We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Babcock Ranch Preserve
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

All we saw on the bus ride were turkey, alligators, and cattle (could've seen turkey and cattle anywhere for free). There was no cougar, but they are trying to capture one to lock up in a cage (how inhumane!). The whole place is rundown. Overall this place is way overrated and way overpriced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    8
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No- Bison, cougar, or wild boars”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Cool bus ride through the ranch which is old And not well maintained. We saw birds, turkeys, alligators and farm animals. The wild boars have been removed from the property. The cougar died and the bison were relocated because they did not do well in the Florida humidity. A neat afternoon but it was overpriced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“riding into nature”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

from entrance a 5 mile smoothly paved road meanders between fields, lake and lightly wooded areas. very little auto traffic, occ birdwatchers and good place to bicycle. Round trip 10 miles. in wet season road tends to flood about 2 1/2 miles in. Area does get a bit crowded in hunting season, don't wear fur!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank protons-r-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not much to do................”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

One day we went to the Ranch spent 2 hours on the road and must admit was rather disappointed, expected more should have found some reviews and what to expect. Don't get me wrong I'm not upset we went just could have found a better way to spend my time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's History”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place to take children to see what Old Florida is all about. Very knowledgeable tour guides will bring the past to life and all of the wild life that is all around us all of the time. FUN

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babcock Ranch Preserve also viewed

 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Babcock Ranch Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing