We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our family and our dog loved this hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mainstay Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Certificate of Excellence
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our family and our dog loved this hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Family, including us, stayed at the Mainstay in Port St.Joe for a gathering to celebrate my father-in-law's 80th Birthday. The hotel was comfy and cozy and the staff outstanding. The desk woman even went out of her way to find us a dog sitter so we could have a nice lunch in a nice restaurant! They really seemed to care that we have the best time possible. Everyone, including the maid was friendly and welcoming. The room was perfectly clean and our suite had a kitchen, living room set up that allowed us to enetertain, as well. We loved being here.

Room Tip: We had a nice room w/kitchen, living room and 2 TVS..reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfaiella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    85
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
94
86
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Earlier this month my husband and I took a quick trip to Port St. Joe for 2 nights and stayed at Mainstay Suites. It was a perfect mini vacation!! Having both been in the hotel industry, we tend to immediately go into “inspection mode” upon arrival to our destination. We can be harsh critics at times but expect a certain standard when it comes to our accommodations. This hotel passed with flying colors.

The entire staff was genuinely friendly, very professional, and strived to make sure we were well taken care of. From restaurant recommendations to computer issues, our questions were promptly answered and we were welcomed with a smile and made to feel at home.
The hotel itself was very clean and there was always a presence of busy employees ensuring that everything was as it should be. Our room was nicely decorated, very spacious, and had all the amenities we could possibly need.

We enjoyed the continental breakfast each morning with plenty of choices, including healthy ones. I really liked that yogurt and fresh fruit were offered for those of us who don’t want pastries and muffins. While there we also enjoyed a manager’s reception which offered up fruit and cheese trays along with wine and beer.

Our stay was flawless and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson,SC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here one night after Christmas, this is the first time I have stayed here, as we usually stay at Mexico Beach. I will say the staff was very nice and helpful, but the room had a very strange odor. It was a pet smell or a urine type smell, not sure, but it was not pleasant. I guess I should've told the front desk, but I didn't. Oh, well I guess I will stay again at the beach next time. It was fairly clean, but the smell just threw me off.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinasonggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I booked 11 rooms at this place as part of our month tour of the southern states and after the previous evenings accommodation was nervous of what the team would do to me if this place was the same. When i pulled in the gate though i new that i was not going to get neutered for this one anyway. The place was lovely and the roms wer well apointed and lovely and clean. The staff wer great and extremely friendly, helping with traveller questions and recommending places to visit while in town. The pool was lovely and they have a really neat outdoor area with bbqs for those that just want to relax and cook ther own food.

If we had anything to say about a downside it was that it is outside town so you have to rely on your transport to get a meal because ther is no restaurant but dont let this detract you from staying her because it is wel worth the effort.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room from our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Ok, I rarely ever write a review on the internet but this hotel ranked one! The staff at this hotel was by far the friendliest, most helpful, and most positive I have ever seen! We stayed 4 nights with our Westie and I coud not have been more surprised at the hospitality of ALL the staff! It was almost like staying at a B & B. Also, the rooms were clean and the hotel was very quiet. I highly recommend you stay here when you are in the area...especially if you have a pet!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed at the Mainstay in Port St. Joe Thanksgiving evening, as we were in town visiting friends for the holiday. I know it says "suites" but they really are! I was hoping for a small refrigerator, but there was a kitchenette, complete with good a sized refrigerator, microwave, small dishwasher, coffeemaker, dishes and utensils. There was also a pool and fitness room. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Next time I would stay on an upper floor, just because we faced the parking lot and had to keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipawaycpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends in October. The hotel is well maintained and clean, nice pool area and plenty of parking. Our room was very nice, everything was there that we needed. Would stay here again.Very comfortable beds. Great night sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller200972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
2.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
18.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
18.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites

Property: Mainstay Suites
Address: 3951 E Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-5318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mainstay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Hotel Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Suites Port Saint Joe, Florida
Port Saint Joe Mainstay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing