for real estate shopping. I scoped out all in-town accommodations & rates. DB was exactly what I was looking for. Even when I can afford ‘pricier’, I always prefer a clean little place where I can park my car at my door, no frills, private, local-owned (not corporate). Our room was quiet, VERY CLEAN, had everything we needed. Comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, a good TV, clean bathroom, new A/C unit and even a little place to sit & smoke right outside our door. Sept 2013. S. Kay
When I come back I can save the time & energy looking at options … I’m heading straight to Dixie Belle!
*Support local businesses!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelada28, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

It's people like you who make us realize that our efforts here are appreciated. Thanks so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We went down for an 'ole Florida trip, ate and stayed at several mom and pop places, those places that we are losing coming and going. We stayed here on a Saturday night, enjoyed sitting outside and chatting with other travelers. Place was clean, colorful, beds were comfy. No frills or fluffs. It was also quiet considering it is on the main highway 98. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hosteinlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLMmcd, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

One of the benefits of staying at a Mom & Pop is the camaraderie between guests. They tend to be like minded people and the atmosphere is generally conducive to socializing. Our deck and charcoal grill is a popular gathering spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We went to Port St. Joe for a quick weekend, just as a getaway and attend the Scallop and Music Fest. We wanted a clean place to sleep and shower, we didn't need a pool, fitness room, and conference rooms. The Dixie Belle fit the bill. We stayed in room 10, which is a king bed room. The bed was more comfy than I was anticipating, which was a very pleasant surprise. We had neighbors that we never heard while inside our room, the walls were nice and quiet. Housekeeping kept us supplied in clean linens; the shower had a near endless supply of hot water (with good water pressure, yay!) The lady at the desk was a bit brusque, but not offensively so. She was able to tell us about the area restaurants and what to anticipate with the Festival. All in all we will definitely come back when we need another simple weekend trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnESP2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLMmcd, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

It always pleases me when people have a good experience at the Dixie Belle. As for my
brusqueness, I apologize. At age 70 taking the Jersey out of this Jersey girl is difficult.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
5.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
3.0 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
21.9 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
394 reviews
22.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
403 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixie Belle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixie Belle Motel

Address: 3155 W Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4826
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Belle is a clean, quiet, safe slice of roadside America. Owners, Chris and Marla Kenney are always on property. As is Manager Kasey Davis. Rates are very reasonable and vary with the seasons. November through February are bargain months.Although built back in the 60's and a bit small by modern standards, the rooms all have small fridges, microwaves and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dixie Belle Hotel Port Saint Joe
Dixie Belle Motel Port Saint Joe, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing