We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointed!”

El Cubanito Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$100
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dissappointed!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Finally stopped in for dinner after passing the place for a year. The food was marginal. I ordered the pork dinner and didn't realize it would be "pulled pork" and it was very dry. I commented to the server and she brought it back and when it came back it was moist. It was better, but still nothing to write home about! I order the side of relleno de papa and they were pretty good (not as tasty as Puerto rican ones, I might add!), The plantains were very greasy. My husband' said his Cuban sandwich was of the same quality as Publix. The servers were very nice and the place was clean. I expected more from reading reviews on this place. I will not be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margarita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Great meal with very good service all the family really enjoyed there meal with home made sangria and fresh bread. Authentic Cuban food we loved it.

Helpful?
Thank Awsum949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gets better by the day.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

El Cubanito has shown the power to stay in business delivering Cuban food that gets better by the day. The Kitchen has slowly learned how to cook and present their dishes. The lunch menu is an exceptional value. The food is not up to Miami's hyper tastes of garlic, oregano, msg and salts. However, very satisfying and a great value. The Vaca Frita and Ropa Vieja are a good example of well executed dishes. The Lechon is still hit or miss. The Cuban sandwich is a little disappointing. Not a bad sandwich, but missing the proper Cuban bread, the mustard and the pickles. The waitress just said "well we don't make it that way". This tells me that she does not share customer input with the kitchen staff. This is clearly a restaurant run from the kitchen with no idea what goes in the dining room. The wait staff is always different. Their wait staff offers no consistentcy and lack knowledge of their menu. They do get an A- in effort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Habuylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time Eating Cuban Food”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was my first time eating Cuban Food in a Cuban restaurant. My dinner was delicious. I obviously do not have anything to compare it to because I'm a newbie to Cuban food...However, I know good food when I taste it. The house hot sauce was awesome. Service was great and I thought the prices were good. If I'm in the area again I will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdiverdown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worth trying”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Most things on the menu are very well priced. Good food, friendly servers. Definitely a good place for families. I wish the menu better explained what each item was, I'm not very familiar with Cuban food. The flan was awesome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfox9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cubanito Restaurant also viewed

Port Saint Lucie, FL
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 

Been to El Cubanito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing