We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was an incredible vacation. We had a family reunion with 25 people, ranging from 9 months to seventy two years old, and there was something for everybody. I will start with everything related to the young ones:

Club Med Sandpiper Bay is a resort geared for children. Every day except Tuesday they offer a "kids club" for babies up to ten-year-olds. Children that aren't babies or toddlers are divided into three groups: Geckos (4-5), Sharks (6-7), and Gators (8-10). Each group travels to different activities, like trapeze, circus school, pool games, team sports, and other things like art. The best part is that parents can pull their child out of the club at any time of the day, so if your child doesn't want to do pool games or trapeze, you can take them out. Also, when you are registering your child on the first day, you have the option to give your child "independence," which means they can leave whenever they want to (only for gators).

Latitude 27 is another kids club type thing for kids aged 11 to 17. They do much of the same stuff, but there is no registration and all members have freedom to leave.

The trapeze was definitely a highlight for a lot of people in our party. The kids club goes there every day and children receive instruction on how to do different routines. The trapeze professionals at the club, Russell and Chelsea, safely teach you how to do knee-hangs, backflips, and penny-rolls. The single best thing in the week was the trapeze show that is on every Wednesday night. The most proficient guests perform in the first half and Russell and Chelsea perform in the second half. It is incredible.

The two individual sports they have at Sandpiper Bay are golf and tennis. There are over twenty tennis courts and an eighteen-hole golf course with a driving range and two putting greens. For each sport they have private lessons ($125), group lessons, and free clinics. The facilities were great and the coaches were incredible (Gino at tennis and Sean at golf).

The other activities included sailing and paddle-boarding. There are three pools, the main pool, the lap pool, and the infinity pool (no kids). Again, the facilities were great. You can also swim in the lagoon, which has very warm water and white sand that they put in over the river mud.

The food there was incredible. This Club Med location is the one where they test new recipes, and everything was delicious. Breakfast was pretty normal, but also had a chef that would make custom omelettes. Lunch was also great and had a chef that would make custom paninis. Dinner was the best, and had food from chicken nuggets, to crab legs, to fish, to salad. Make a reservation for dinner, because the dining room fills up. Also, make sure to visit the Slice Bar, which houses a full bar, but serves smoothies and soda as well. The Slice Bar has themed parties every day, complete with music and drinks.

Connected to the Slice Bar is a huge theater, where they have nightly shows. One night a week, the kids from the kids club put on a show, and do a great job.

This was an incredible vacation and everyone is itching to go back to Club Med Sandpiper Bay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,824 - 1,830 of 4,417 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

The concept of Club Med is great, that is why we keep coming back to their resorts. The staff is encouraged to be friendly with the guests and most of them are doing a great job at it. However Sandpiper is very different from other Club Med. It seems to be where they train their first time staff so it is no surprise that you feel a lack of training. We didn't get the usual welcome and we had to carry our own suitcases to the room. The food is just very average with no diversity (according to the staff: "to please the American test"... So if you are not American you will be very disappointed). If you have kids, they will love it... Until their iPhone is stolen which seems to happen on a daily basis in Sandpiper. Overall, I still liked it but more because of the interaction with other guests which is also encouraged at the Club. I just wish the quality was more consistent in all the Club Med and I hope the future new owners will address this weakness. Again if you decide to go, watch out for your phone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ulch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great resort with a staff dedicated to making sure your family has a great time . Food, drinks, and atmosphere are all top notch. This is the only all inclusive in the US that I'm aware of, and I wouldn't go to any other resort. The relaxation massages at the spa are definitely worth the extra money... Highlight of the trip for both my wife and I. Wish the pools stayed open past 9pm, but that's really my only complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdm00j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Accommodations and service were terrible. Food was not good and child care was poor quality. Club Med's response was late and not acceptable. Do not waste your money on a trip there, it is sure to be a disappointment.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our first time to a Club Med resort. Every year we have a family vacation and this year we decided on Club Med. Not everyone in the family thought Florida in July was the best decision but after visiting Club Med everyone was very happy with the decision. We had 8 different families and all but two with kids between the ages of 1 and 16. The kids and adults all had a great time. During the day the kids were at camp or the pool. Plenty for the parents to do whether it's at the pool, exercising or hanging out at Slice bar. The evenings were great for all ages. We stayed five nights and every evening there was something very entertaining for all ages! The staff is high energy and customer focused. Special shout out to Perri and Danielle as they were awesome hosts. I have seen some negative reviews and while everything wasn't perfect my overall experience was excellent. If you are a hotel snob then you'll complain but you probably complain most places you go -- if you are someone who is looking for a staff that cares about their guests and you want the freedom to do many different things than you'll have figure out a way to have a great time.

Room Tip: My room was not loud but music does play by the pool so if you don't want any noise you'll w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

these g.o.'s have made our stay memorable

tim, from the slice bar, has made our trip! always remembering our drink orders with a smile!

lance is the best dancer, entertainer, actor, announcer and friend. he always has a smile on his face and works hard to make your stay memorable!

Ethan from latitude 27, can always put a smile on any teenage face with his wit and fashion sense

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The bar is nasty. Dirty and smelled like vomit. Bathrooms dirty. Uninviting all around. Will not go back. Very dirty!!! Ugh...the pool was closed. Furniture dirty and uncomfortable. Service not good. Bad management. This is not a Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amartin1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Lucie
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
661 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
#11 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
169 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#9 of 11 in Stuart
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
#5 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
346 reviews
6.9 mi away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-6125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range: £192 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing