We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botanical Gardens mostly Florida plants”

Port St Lucie Botanical Gardens
Attraction details
Port St Lucie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Botanical Gardens mostly Florida plants”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was announced 4 years ago Port St Lucie was to build a Botanical garden along the shores of the St Lucie River. I'm guessing it takes awhile for a botanical garden to take root (no pun intended) and after 4 years it is now beginning to bloom. We visited in January 2014 and found it was a great place to see and learn about the plants and trees that are mainly indigenes to Florida. WE will visit again next year to see the progress.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank IanR772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    40
    24
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,620 reviews
1,090 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
“A work in process”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After visiting McKee and Heathcore we were prepared for a smaller and more immature Botanical Garden in Port St Lucie. It has only been in existence since 2010 whereas the other two have
been developed many more years. This area is more like a park and lends itself to park activities.
They do have a wide variety of plants and trees and in the future I am sure it will be much better.
I would not make this a destination site, but more stopping by for a brief walk through as you travel to your real destination. Port st Lucie deserves a lot of credit for trying to develop two concepts in one area. More volunteers are needed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very pretty.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This botanical garden features one of the largest collections of banzais. They had several that were over 40 or more years old. They also do weddings here, when I visited they had set up chairs and candles for one later that night. This is a nice place to go if you if you like nature, or just simply want to kill some time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Additional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A garden with weeds growing”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Port St Lucie Botanical Gardens is not very good in fact it is very poor. This place is typical of what the city does and that is half step. Who ever seen a botanical gradens with weeds growing and not much else? Yet if you want to do wedding photos there it will cost you $50 the place is a rip off

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you are visiting the Port St. Lucie area it is worth a stop at the Botanical Gardens. The property is beautiful and pretty quick to walk around. They don't charge admission, just recommend a $5 donation so you cannot beat the price. The butterfly garden was pretty, but it was too windy when we were there to see any wildlife. The cacti were in bloom so that was worth the stop. There is a large orchid garden that was also half in bloom. I think this is a great place to stop for lunch as it has a park like feel. This is certainly not an elaborate garden property, but it is a quiet place to visit with nature. I am sure that different times of the year offer more blooms and a unique look. If you are expecting it to feel like sprawling acres of mature plant life like a botanical garden in Kauai you will be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port St Lucie Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 

Been to Port St Lucie Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing