We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great GM museum.”

Muscle Car City Museum
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Athens, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great GM museum.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

150+ great classic General Motors cars to look at. Mostly Chevies and Pontiacs, a few others here and there. Worth a look of you're a car guru. There's a car show every third Saturday of the month worth seeing. The diner also has great food!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Additional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    148
    35
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clewiston, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Father's Day Outing”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I am really sorry to give such a poor review of Muscle Car City however; I do feel that anyone that has breathing problems (asthma) needs to be aware of this. While we were on a great Father’s Day Outing to Muscle Car City Museum and the Car Show on Saturday, 15June13 the employees decided to move cars around inside the museum. The ventilation system does not work well in removing the fumes (carbon monoxide). I always carry my inhaler with me, what a day saver that was. We thought that if we would go outside eat a nice picnic lunch and return it would be better. Well it was, until the employees decided to start up another vehicle and move it. We paid $12.00 entrée fee with no problem but the environment left us with a feeling of disappointment. In the future I think the owner needs to rethink the timeframe that he follows in moving his vehicles around. Definitely rethink moving the vehicles during the museum hours of operation.
One good note the outside car show was fantastic with great cars, music and friendly people. That part gets a 4 Star Rating.
Linda
Clewiston, FL

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Linds A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotonda West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome experience - a must for any car enthusiast”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Whoever is responsible for this place needs to be commended, lauded and held in high esteem. Not only is it every car enthusiast’s dream but you can get up close and personal with ALL the cars. I saw models I have never seen before, models that I have owned and some that I currently own.

All the cars are in perfect, pristine condition and the whole place is a petrol heads dream. I could have happily spent the whole day there!!

If you like American cars this should be your number one destination. Too boot, apparently it was once a Walmart so you can tell the wife you are taking her shopping. Can’t get better than that!

Oh, there is a diner and a shop too

Whatever you do, don't forget the camera

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nirvana for GM Gear-Heads”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

There are three general areas at the Museum: Parking Lot, Free Area and Admission-Required 'Gallery.'

The Parking Lot has swap meets and competitions from time-to-time.

The Free Area includes a few classic cars, some maybe for sale, a parts/souvenir store and a luncheonette.

The actual museum sports lots of GM muscle cars among a smattering of older classics. The casual visitor (and Kids) will have their eyes glaze over after viewing the umpteenth Corvette. The true afficianado will appreciate well-maintained and sometimes rare editions of autos. They all run, too, although not during visiting hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Swap meet”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The swap meet at the end of the month is excellent. I have not gone through the museum as of yet, its kind of expensive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BoydB408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muscle Car City Museum also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Muscle Car City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing