We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, ok staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, ok staff...”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Wow. The hotel is really elegant. The lighting, decorations, showers are wounderful! & the bed is comfy!
My only compkaint is the service we recieved when we first got here. There was a young man behind the counter, complaining a customer he just finished a phone call with. Then he was snappy towards us. I just didn't feel as if it was professional.
Overall nice, just service could be better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianap2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello dianap2012,

I would like to thank you for staying with us! I am glad to hear that you found our facilities luxurious and of great elegance. In regards to the service you received at the Front Desk, if you could please email me at cheaxt@thewyvernhotel.com with some further details so that I may address them. Thanks again for staying with us, hope to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,

Chris Heaxt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    115
    42
    25
    18
See reviews for
124
270
26
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this hotel to celebrate my 1st anniversary. I couldnt be more pleased that I chose this hotel. It is by far the BEST Punta Gorda has to offer. The roof top bar is so romantic, stunning sunsets, made to order... I have been reading other reviews on here, and would like to add that those of you who have stayed and received poor service should try it again. They have made a few changes in their staff, I think weeding out the bad by the sounds. We had great service especially by the new FD manager Chris, he couldnt do enough to make our anniversary exactly what we were hoping for. Other great staff members id like to mention were Jessica and Richy. Thank you to all for a absolutely outstanding job....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwvenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear bwvenice,
I would like to THANK YOU for choosing to stay with us at The Wyvern Hotel. Also, congratulations to you and your significant other... they say the 1st year is always the hardest!
I am glad to hear that my staff and I were able to be of great assistance to you during your stay, which in turn led to an overall positive experience. As you had mentioned, we have also changed staffing around in the hotel and our service levels are now better than ever!
Thanks again for staying with us and for providing your honest and sincere feedback.
Here's to the future and many more anniversaries to come!
All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Wyvern on the 4th of July this year. It was a great place to have as a "base" to then go out and experience the various activities in Punta Gorda. We found the room to be very well appointed, complete with a great view of the harbor.
We especially enjoyed the luxury bedding (Frette sheets) which was delightful. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, "LuLu". We had the churrasco steak, which was delicious and is recommended. The rooftop bar has a great vantage point overlooking Laishley Marina and Charlotte Harbor, and was perfect for viewing the Independence Day fireworks. A great boutique hotel!

Room Tip: We were in #301-a corner room on the NW side with great harbor and city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks Tom d for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am truly grateful that you chose to stay with us at the Wyvern, and thoroughly enjoyed the spectacular views of the fireworks from our phenomenal rooftop bar and pool! I hope you have the opportunity to join us again soon, I do look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

First class rooms, clean, and a great rooftop bar. We stayed on a Friday night and they had a band on the roof. We were on the 3rd floor and they were pretty loud into the night. Without the band, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: No band during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Gary B, your review means a lot to the management and staff at the Wyvern. Although you enjoyed all that we have to offer, I am sorry to hear that the band's noise was an issue during your stay. We strive to make each and every guest experience at the Wyvern a memorable one. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies, and show you that what you experienced was not the norm, but the exception. Thanks for giving us your honest and sincere feedback, it is truly appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel structure and room are both very lovely but this is where it stops. Service is almost uniformly unpleasant and guests can currently expect either A. young disinterested front desk clerk B. Hostile unpleasant front desk staff C. Both.
I had to complain to top management (there is no corporate office) about poor service. This included rude responses from the hotel regarding my need to change one night of my stay through Expedia. Further, I could not believe that one staff member, a particuarly unpleasant woman was unwilling to offer me coffee, even though the staff the afternoon before was. She stated she would bring me used morning coffee if I wanted, but no offer to brew a fresh pot. Expect service with a smile? Don't count on it. There is a friendlier hotel just down the road, the Sheraton Four Points. The rooms are not as lovely, but the staff sure is. What a disppointment, especially for a business traveler with little free time and the need for a minimum of courteous service, not to be found at this site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxeyemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear jaxeyemd, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am sorry to hear, however, that our service staff was lacking. We have made recent changes in our staffing and management to better reflect the Wyvern's standard of service and to better assist each and every guest's desires. I hope you will contact me directly when you are ready to return to the Punta Gorda area, I will personally make sure that your stay is nothing short of perfection. Thank you for your honest and sincere feedback, I do hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Really nice property, but some of the efforts to be really different seem to thwart that effect. I agree that it is really nice to have snacks and drinks handy, but what of the traveler that needs that frig space? Wen we unloaded the frid we found an open drink. On our call to the front desk was the urgent message to not touch anything! But we had obviously already done that. When the house person came to assist us and we thought to take inventory etc, they simply took the opened drink as if we were afraid to touch it and told us not to worry, management would not charge us for anything. Later I was looking At the menu for the snack bar and realized that the entire drawer of snack items was gone. Well. Don't they have s system in place? In three days, not one time did that drawer or frid get restocked!
The other thing is the bed. The mattress is contained in a waterproof sleeve (crinkly sound), with a pillow top. Sleeps nice except the bottom sheet is not fitted and detaches and crumples up into a ball.
The staff was super nice.
Bar on the roof was fun, but see why folks don't like swimming with the bar crowd watching as I saw in reviews.
And if you want coffee in your room, make sure you have clothes handy to run down to the complimentary coffee station when you awaken.

Room Tip: Ask for room off the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi rupie6, I would like to thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but a bit disappointed in the subpar level of standards you received. we have recently replaced some staff members and management to broaden the level of service that the Wyvern is known for having. I hope you will allow us the opportunity on your next visit to Punta Gorda just to show you what we're really capable of. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the Wyvern Hotel, I hope to personally welcome you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed at The Wyvern in Punta Gorda, FL several times over the last few years and have always been very pleased with the accommodations. Their rooms are very clean and quite comfortable. They have a very nice first floor restaurant as well as a rooftop pool and bar area that's lots of fun. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful as well. I highly recommend The Wyvern as THE place to stay when in Punta Gorda.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loves2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Loves2fly, your review is amazing! I would like to take the time to THANK YOU for always choosing to stay with us at the Wyvern, your loyalty and continued business means a great deal to us! I do look forward to having the pleasure and enjoyment of welcoming you back on your next visit to Punta Gorda. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Property: The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing