We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, food is hit or miss”

Zapata's Border Cafe
Ranked #125 of 332 Restaurants in Port Saint Lucie
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great service, food is hit or miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The service was very friendly and attentive despite me being a bit difficult at first due to the level of noise in the area where we were seated. They ran out of kid's menus and crayons and the waiter made it sounds like that is a common occurrence which shows lack of proper planning on their part. Thankfully the complimentary chips and salsa kept my toddlers entertained while we waited.

I thought that my food was excellent and delicious (chicken fajitas), my husband said that his Burrito Grande was just OK and my son didn't like his crunchy beef taco at all, I tried a bite out of it and I could see why he didn't like it. The beef was dry and very bland and the taco shell looked store bought.

I loved the Zapata's platter appetizer, it was delicious and I would make that my entree the next time we go.

While their prices are a little higher than the average for other Mexican restaurants in the area, they make up for it with the quality of service. The quality of the food will depend on what you order.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    17
    6
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average food, but good service .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The outside of the restaurant pulled us in for what was expected to be a great night of food . The other reviews was spot on the food came out with hot plates and dried out food . The fish tacos were just Ok. Lexie did a great job keeping the glasses full .

Helpful?
1 Thank Hotiron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Edible Bowls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

What IS good here is the taco salad and yes you can eat the bowls! Generous size taco salad with plenty of meat deliciously browned and tasty taco bowls.... partner always orders extra meat. At $8.39 this is good value and is always very filling. Service is always good. One caveat: when the sign outside reads "two for one cocktails" they mean beer and wine only!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbycat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
“Hour wait for terrible food and watered down drinks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The food was greasy, bland and took over an hour. Drink was watered down. The bathrooms where gross and music was terrible. I will NEVER go there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigbellyDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always Consistantly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

From the moment you arrive you are greeted with smiles & superlative service. The chips & salsa arrived within minutes and the waiter explained to a novice the difference between the various choices.
The Chile Relleno was excellent as well as the simple tacos dishes. The sautéed onions, pepper & chicken in the fajita was excellent as well. It was served piping hot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islanderuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zapata's Border Cafe also viewed

 
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 

Been to Zapata's Border Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing