We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Inn Cottages”
Review of Port Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Certificate of Excellence
N Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Port Inn Cottages”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at the new cottages during a weekened fishing trip, they are recently constructed, very clean and perfect for a family. We were visiting with friends and had plenty of room to park 2 boats (two cottages)and they had a hose etc. to allow for boat wash down. Staff was very helpful at check in and during our stay. As these are not hotel rooms don't expect daily cleaning or towel replacement. Units have a small kitchen and washer & dryer. The room includes breakfast, was typical for included breakfast, seems to be a little unorganized/slow if you happen to be there when there are more than a few guests at one time. Breakfast cook/attendant was very helpful but was trying to keep breakfast buffet stocked as well as replenish coffee/juices and cook to order as well. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCPMI, General Manager at Port Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Port St. Joe and thank you for your kind comments. We hope that you will come back and visit for many years to come. Please call us any time to book a room or a cottage. Thank you! Lynn Marshall - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    80
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
146
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I drove through Port St. Joe on my way to Ocala, Florida, and saw the Port Inn. I decided to stop and spend the night. This was a very nice hotel with a modest price, well worth the money. The staff was very friendly and offered their suggestions for a good meal. Just down the street across from the Inn was a very good seafood restaurant. It was just the right kind of place for a weary traveler. My room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the price was right! What else is there to say.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room in the rear of the hotel, as it sits right on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalleyeFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCPMI, General Manager at Port Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our staff works hard to make The Port Inn a place that you will visit for years to come. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Port Inn is a place that I always wanted to check out but we typically stay in Apalach.... This year we decided to "shake it up a bit" and at the last minute on we stop in to see if they had a room available - fortunately they did and we spent our 33rd anniversary at the Port Inn....late lunch at Peppers, and finished the night with live music at the "Thirsty Goat" made new friends and memories. We ended up staying 2 nights.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRica082310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCPMI, General Manager at Port Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for visiting the Port Inn. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon. Please feel free to call us with any questions. Thank you! Lynn Marshall- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We traveled here just to explore the area. I read reviews on the hotel and scanned the hotel webpage. It is written on the webpage, recently renovated, apparently furniture and carpet are not part of the renovation. When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was extremely dirty carpet throughout the lobby and the hallways. Hoping the room was better. We got our keys and walked to our King Room. The first thing we noticed when we opened the door was a horrible mold odor. The carpet inside the door and throughout the room was stained and dirty. I would have been scared to remove my shoes. The furniture was very worn and dated. We returned to the front desk and explained that we could not stay in this room due to the odor and the cleanliness. The lady at the desk had a surprised look and walked back to the room to investigate with us. She apologized and told us the odor must be from the rain they are having.

We went back to the front where we were told that they had 2 queen rooms available. We walked upstairs to look at these rooms and again noticed how nasty the carpet was. The clerk opened the door to a room that was barely large enough to hold the queen bed. It had been painted the week before and had horrible paint fume odor. We walked down the hall to check the other queen room. Same thing, tiny room. We had booked at a rate of $180 per night and there was no way we were going to stay in this tiny room for 2 nights.

Finally the clerk spoke to the manager and we were offered one of the Port Inn Cottages at our same rate. This was much better as the cottages were new and had not had time to dirty. This was far from the old restored hotel experience that we were looking for.

We ended up in the Thirsty Goat Lounge for snacks and drinks. The lounge had wonderful bar tenders and good food. The problem here was found later in the night when they started running out of food. The excuse, we are busy than usual in the hotel. Hello, you know how many people are booked in advance.

The next morning we experienced a very flat basic hotel breakfast, again, below expectations. Again, food was running out, lines were backed up and servers could not keep up.

Do not let the picture of the hotel fool you, the hotel is located directly on highway 98 only separated by the sidewalk. There is not a large lawn as shown in the picture of the front of the hotel.

We will not return to the Port Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCPMI, General Manager at Port Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
I am sorry to read about your stay while you were at The Port Inn. We try hard to make all of our guests feel at home while visiting Port St. Joe. I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations. I take your comments very seriously and will do what I can to make these changes. Thank you,
Lynn Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our family of four spent one night at the Port Inn, and it was definitely not long enough! This trip was our first to the Gulf Coast and we stayed in Pensacola, Panama City Beach and Port St. Joe to get a feel for the entire area. I would have loved to stay longer at the Port Inn; we had a room on the lower level and it was beautiful, with a nice, large walk out patio with rockers and a table and chairs. The room was quiet, and the bed comfortable, the bathroom was big and the tub was very nice and big. The towels and other amenities in the room were of good quality. The only critique I could give was that the chair in the room looked like it was starting to show some wear, but other than that everything was perfect! There is a substantial continental breakfast included. The bay is just barely visible from the front of the Inn, as it is across a street and through a park with several fully grown trees. Even though the Inn is on a 'main' street, and our room faced the street we did not hear any traffic noise overnight.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I would like to return for a longer visit! Thank you!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Best way to start the week with a nice martini in a quiet neighborhood bar. Casual, quaint and the best bartender in town. Great place to meet old friends as well as new ones. Often they have live music on the patio.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor but if you have a pet they now have nice little cottages along Reid Avenue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights for business. I had a downstairs room that was very nice. Spacious bathroom was great. There is a small pool to enjoy. The free breakfast is very good, had bacon, grits, made to order omelettes, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and singles; not really suited for families.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjen32404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
2.6 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
266 reviews
20.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
370 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
19.6 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
140 reviews
19.9 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn

Property: Port Inn
Address: 501 Monument Ave, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-1913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Inn is a recently-restored 22-room hotel located in the small coastal town of Port St. Joe on Florida's quiet Gulf Coast, less than twenty minutes from Apalachicola and Mexico Beach. The Inn sits just across the street from St. Joseph Bay and Frank Pate Park with public boat launching facilities, and just three blocks from a new, state-of-the-art marina offering fishing charters and waterfront dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Port Saint Joe
Port St Joe
Port Inn Port Saint Joe, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing