We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was incredible - hotel itself... sub-par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff was incredible - hotel itself... sub-par”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Arriving at the hotel, we were in awe. The exterior, landscaping and view of the marina was magical. We were so excited to stay here. Upon check in the front desk staff went above and beyond for us - getting us the best room they had available and giving us information about things to do in the area. We got up to our room and that's where the magic started to fizzle. It was SO small. There was hardly room to move around (there were four of us, two adults and two toddlers) And there was only one desk.... no other surfaces to put things down, we had to keep everything on the floor. We were supposed to be staying for a week and we were a little scared to have to stay in such an uncomfortable space for that entire week. The room was not very clean - we found doritos on the floor by the bed, there was a large yellow stain on one of the bed spreads and dirty wine glasses left outside our door (that were never picked up). Luckily, my husband's business trip was cut short and we only stayed one night and we were very relieved to be getting out of there.
We decided to stop in the restaurant for breakfast on our way out. The first table we sat at was filthy. We turned our mugs over and there was lipstick and dried coffee in the bottoms of two of them. We moved to another table, this one was clean and ordered our breakfast. The food itself was terrible. My kids pancakes were overdone and so dry they could hardly eat them. My fruit salad was awful. It tasted like it was canned, or maybe frozen - certainly not fresh. If I'm going to pay 5.00 for two pieces of melon and a grape, I expect it to be a little better than that.
Again - I have to stress how great the staff was. They were the only part of the stay that was bearable and the reason I rated this hotel a three rather than a two. We will NOT be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina - very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikP829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Points by ... P, Front Office Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear NikP829,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We here at the Four Points by Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside would like to apologize for any of our shortcomings. I am happy to hear that you felt welcomed and cared for by our staff. Our staff really takes pride in their work and I truly believe it shows. As for the room size, we do offer a King Suite that may be perfect for your needs. It has a king bedroom, a nice living room with plenty of counter space, and the couch turns in to a bed if needed. The King Suite is nice for extended stay because it has a refrigerator to keep the children's food/milk cold. If you decide to come back to Punta Gorda, please feel free to call the hotel and we will do everything we can to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.

Sincerely,
Adam Myara
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    270
    88
    28
    18
See reviews for
281
426
57
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

By far it is a is the best hotel and only resort and in Charlotte County.. .....up to par with Starwood excellence and mainly deserved by great individuals that clearly care and take a huge pride in what they do.

SUPERB staff/mgt with spirited "can-do" service makes Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside a total GEM in Southwest Florida.

Room Tip: top floor, marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Points by ... P, Front Office Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Margaret B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We here at the Four Points by Sheraton cannot express enough how much your loyalty means to us. I wholeheartedly agree with you, our staff takes immense pride in their jobs, and that is what sets us apart from other hotels. As far as being a resort, you are correct. The Dockside Grill and The Tiki Bar that are located on property along with the fishing pier, volleyball court, and great location in downtown Punta Gorda make this a one stop vacation destination. Please come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,
Adam Myara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent several days at this hotel over new year's week (2014). We had a king mini suite which was comfortable for our needs. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and clearly are geared to resolving guests needs. However, the hotel restaurant really left a lot to be desired - service was poor and food quality was disappointing for the price. We will stay here again, but not eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: High floor (5th floor) rooms on the west side offer the nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sail2KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Points by ... P, Front Office Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sail2KW,

Thank you so much for your review. We here at the Four Points by Sheraton Harborside appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on the property and amenities during the busy holiday season. The king suite that you stayed in is a great room, that features 2 flat screen tvs, an extended bathroom, pull out couch in the living room, and incredible views of Charlotte Harbor. They are only located on the top floors so they are rare! I personally am grateful for your review of the restaurant and am pleased to inform you of the recent changes that we have made this week. The Dockside Grill has rolled out a brand new menu that really compliments the area that we are in. It boasts some fabulous items such as Caribbean Seafood Gumbo, a Tunami Wrap, Mako Mike's Surfin' Burger, and Surfin' Turf, which everyone is raving about thus far. This full menu is also available at The Tiki Bar, so that means our guests can now enjoy the beautiful sunsets along with the inventive delicious food that we just introduced. Next time you stay with us I urge you to give it a try!

Front Desk Manager
Adam Myara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The agent that I booked this hotel with assured me that the hotel ran a shuttle to the Punta Gorda airport. I distinctly asked him three times if this was so and he assured me that it was so. It was not so.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Points by ... P, Front Office Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Eugene M,

We here at the Four Points by Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside apologize for any inconvenience that occurred due to that misunderstanding. It is true that we do not offer a shuttle service to the airport. We do however offer to call taxis for guests when they inform us of an earlier morning departure to the airport. I sincerely hope you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer once you arrived to the hotel such as The Tiki Bar and the pier. Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Adam Myara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Four Points is in an ideal location with a nice view of the harbor. The downsides were expected for a budget hotel. The rooms are super small, linens on the bed are thin and the mattress pad kept wadding up under our feet, the sliding door on bathroom offers no privacy (you hear EVERYTHING)and there's not much in the way of service. But the price is good, there's a cute little bar/restaurant in the hotel with a nice outdoor area for late-night drinks and we loved being near the water. There's also a Tiki Bar at the far end of the parking lot where locals gather every night. We didn't use the pool, but the water was very warm for December. Ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BradandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Points by ... P, Front Office Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear BradandGina,

The Four Points by Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside would like to thank you for your feed back about the time you shared with us. I agree with you about the location of the hotel. I couldn't have chosen a more ideal location in the heart of Punta Gorda near the shops and restaurants and right on the water with views of Laishley Marina on one side, views of Charlotte Harbor on the other side, and our very own pier for docking your boat or doing a little fishing. You also mentioned the Dockside Grill in the hotel and The Tiki Bar that is located on the water. I am very pleased to inform you that we have introduced a new menu for both locations. This menu already has people talking about the unique Caribbean touches and the savory seafood dishes.

Sincerely,
Adam Myara
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were on the fifth floor and had a nice water view. Some of the lower floors views may be blocked by condos next door. The hotel is walking distance to a nice downtown area. There is also a dock, beach volleyball, and tiki bar right out from the hotel overlooking the water. The staff was helpful and on top of everything. Coffee was provided on the floor and in the lobby. The rooms were clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us a review. we're happy to know you liked our hotel location and found our staff helpful. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over New Year's. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and have a nautical theme. Beds are super comfortable. Lots of room. Free bike rentals nearby which are great for riding along the waterfront.

Room Tip: Water view is best although the hotel fronts on a busy road that can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMacOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Points by ... P, Front Office Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear LizMacOttawa,

The Four Points by Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside thanks you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the hotel and the staff. We work very hard to make sure that every guest knows that their patronage is appreciated. I personally am thrilled that you were able to take advantage of Punta Gorda's free bike rental program. It allows our guests to have the freedom to roam around Punta Gorda and experience things that you might miss in a car. One of which is the Harbor Walk that you mentioned. It is the path that is at the back of our hotel which takes you along the water through many of the great parks here in Punta Gorda, all the way to Fisherman's Village. On your next visit, you may wish to try an excursion in one of the Kayaks that we have on property. This way you will get to experience Punta Gorda by land and sea!

Sincerely,
Adam Myara
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
479 reviews
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside

Property: Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
Address: 33 Tamiami Trl, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside is located on the edge of the Charlotte Harbor waterfront in south Florida. Our hotel is a short drive from Cape Haze and the Gulf of Mexico's shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside Hotel Punta Gorda
Four Points Punta Gorda
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing