We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where was the Mexicali?”

Dos Amigos Mexicali Restaurant & Tequila Bar
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Latin
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where was the Mexicali?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I understand that a "Grill" is not full fledged Mexican restaurant with full bodied wonderful Mexican savory and spicy flavors; however I do expect to have some of the flavor hinted at, but there was none...nada....zip. The beans were a non descript looking blob with very little bean flavor. The rice was a scoop of yellow looking rice with various specks of color mixed in. The soft Taco would have been without flavor at all except for the slight unpleasant, burned after-taste. Even adding some of the salsa dip did not help. When we were finished, the waitress cleared our plates and never asked why I didn't eat the beans and rice. Then I had a remembered that when we walked in, she was clearing plates from a table and it still had the beans and rice on the plate. Don't you think she would want to know why the customer leave most of food on the plate that obviously looks barely touched? Worse yet, what is wrong with me that I didn't think of why the previous customer left their beans and rice barely touched? You would have thought that an experienced diner like me would take those kind of mental notes and NOT order the beans and rice too. Lesson learned. The good thing about Dos Amigos is the location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. Maybe if I was not a teetotaler, I could have enjoyed the food more if I had a few of the cheap Margaritas under my belt and be able to write a nice review.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    8
    11
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
261 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Continues With Poor Service and Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have been to this restaurant when it opened a few months back and we tried to give another try, they have multiple servers per table that are confused, now and in the past, by now you would think the management would have all the bugs iron out. Most of the comments from our table and other near by we claim that they just open a jar of sauce and pour of the dishes. For one dish they claimed that it comes with marinara sauce but sure looks like spaghetti sauce. Why marinara or spaghetti this is a Mexicalli place fresh salsa would be just great. Horrible food and service

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great guacamole - the rest is up to you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

First I have to say I went at an "off" time. around 3pm on a weekday - and it was raining. There were very few people there. I asked for a margarita - bartenders choice - and was happy with my drink. For apps, we had the guacamole, with chips and it was terrific. The food was ok, but the attention of the staff was absolute, and entertaining. This is my favorite time to go to a restaurant, before the dinner hour, when folks are creative. I can see where it might not be the best place to go when its very crowded, esp when looking for the old Dos Amigos. It is very fun to try a shot of high brow tequila just to see the difference. could be fun in a crowd!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Do not waste your time and money. This was the second time we ate here. The first time was ok, it was just my husband and I and we ordered the lobster enchiladas and the carna asada. The carna asada was good but you did not get enough food for $20. The second time we went was with a group, and it was awful. The nachos were expensive for a little plate of them. The service was the worst, we asked for several different things numerous times. It's no wonder it was dead on a Friday night while all the other restaurants around were busy. I will never go back for there are so many other great places to spend my hard earned money at.

Helpful?
Thank Katybug32962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not The Old Dos Amigos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

First, this restaurant is not the reincarnation of the excellent Dos Amigos formerly located in Stuart, FL. The menu is limited and lacks many mexican favorites. The food is bland, bland, bland. The chicken enchiladas tasted as if they were made with boiled chicken and no seasoning. The margaritas had a powdered mix taste. The only edible food were the tortia chips which were not made on premise, but tasty, although the salsa so-so. Save your money for Taco Bell!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dos Amigos Mexicali Restaurant & Tequila Bar also viewed

 
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing