We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY ATTENTIVE SERVICE”
Review of The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper
Reserve with OpenTable
The Perfect Caper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nesbit St.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
966 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
“VERY ATTENTIVE SERVICE”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Visited on a Saturday night with friends. Firstly, this is a difficult place to find even though it's on a main road. From the outside it looks like a bunker or warehouse and the parking lot next to it has a number of potholes so beware! On the inside it can feel claustrophobic due to there being no windows which I found strange for an upscale establishment (reminds me of La Stanza in old Englewood - similar external appearance which belies the interior). The bar area takes up only a small area and feels cramped. And another strange thing - we were told the second of the two for one Happy Hour drinks would be served just before we went to our table and I couldn't work that one out i.e. what if we'd wanted more drinks?

Once seated at our table the first problem was deciding on the wine and personally I thought the list was not extensive enough. Also surprised there was no Merlot on offer. The house white (Chardonnay) was better than expected (which I had at happy hour) but wanted a red with my meal. The Pinot Noir was not to my liking and I don't drink Cabernet, which really only left one of the Malbec options as preference. However, thinking about it later perhaps the waitress thought we wanted by the glass but we would have been happy to have a bottle (only certain wines are offered by the glass).

The bread was really good and we had to control ourselves not too eat too much! All ordered steak (three NY strip/one filet) which were cooked as ordered. Overall we were happy with the quality and presentation of the meals.

Table service throughout was excellent and the restaurant was practically full and so guess that's indicative of it's popularity. Pleasure to see most patrons dressed appropriately and not wearing shorts/beachwear type outfits.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    87
    36
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected Elegance”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

In town for a convention, my friend and I went walking near the Event Center to find a place for dinner. After two disappointing stops, one an hour wait and the other too loud, we asked a local woman where the best food downtown could be found. She suggested The Perfect Caper just down the street, ironically right where we had parked. It was an unassuming building but as we walked in we knew it was a hidden gem. When we saw the menu we were sure. The prix fix offerings were wonderfully adventurous at $25 with the option to add two glasses of wine for an added $10. We were hooked. The pate first course was wonderful followed by a ginger salmon on a bed of noodles. Gourmet food at minimum prices. This meal made the Convention unconventional and not just tolerable. The visit by the owner/cook was a delight, but you'll have to experience that yourself. Bon Appetite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft.Myers
Level Contributor
149 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Impeccable Food and Service”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a knowledgeable server in Noelle. The food was delicious and the service top notch. There was even a follow up call to inquire about our experience. Enough said.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIlol52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great appertizers, great presentation..”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great appetizers, great presentation...As we were a group of 4 and one appetizers had only 3 pork belly tacos, he added a 4th at no cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlkinghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“BOGO Lunch”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Visited the Perfect Caper for lunch yesterday since they only open limited days for lunch. They have a regular lunch menu and a BOGO if each person purchases a drink. There were 6 of us and some participated in the BOGO and some not. I had one of the daily specials which was a nice cold salad (greens, petite slim string beans, and quartered fingerling potatoes) and scallops. It was delicious, although there were only 2 scallops so I can't imagine that would be sufficient for most people. Others at the table had the grilled chicken sandwich ahd tuna salad sandwich (came with a small salad on the plate), steak tacos, and fried shrimp. They have tasty homemade bread with olives that is salted on top. Service was fairly slow, probably because one person at the table had a cup of soup. Everyone enjoyed their meal and stated they would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GallivantersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Perfect Caper also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Perfect Caper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing