We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel - Elegant with Personal Attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Hotel - Elegant with Personal Attention”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Wyvern twice in the last few weeks. Service was prompt and attentive. Rooms were well appointed and clean. Nice Restaurant on premises along with rooftop pool and bar with an excellent staff. An Elegant property with a small town feel and a great price. Fantastic New Year's Eve dinner! Will be returning next month.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thanks Alan C for your great review! I am thrilled to hear that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff attentive to your needs. I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next visit to Punta Gorda.

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    118
    45
    26
    20
See reviews for
130
284
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We scheduled one night at this hotel and stayed two. It is the cleanest hotel I've seen in a long while. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff are wonderful and I liked the fact that they were there if you needed something but otherwise seemed invisible. The parking is very convenient and security is good for the guests. The elevators don't work without a room key. The beds are comfortable and the linens are nice. Beautiful mosaic floor in the elevator. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel. There's a great little bar almost next door where we enjoyed relaxing and listening to live music.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank YOU skysis for your charming 5-star review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed all that our upscale hotel has to offer and found it "one of the cleanest hotels found in a while." We strive for excellence and are glad that is what you received. Please come back and see us again soon next time you're in the Punta Gorda area.

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a 63-room boutique hotel just behind Laishley Park Marina, a block from restaurants and shops. Great waterfront views. Room was lovely, huge bathroom and sparkling clean. Quiet and posh. My only regret was the rooftop pool, which was adequate, but not all that charming. Also, there is a Christian connection, with an on-call minister for prayer sessions. This wasn't obtrusive and might be helpful for some folks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinsomeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear WinsomeTraveller, THANK YOU for your feedback and letting the world know how your experience was at our one-of-a-kind hotel. Your words are very important to let us know what we can improve on. In regards to our pool being "not that charming," I would love to hear additional details that we can improve on to make our guest experience better. Please feel free to email me directly at CHeaxt@TheWyvernHotel.com.

Thanks again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Came just to check out the view, but stayed for a few drinks! The view was really nice & the service was exceptional! They had a DJ, & they played all kinds of music!! I would have liked to check out the rooms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MLerario1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
MLerario1023, thanks for stopping by to "check us out!" I am glad you enjoyed yourself and our house DJ. Feel free to stop by on your next visit, we are more than happen to show you one of our beautiful and spacious guest rooms anytime!

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was so excited when we checked in to this hotel because it was perfect. It was extremely clean, which is what I look for in a hotel. The problem-we asked when the pool closed and was told by the front desk that it closed at 10pm. So at 9pm we let our children swim. Well, I guess the guy performing had a problem with the kids(and yes some of the kids are teenagers and my 10 year old daughter) swimming. The kids were never left without an adult so I know for a fact they were not being disruptive. First, as they got in to the pool, the guy singing said into the microphone "some people pay $200 to swim". The crowd started laughing. I didn't get it. A pool on the rooftop is a pretty attractive feature to teens and kids. The next thing we know the kids are done swimming and as they walk out the singer says into the microphone very sarcastic "thanks for swimming guys". We complained to the front desk and they said they would talk to him. When we checked out the front desk said they talked to him and he denied everything. I am not a liar. It is very rare that my children get to go on a vacation, so for them to be made fun of, especially in front if a crowd with a microphone by an arrogant jerk makes me very mad. This guy is not some kind of celebrity that anybody cares about and the fact that the hotel didn't offer us anything for the embarrassment my kids felt says a lot about their priorities. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruehlmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Ruehlmanj,

I would like to apologize for the experience you received at the Rooftop. We do feature live entertainment every Friday and Saturday evening by independent singers/groups that are hired by the hotel and are not employed by us.

The pool area is a featured amenity for hotel guests and any comments regarding that will not be tolerated by our management staff from an independent group or singer. I will further investigate this matter and take the corrective actions necessary.

Since this issue was with the entertainment and not the hotel, I hope that you will return and stay with us again soon. We strive for excellence and will do whatever it takes to win your loyalty.

Please reach out to me via email at CHeaxt@TheWyvernHotel.com if I may be of any further assistance to you or would like me to personally make your next reservation.

All the best and have a Happy New Year!

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Plenty of free parking. Well within walking distance of all the best places to eat. Good food and music. Good views. Rooms: clean, acceptable, quiet. PG is trying very hard to revive the waterfront area downtown and has done a great job so far.

Room Tip: Stay on 3 or 4. The band on the roof quits @ 10pm if you're early to bed type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedoctor2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear thedoctor2001,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated for us to further enhance our service and experience for every guest. Whenever you are in the area again, I hope that you will consider staying with us at the Wyvern Hotel.

Happy New Year!

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Wyvern hotel and loved. Great rooms, great location and great pool. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only recommendation would be to bring your own snacks as there are no vending machines with snack food and although they provide mini bar snacks they are very expensive.
I would definitely stay there again. Roof top pool and patio is awesome!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Assistant General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
I have to agree, Stormsam, that the Rooftop terrace is simply breathtaking! Along with our rooms, there is no better place to stay with the service and amenities we offer. We do provide fully-stocked minibars for the convenience of every guest, so you won't have to worry about leaving the comfort of room if you choose to. as always, thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,

Chris Heaxt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
506 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Property: The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing