We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was perfect!”
Review of Cape San Blas Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape San Blas Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This place was perfect!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I just got back from a weekend trip to the Cape San Blas Inn and it was wonderful! Wendy, the inn's manager was very warm and welcoming and very helpful. She does such a great job at keeping things very clean too and I felt right at home there. The breakfasts were so good I ended up taking pictures of them. :) The town is pretty quiet but the inn provided bikes, canoes, and beach seats so there is plenty to do during the day. The inn is only about 4 miles or so from Saint Joseph's Penninsula State Park. In the evenings we drove out to Port Saint Joe for dinners. Very satisfying weekend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
244
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

It's a very nice B&B. Innkeepers are friendly and helpful. The setting on the bay is beautiful and it's a short walk to the beach. We tried their canoe on the bay one morning and enjoyed it. The room was very clean, but just a basic bedroom and bath. Now for the only negative. If you're in a room on the first floor expect to be awakened when people come and go. The tile floors do not absorb sound and everyone that's talking in the common area (1st floor) will sound like they are in your room with you and actually they practically are. Would highly recommend trying a room on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Go for a room on 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This inn is a real gem. We missed out on the Living Social Deal, but were able to get another deal where you pay for four nights and get the fifth free. They may have a special deal that is unadvertised, so it’s worth asking about. The building looks quite unassuming and small from the street, and it is easy to drive past it. We read that the house is “noisy,” so we chose a second floor room that was away from the common area. All of the first floor rooms are right on the common area. We awoke before breakfast everyday to walk over to the beach, so we did not experience any noise problems, except for when our neighbors showered late at night. Something that was unfortunate, but I’m sure is not the norm, is that our particular room’s air conditioning ducts were blocked, and were unable to be repaired the entire time we stayed. We had the ceiling fan cranked, but during the hot part of the day it didn’t help much. For some reason, the beautiful purple shutters that are in the photos of the inn were not there when we visited. Not only do the shutters add to the beauty of the outside, but they would have also kept our room cooler and the sun at bay. It was extremely hot when we visited in August, so it’s a shame that the shutters were removed.
 
The rooms were all very clean, and the unoccupied rooms had their doors propped open, so we got to peer in and see which was the “best.” Every single room is different and they all have something nice about them. Almost every room has some kind of outdoor access or patio, except for one downstairs room that had a nice bay window and table. The entire house is very immaculate. All of the décor is clean and new. Breakfast was prepared fresh everyday, and we had a variety of quiche, eggs, muffins, apple fritters, hash browns, French toast and fruit. The meal is the same for everyone, though - it is not like a buffet - and served at 9am. If you have special dietary needs like we did (no meat), Wendy was glad to leave that out of our dishes. Just let her know ahead of time. She is quite a good cook and each day’s meal was something to look forward to. Her husband Glen assisted and was also very nice. You have the option of taking your meal from the dining area onto the back deck or back to your room. It was relaxing to eat on the deck during the morning.
 
Our favorite thing to do was to borrow one of the Inn’s kayaks and go out along the bay. The nature viewing is really incredible. We saw eagles, cranes, heron, pelican, deer, sting rays, blue crabs, horseshoe crab, sand crab, hermit crab, catfish, silver fish, jellyfish, sharks, dolphins, scallops, sand dollars, finger fish, puff fish, squirt fish, pipefish, sea urchins, spider crab, pen shell crabs and snails. (Many of these animals we saw while taking a snorkeling excursion with Seahorse Tours, which is highly recommended! It is the best $30 you can spend.) The beach is walking distance, a couple hundred feet across the street. The beach is always uncrowded and clean. We found abundant shells during our morning and evening strolls. You have to really look into the water to see some of these things, but we had fun trying to search for all the little animals. Beware of stingrays and jellyfish, though. The interesting thing is that we kept seeing the same people from around the town on the beach, and everyone would always say “hi” to us. Wendy was quite the resource for providing us information about the area. She is glad to give advice if you ask her. We took side trips to Mexico Beach, which has even more shells than CSB, and Apalachicola, which is small, and has a few more (but not that many more) shops and restaurants than Port St. Joe. There is a hot tub at the end of the dock of the Inn, but the weather was so hot we never had the desire to use it. We did use the Wi-Fi and it always worked fine when we needed it.
 
There is something else that potential visitors should be aware of – which has nothing to do with the quality of the Cape San Blas Inn: This area is boring. There is no direct highway there, and you drive through some extremely sparse/rough areas to get to the Inn. It’s something you have to deal with, given the pristine nature of the area and that everything is undeveloped. While a trip to CSB would be fun for 2 days, we made the mistake of coming for 5 days. There is only so long you can sit on the beach before getting sunburnt and exhausted. It would be nice if the town had something – even a small movie theater. The Inn has a few DVDs, but the player in our room did not have the proper remote, so we couldn’t use it. In the evenings, we just watched cable, because all shops close at 5pm, and once you’ve seen one boutique you’ve seen them all. Also, every store is closed on Sunday, so you really have to plan out every second of your trip or you will die of boredom. We went before Labor Day, and it was surprising how “shut down” the entire area of Port St. Joe all the way to Apalachicola seemed. The breakfast at the inn was delicious, but you have two other meals each day to worry about. Driving 15 miles into Port St. Joe for each meal and spending money at a restaurant got old, fast. There are basically three good restaurants (Peppers, Provisions and Joe Mama’s) and a Subway, and we ended up going to each of them heavily over the five days we were there. It cost us a lot of money and time, driving back and forth. Thankfully, the CSB Inn is directly across the street from a little store, which is open til 9 or 10 each night. The food products we bought there (bottled water, avocado and tomato) were cheaper and fresher than the horrendous Piggly Wiggly (read my separate review on that store). If you do not eat meat or fried foods or drink alcohol, you are out of luck – the store has pizza, and Coneheads has fried seafood. There are no other restaurant options within 15 miles. Wendy told us that to get good food to cook with, she has to drive one hour to the Sam’s in Panama City. My only complaint about the Inn is that, considering the lack of food in the area, it would be nice if guests were allowed to use the little kitchen upstairs to prepare a meal or two. We were really starving by the time we left. My advice to visitors is: Bring food that can be prepared in your room, such as sandwich fixings (there is a refrigerator in each room and microwave in the reading room.) If we return, we will not come in August because it was miserably hot, and we will only stay 2-3 days. Otherwise, we had a great time and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allentown pa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

loved everything. Rooms have character, immaculate and comfy. Sitting areas very nice. Outside table/chairs, pier....just perfect. I loved the little refrigerator with bottled water! Breakfast both days was yummy. Loved the homemade apple fritters! Highly recommend. Hubby went out on kayak and had a blast. I stayed at the pier reading. Bay is the backyard and beach (crystal clear water and lots of tiny shells) across the street.

Room Tip: I had Coquina on 2nd floor and loved it. Quiet and comfy. I'm sure they were all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyoneAllentownPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capesanblasinn, Owner at Cape San Blas Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
The Cape San Blas Inn is very proud that you & your husband had such an enjoyable visit with us. We hope that you will be able to come & let us serve you again. Thanks for the Excellent Review.
Britt Kuglar
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This was my first time coming to the Cape San Blas area. It was also my first time staying at a bed and breakfast. The breakfast was far better than my husband and I were expecting. We loved that they had everything you needed to enjoy the area (like bikes, beach chairs, and kayaking) at no extra charge. I think our favorite part was kayaking on the bay. We absolutely loved getting to paddle around and see all of the interesting wildlife in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I have been to Cape San Blas several times now and the beach is so quiet and secluded even during holidays like 4th of July. My prior trips involved large groups so we rented condos or townhomes. For this trip, I needed to find an equally enjoyable but more affordable option and Cape San Blas Inn turned out to be what I was looking for. Each room is comfortable and different and the hotel is walking distance to the beach. The innkeeper is incredibly friendly and cooks a hot breakfast each morning. We ate out on the deck, went for a bike ride to the nearby state park with the inn's bikes, went kayaking/canoeing on the bay with the inn's boats, and ate at local dives and nice restaurants in Port St. Joe and Apalachicola. The inn is clean, laid-back, well-decorated and the owners maintain the place very well. Take a look at the 360 views of the rooms online and it will give you a good idea of how nice the place is but it doesn't show how nice the inn's backyard is with a hot tub, deck, and bay access. I would definitely go back and at $150 per room, it's a good deal especially for a place that is so close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripAdviseeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My new husband and I chose Cape San Blas Inn as our honeymoon destination, and we are so pleased! Wendy, the Inn keeper, is a true asset to the Inn, along with her husband Glenn. The rooms are beautiful and private and the breakfast was phenominal. There is nothing like a gourmet, home cooked breakfast delivered to your private porch (if you choose a room with) each and every morning! The tv's are large, the linens are extremely nice, and the place was spotless the entire time. I can still smell the scent of true fresh cotton on all of the towels and linens. Wendy and Glenn went above and beyond during our stay, and even left chocolate covered strawberries and a flower in our room because of our special occasion. We chose this quaint little island upon a whim and had never been there before. Being from the Jacksonville area, we were delighted to see BEAUTIFUL, uncrowded beaches, scallops, white sand, and tons of sea shells. The kayaks and canoes available for use were perfect since we are avid fishermen. Overall, we had an amazing honeymoon, and we will gladly be back to see Wendy!!!!

Room Tip: The scallop room was perfect. Located on the back corner of the house, it has its own private porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
7.6 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
266 reviews
8.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
23.7 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
23.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
382 reviews
23.5 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape San Blas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape San Blas Inn

Property: Cape San Blas Inn
Address: 4950 Cape San Blas Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4406
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Saint Joe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cape San Blas Inn, located on the pristine Gulf Coast of Florida. Built as a Bed & Breakfast in 1999, the Cape San Blas Inn is situated on the east side of St. Joseph Peninsula. Overlooking picturesque St. Joseph Bay and across the street from the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn is situated 25 miles west of Apalachicola and 14 miles from Port St. Joe. Graced by the natural beauty of this yet-unspoiled part of Florida's Gulf coast, the Cape San Blas Inn can be enjoyed year-round with equal enthusiasm. Come stay, relax and experience everything this unique locale offers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape San Blas Hotel Port Saint Joe
Cape San Blas Inn Port Saint Joe, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing