We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Mainstay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mainstay Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

So we loved our cute little room and made breakfast and dinner several times. The bathroom was just the right size with lots of counter space. I would say the negatives were children running up and down the hallways until past 11:00pm. Our a/c unit wet the carpet on that side of the bed so every time I got in or out of the bed at night, my feet were soaked. Someone had used the little kitchenette prior to us and the room stank of fried fish. We bought candles to mask the odor. Pool was great with towels provided - how nice! And the best part, the front desk dude, Ryan, who greeted us each and every time we came and went. Hi Ryan!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 212 until they service that a/c unit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crominator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    89
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
105
90
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corbin, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The price was also very reasonable. Our room was very clean and we had everything we needed from a stove, fridge, cups, plates, etc. We ate a free breakfast each morning at the hotel and then enjoyed our day exploring the area and beaches. This is a great get away if you are looking for some R and R and not wanting crowded beaches and traffic. We felt safe at this hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I are traveling with children and since this was our first visit to the "forgotten coast" we were unsure if booking a rental property for a week was the best idea. Most rentals lock you in the full week and/or will not let you rent per night. Enter Main Stay Suites. This ended up being the perfect option for us and allowed us to see the beaches of Cape San Blas and the area of Port St Joe in a much more reasonable amount of time before everyone got bored. The room accommodated the 5 of us well and having amenities such as a fridge, small dishwasher, sink, small cook top and microwave was a plus! The cabinet was stocked with stainless pans and the drawers with necessary cooking utensils, towels, dish cloths and soap. The hotel encourages you to reuse/recycle towels more than once and will only come clean your room every 4th day unless you request it more frequent. We were fine with these aspects. Breakfast was very basic compared to the other chains we have stayed and the pool is small (watch out for yellow flies!) but other than that this is a great property. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arznasun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We wanted to get away from the crowds at Panama City and found this spot near Port St Joe. We are very happy we did! Very reasonable priced, it was clean, rooms were great, beds were very comfortable, nice pool, and a very friendly, welcoming staff. They were excellent!
It wasn't perfect, of course. Breakfast was average, continental breakfast and water pressure in the showers was a little less than desired. Its not located on the beach, but is conveniently located to the state park and nearby to public beach access. However, we saw all this as minor, and the many positives far outweighed the few negatives.
The customer service of this staff was above and beyond any hotel I've stayed at in recent years. Not only would I highly recommend this place, this has become our new "regular" spot for trips to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBramlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for five days and enjoyed the accommodations very much. Our room was clean in every aspect and include a fridge, stove and dish's. They have flat screen tv's and a nice, but small, pool. The staff was excellent and Gwen, a wonderful housekeeper, took care of us in the most cheerful manner. She is any asset to this facility and there was no request she did not complete. We will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

It was my first time visiting the Florida Panhandle let along Port St Joe. My family and me came here for my daughter's wedding on the beach. Lets start with the arrival we were tired from our travel and we first encountered Mr. Garret York, what a real sincere warm greeting he gave. And after a few days he was still a fabulous human being. Efficient! should be his middle name, nothing overwhelms him. He help to make our stay a real treat. Next morning we meet Marcie who directed us to Mexico Beach for our beach experience which was great. Competent should be her middle name. Talk about who is on top if things its Marcie. Then there was Lee who was always willing to do a good job. I must tell you about Gwen who took care of our room, she's a person with a darling personality. The price I paid for the rooms was very fair, and would pay this again. Their breakfast in the morning is enough to get you started. The beds were comfortable but a little soft. The place is very clean, very clean. The location is perfect, you are close to wherever you want to go to. But really it's the staff, all of them were full of southern hospitality at its finest. Brother Garett he's my main man now.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Every member of their staff is great! Everyone is friendly and spoke us every time we encountered them. All the from the General Manager to the housekeeping staff. Ones that I had extra special care from were Garret who checked us in, Marci on the a.m. shift, and Tina on the p.m. shift. Cleanliness was A+ as well. I would definitely come back myself and recommend it for anyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
2.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
18.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
140 reviews
18.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites

Property: Mainstay Suites
Address: 3951 E Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-5318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mainstay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Hotel Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Suites Port Saint Joe, Florida
Port Saint Joe Mainstay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing