We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub/Restaurant... great food; did not feel too clean!”

The Celtic Ray Public House
Ranked #4 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub/Restaurant... great food; did not feel too clean!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had eaten Celtic Ray's fish and chips at an outdoor festival and it was so good that I wanted to try it at their home base. It was good, as was my dining partner's Shepherd's Pie. Nice Irish menu. The food did not disappoint. Bartender was friendly & attentive. The place feels like it needs a good scrub-down, though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Camille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    217
    48
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Love coming to this authentic Irish Pub. Great food, music and service.
If you love Irish music and pub food don't miss a stop here in southwest FL.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demmy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish Experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The food is for sure authentic Irish. The pub is loaded with real Irish folk lore memorabilia. Open late which is great because we were out late every night doing as much as we could and wanted a place to relax and eat and celtics was open every night after most places closed. The tables and chairs were creeky and you had to go up to the bar to order but apparently that's how they do it back in the old country so its tradition. Overall nice experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShadowAce888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort wayne, indiana
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Memories of Ireland”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wow! We haven't been in a traditional public house since our trip to England in 2012. If you want a very real Irish pub experience, then come on in. Relaxing atmosphere, great pub grub, and on-tap Irish/English hard ciders, stouts, and beers. Interior is decorated in trad Irish memorabilia. Wonderful staff and local patrons. Only thing missing is the sound of the beautiful Irish language. Food $$. Ample food portions to share, so try several items. We had the Guinness stew, Shepherd's pie, mushy peas, and Colcannon. Not disappointed. Free parking is available behind the pub. Ourdoor seating area. Live music Wed-Sat. Lunch and Dinner. Support local.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, FL
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish Pub”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stopped in for a lunch meal as I have always wanted to stop here from the first time I drove past in my travels to Punta Gorda
The atmosphere is authentic right down to ordering at the bar. Ordered the fish and chips with a side of slaw and soda bread. As I expected, it was great. Their menu selection is pretty decent and I look forward to return visits to try more.
They offer indoor and outdoor seating but being the first of July and midday, the indoor option was wise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scoutdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Celtic Ray Public House also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing