We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night out”
Review of Torch Bistro

Torch Bistro
Ranked #36 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Airport Road
Description: Every city has an up and coming restaurant where the atmosphere is great and the chef is a superstar. These restaurants are hot for one reason, they ensure your dining experience will be unforgettable. If you're looking for great service and creative, delicious food, you're sure to find it at Torch Bar and Grill. Welcome to Torch Bar and Grill. You have just found the only Punta Gorda restaurant with fine dining, in a causal atmosphere. Being one of many Punta Gorda restaurants, we are known as THE Place to go for Food, Service and great Quality. There are no other restaurants in Punta Gorda that have as many ongoing values for you as Torch Bar and Grill. Begin your dining experience with a custom made to order cocktail, exactly how you like it, from our bar while your meal is prepared especially for you. We also feature Nyotaimori is a well-accepted and practiced tradition in Japan. It is recognized as an art form in Japan and has been part of the Geisha culture dating back hundreds of years... It is based on the idea that sushi is made to delight. Reservation need to be made 2 weeks in advance. ***Please see our menu on Facebook Torch Bar and Grill***
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a delightful dinner at this place, the service was excellent the food outstanding and the margarita almost as good as mine. We enjoyed it very much we will be back!!!

2  Thank alina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1339, Public Relations Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you for your review and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

. The best duck in town! The servers are always friendly and attentive. The awesome bucco is just that, AWESOME! It's not your overpriced downtown Punta Gorda restaurant. It is family owned and operated. I applaud them for a creative menu that has great comfort food. The chicken pot pie is huge, absolutely the creamiest best tasting , pot pie I've ever had! It's even better than my own! They have a great gluten free menu which was nice considering the other couple we dined with only eats gluten free. The seafood pasta dish that is gluten free was delicious. I never knew gluten free could taste so good! We eat here often and have never been disappointed ! The prices won't kill you either! I highly recommend dining here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Urgentbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1339, Public Relations Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you for your review and patronage. We appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Followed up on a discount voucher and was pleasantly surprised.. Reviews by some were negative, usually when the crowd is small service is poor, however tonight we we waited on and served in a timely manner. Wife had the small prime rib and I ordered the meatloaf. Prime rib a bit on the done side but very tasty, meatloaf was very good. Appeared fried a touch, served with mashed taters and veggies. Discount for paying cash.we enjoyed our primary visit.

Thank golf076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1339, Public Relations Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you for your review and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stopped in last week with two daughters for dinner. Terrible calamari...used to be the reason we came here. The $4 margaritas were like slushies and terrible. It was depressing as we were almost alone in the place and all staff conversation was easily heard...too bad and so unprofessional....staff and this whole place need a do over and training.

2  Thank AnnaBBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1339, Public Relations Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you for your review and patronage. The menu has been reviewed and changes have been made. The $4 margaritas are you choice of frozen slush-like or on the rocks, not sure which one you ordered but there is a choice. Staff has been changed and trained extensively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We've lived in the Punta Gorda area for almost 5 years and decided to give the Torch a try. We arrived on Friday around 7:30 pm. There was 1 other couple in the 'dining area' and maybe about six people in the bar. There were no sandwiches on the menu, so my husband asked the waiter if they had sandwiches. The waiter said they don't serve sandwiches in the dining area, only at the bar (which was about 5 feet behind us). The waiter said he would check with the chef. He returned and said "The Chef said he will make an exception only this time, but no more sandwiches in the dining area after this time". We almost left at that point. We decided to stick it out and ended up ordering their philly cheesesteak sandwiches and a garden salad. The salad was a mixture of spinach, sprouts, croutons...mediocre for $7.00 extra. Then we finally received our philly cheesesteak. We took a couple of bites and could not eat anymore. The fries were OK. We complained to the waiter that the sandwiches were awful. They had a mixture of mushroom soup and creamed tomatoes mixed in with the beef, onions, peppers. The waiter finally brought our check and the meals were removed, but we paid $15 for water and 2 salads plus tipped him a few bucks. We left and ate at McDonald's...which cost us $12 for burgers, fries and sodas. And even McDonald's was better than this place. If you want to pay a very high price for food that is drenched with sauces, this place is for you. Wouldn't you think a restaurant would go out of their way to fix you a sandwich? We noticed they didn't have much of a business on a Friday evening. That is definitely a red flag. We won't be coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank jetbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager1339, Public Relations Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

So sorry for the late response we have redone the social media aspect of the restaurant and answering reviews back has been delegated to a new manager.

As a general rule we have never served sandwiches at dinner time. In a bistro type setting that is a lunch item. We had attempted to do it at the bar for awhile which is completely normal to have a different bar fare menu from the dining room. We have never ever served a garden salad in our restaurant. We have a house salad, not made with spinach, nor have we ever had sprouts in house, a Caesar salad, our spinach salad is an entree on its own...its a strawberry sunset salad with chicken, almonds, oranges etc. Our Philly steaks are as authentic as you can get we have the bread shipped directly from Amorosa's in Philly. We have never used cream of mushroom soup. It is boars head "white american" cheese it is creamy and more appealing to the eye then the tradtional yellow american or Wiz, that gets melted on top of everything and then mixed together to ensure every bite has cheese. Mushrooms, green peppers, red peppers (not tomatoes) and onions are fresh cut everyday. To be fair MOST restaurants in town would not prepare you a meal that was not on the menu, nor should you expect that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torch Bistro also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Torch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing