We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a Camp Environment than a Luxury Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This was our first time at a Club Med and we went based on the recommendation of several friends.

Pros
Food: the food is amazing and was the best part of our trip.

Camp: the camp for kids is great if they are older then 5 I would recommend.

Evening events: family friendly, entertaining events each night

Cons
The location: it is not on the beach and in a random St. Lucie neighborhood

Food: if you want food in between or after the buffet hours, you are out of luck. So you have to stuff your face so you won't be hungry between meals.

Disconnect of the staff: the reception (as stated in the other reviews) is not a warm welcoming area. Every time I would go in there, they were not being helpful with guest
requests and trying to pawn them off to central reservations. I guess that's what happens when you have to pay everything up front. The bar staff was unenthusiastic as well as those in the restaurant. Also the GOs seemed more interested in each other than assisting guests. There was very little interaction we saw.

We had to ask the front desk for a doctor because our child got sick. They had no list of recommended doctors or clinics to go to. They said they would call security who came 20 minutes later and couldn't help. They offered to call 911, but that is not what we needed. turned out our child got hand foot and mouth virus from the camp. I recommend with a resort full of kids, they are more prepared for instances like this.

Renovation: to have a half renovated resort makes no sense. They should have done it all at once. Classic example is the womens bathroom by the theater - half renovated in the front and old in the back.

If they can renovate the resort in it's entirety and have the different segments of staff working towards a common goal, we will come back!

Pools: in the adult pool there were kids. There was no one to enforce this. There were NO towels at the pool and no one to help you find them. This was ridiculous to have unattended pools.

Room Tip: Research before you come, reception gives no ideas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allifromfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2011

Dear allifromfl,
We're glad that you and your family enjoyed the majority of your vacation with us! We apologize for your son getting sick and that you didn't find the renovations up to par. We hope you and your family will come back and visit us again, especially once all renovations are completed!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,945 - 2,951 of 4,205 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

I was reading the recent reviews by visitors to Club Med who had less than positive things to say, and was completely perplexed. We just returned from Sandpiper and had the time of our lives. All 5 of us!

We are a family travelling with 3 young children - 3, 5, 7. I cried when we left (mom). Kids cried. We are homesick for our home away from home.

Club Med has nailed a week long active family vacation. They know how to serve up something for everyone. Truly.

My kids went to camp every day for 6 days. Some of them are shy, some joiners. They all loved every minute of it. Too many shout outs to mention, too many special moments to share. All the GO's were amazing, engaged, energetic and enthusiastic. Almost impossible to know how Patrick (the children's program manager) gets them to do it! Every moment was fun filled and fun. We spied a lot on the kids and it was amazing. I couldn't drag them out at 5 pm.

One of our son's loves fishing. When one of the GO's found this out (he even worked in a different age group) he offered to take my son fishing off the docks at the marina on his ONE HOUR OFF A DAY. Unbelievable. Truly. Still shaking my head. The big hearts these GO's have, to make memories that last a lifetime.

What did we do while our kids were in camp? Got reacquainted. Had beautiful lunches overlooking the bay with wine. Unheard of. Sailed, a lot. Tennis, swimming in the adult only pool. Sat in the bar with a drink. Made friends. Relaxed. Read a book. We didn't need to go to the beach because we were too busy relaxing!

The rooms are not 5 star. But we were NEVER there. Seriously, we had tops 1 hour in our rooms a day. Catching our breath. The food was amazing. Restaurant reno really nicely done. French people don't mess around with food. We ONLY care that our children are having a great time, and quite simply, no one can compare with the delivery of children's programs like Club Med. If you find one tell me.

At night, we were wowed by the shows. Our kids were stars in the shows (all kids were.) Met other guests with teens who loved the latitude club.

We have been there 2 x, pre and post reno. The reno has solved all things we thought were lacking the first go around. Kids splash pad, beautiful family infinity pool, adult only infinity pool.

Go, enjoy, relax and have a great time. Say hi to Lionel (GM) for us. He most likely doesn't sleep, because he was everywhere all the time, truly embodying management by walking around.

We are already looking into booking for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3under5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2011

Dear 3under5,
Wow! Thanks for the raving review! We love hearing that you and your family had such a wonderful time at Club Med Sandpiper Bay! Thank you for all your high praise and taking the time to write this review. We can't wait to have you and your family back next year!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My family and I wanted a close (east coast), all inclusive vacation in warm weather. My expectation was that it would be like other all-inclusives we have been-i.e. Mexico, Dominican Republic, etc. If you go, know that this is not the case. The rooms were dingy (i.e. adequate space wise, but really dated and old feeling), the food was mediocre-all the fruit, burgers, and salad you could want, but just fair-i.e. coffee out of a machine rather than freshly brewed. There is ocean, but only sailing...other activities like water skiing, etc. are not offered. You can tube, but you need to drive the jet ski. The shows were also a disappointment...either a movie or shows geared to young children-nothing for adults and teens.

After the shock of the expectations not being met (and maybe the expectations were not the fault of the resort), it took a day, but then we had a good time knowing what we were getting. The bottom line is that you need to make your own good time...noone is going to be getting you drinks at the pool, etc. As a matter of fact, there isn't even a lifeguard nor cocktails there.

The one very positive thing is that you can take advantage of free golf and tennis lessons by excellent staff.

Lastly-expect to pay $50 for use of the internet.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank spjnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Dear spjnc,

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations of an all-inclusive resort. We try very hard to appease our guests on a number of different levels and we are disappointed to hear that we let you down. However, we are glad you were able to have an enjoyable time playing golf and tennis with our instructors, and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay, and we hope that this experience won't deter you from future visits with Club Med.

Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We returned from Club Med Sand Piper on the 18th of March.

We were a family of 6 - 2 adults a 7, 5, 3 and 1 year old.

It was our 4th time to Sand Piper and we were anxious to see the renovation that we were anticipating. We were not disappointed.

The entire place was refreshed. The children's area had a new splash pool and the adult only area had a hot tub and some cabanas!!

The two common pools were a welcome addition as well. Someone spent time ensuring the landscaping was practical and fit the locale.

The bar is now presentable and it's modern decor fits well with the FL vibe.

The dining area got a significant work over as well.

If you want to have a vacation where everyone is happy .....

- wife shopping in West Palm Beach
- me golfing at the course next door
- kids in "circus school"
- fun G.O.s
- great healthy food and drinks
- entertainment at nite
- all in the USA

this is the place.

We did stay in a non refurb room (we had to have 2) and it was perfect for us. We only go there to sleep.

They charge $50 for a week of wireless internet. That bugged me at first, until I remembered that I am on vacation.

Well done Club Med and well done Lionel (C.V.).

We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBS-Funtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2011

Dear TBS-Funtimes,
Thank you so much for all the wonderful things you've said about Club Med Sandpiper Bay! We truly strive to make everyone happy and we're so glad we were able to do so. We can't wait to have you and your family back for a 5th vacation!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This was my first trip to Club Med in over 20 years so I was very curious to see how it has evolved, particularly the new luxury version. In general I was very satisfied, but there were some rough spots. While the property has mostly been renovated there are still some non-renovated areas. Our room had not been renovated so looked rather tired and the shower didn't work properly, but the view on the water was very nice. The space for the evening entertainment also hadn't been renovated so seemed rather rough. The evening entertainment was rather simple compared to what I had seen before, mostly performances by GOs from the trapeze school, which is one of the features of this village. Another major feature and change from previous experience was the concentration on families; I didn't mind that but it was different. The food was generally quite good and varied and so ample one was tempted to overeat. The beer selection was limited and the free wine was mediocre and from Bulgaria, if I recall correctly. However, they sold better wines. I came for the tennis and the clinics were quite good. They arrange games but there were too few GMs to allow variety of players. They also have a tennis academy for top young players from around the world, and we saw a demonstration game one evening, and it was very impressive. They only had a handful of computers which meant that there were waits sometimes. The other entertainment was mostly rock music which I think has limited appeal for an older crowed - I think they could vary the entertainment with jazz or even movies. The old rah rah spirit was toned down and they didn't have as much group singing as before, thank goodness. The GOs were from all over the world, which is an aspect that makes Club Med more interesting.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Dear thasler,
We're glad you enjoyed your vacation at Club Med Sandpiper Bay! We appreciate your thoughts and helpful feedback. We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Overall, we had a really nice stay at the Sandpiper resort. For a vacation with a one-year old it was very relaxing so I think that says the most. It’s a great family resort. We were one of many first timers there, but we also met a number of families who were on the sixth, seventh or eighth visit to the resort.

It is very child friendly. With an infant, it was incredible to go into your room and see a crib, changing pad, baby tub and a stroller waiting for you. In the restaurant there were plenty of food choices, as well as a baby corner with about 5 flavors of Gerber food, microwave and a blender (in case you wanted to make your own food). There were also plenty of high chairs in the restaurant. We also used the Baby Club Med and it was great. It’s a big playroom with a separate room that has travel cribs for naps. All the women who worked there were very nice and attentive to our daughter. They didn’t only stay in the playroom either – they walked around the resort, took her to the art area to play with play dough, went in the kiddie pool and went to the restaurant for meal time. She cried when we dropped her off but they just whisked her away to the toys and she settled down in a few minutes. The Pajama Club at night was similar with great babysitters who were so helpful, happy and genuinely seemed to love kids.

The renovated room was nice and definitely plenty big. We were on the ground floor, but unfortunately looked out on the entry to the resort. Not quite as promised by the reservation agent when we booked who said we’d have a river view.
Food was good. There are only two restaurants – one buffet and one sit down. The sit down restaurant has limited choices that don’t change, but they are very similar to what’s in the buffet restaurant. Plus, plenty of people were just using the seating there but getting food at the buffet so seemed like an extension of the buffet anyway. The buffet was good and had a ton of choices for food. I really liked it for breakfast and lunch, but felt like it would have been nicer to have a good sit down restaurant for dinner. Plus, the service there was terrible. The staff looked so depressed and if they came over to clean a table they’d take the plates, but leave the glasses. It was really haphazard and incomplete. The coffee situation in the morning is really bad. There are 2 machines that make a cup at a time and the line was long. I don’t understand why they didn’t have carafes of coffee for the tables since most drink it. There is no food after 9pm and no place to get snacks or a late night bite.

All the pools are very nice, but the seats go quickly. You need to get up and put your towel on a chair early or you won’t get one. Also, getting an umbrella is tough. There aren’t nearly enough which seems like a miss for a place that has so many babies.
The bar is fine, but again, there is only place to get drinks on the entire resort. So, if you’re at the adult pool it’s a hike over there to get a beer. I just don’t understand why they don’t have another.

There is a fitness center and spa which we used and were fine. Neither is in their renovated home. From what some of the GOs said, I’m not sure when or if the second part of the renovation is happening. One told us that she didn’t think they had the money to finish it. Would be a shame since what they’ve started is nice and if they don’t finish it, it will really seem strange. The renderings on the website are a little misleading this way.

There was little information about what to do in the area. We did go to a Mets game one day which was great and ventured out to a restaurant in the area one night. Oddly, when we asked any of the GOs for recommendations, they had none. Seriously, they didn’t have any suggestions or know where to direct us. It’s a great resort, but don’t people ever want to leave or see what’s around??

This is a great resort. There’s much room for improvement, but we had a great family vacation and look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrown0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Dear kbrown0804,
We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Club Med Sandpiper Bay! We apologize about the confusion with the restaurant and buffet; your feedback is really appreciated. We truly look forward to you and your family coming back to visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

How anyone can rate this more than 2 stars is beyond me. To say this club is mismanaged is giving them the benefit of saying it's managed at all. There was not one manager/supervisor in any part of the club, from the front desk to the restaurants to the pool to the activities and it showed in so many ways. We waited over 2 hours for our rooms to be ready and there was barely a skeleton crew at the front desk and guest services to help us. At most meals the service was abysmal with wait staff that just didn't care and CLEARLY had no training and nobody watching over them. I was here with my 2 boys to play golf and the golf course was so poorly taken care of that it was sad to see. The rooms were typical club med, but were extremely poor relative to most new all-inclusive. And to top it all off, they closed the small health club they had during our stay, to accommodate an incoming groups need for the room. (How can you do that to your guests that are staying there, BECAUSE THERE'S NO MANAGEMENT) Overall a really bad experience and this review would have been a lot worse except for the fact that the pool area and some of the grounds were very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gregghamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear gregghamer,

We are very sorry for your negative experience at our resort. We work hard to accommodate all of out guests, and we apologize if our management and the conditions of our golf course and health club fell short of your expectations. We truly value you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and we will work toward making improvements. We hope that this experience won't deter you from future visits with Club Med.

Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Lucie
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
634 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
#12 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
158 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lucie, West
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lu...
#4 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
#5 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
337 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Port St. Lucie
Best Western Port St. Lucie
#7 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-6125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range: £207 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing