We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But Woefully In Need of Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fishermen's Village Resort
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Location But Woefully In Need of Updating”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

An excellent location with great water views but our unit definitely could use renovation. Laminate on bottom of doors was in tatters and peeling off. When heat was on (we hit a cold spell) the second bedroom was insufferably hot while the first bedroom and living area remained cool. Skylight had duct tape that was hanging loose. However the place was clean. It's sad that such a potentially great unit in a fine location has been allowed to deteriorate so far.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank optiontrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishVille, Resort Manager at Fishermen's Village Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do have beautiful views of Charlotte Harbor and the convenience of having so many things close by. I am sorry to hear about the maintenance issues. If you would be so kind as to email me, I would like to take a closer look at the villa you stayed in so that we can correct the problems. We would love a chance to improve.

Eve Sweeting
Resort Manager
resort@fishville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    59
    22
    10
    11
See reviews for
48
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We just returned from a week at Fisherman's Village. We enjoyed the five restaurants on site, all on the water with live music, sunsets every night from our balcony, and the shops which have vastly improved since our last visit. There are tennis courts,an excellent marina, swimpool, and many trails along the riverwalk etc. Once there you could have a fun week without ever getting in your car! There are commercial boat tours for shelling, sunsets and visiting islands that looked like fun. We moored our own boat at the marina and everyone was friendly and helpful. We thought our villa was comfortably furnished and inviting. It is older than many properties we have been to, but very nicely appointed. The bathroom is a little small for more than two people would be the only thing to fault. Punta Gorda itself, especially the historic district, has a diversity of good restaurants and pleasant shops just a five minute ride from the resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and plan to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the Charlotte Bay side to watch the sunsets. The other side of the village over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra67_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My friend and I were very pleased when we arrived at how clean our villa was! Office personnel were very friendly and helpful in every way. Convenience of having 4 restaurants right on property and all the shops was so nice. I had such a good nights sleep on their memory foam mattresses that I went to the office to ask what name brand their beds were. They said I was not the first person to ask that so they had it at their fingertips. When I get home I am buying a new bed!! Very friendly people here. My favorite place to eat here is the Fishermans Village Market for their food, service is fast and excellent and prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in 2012 and liked the resort so much that we puchased two timeshare weeks. We stayed for a week this February and hope to stay for another week in 2014. We love the resort. The units are very comfortable. Our experience has been that the units are clean and the staff is very friendly. The veiw from our unit is wondeful. As far as night life, larger cities are a short distance away, offering all the entertainment and night life that one would want to enjoy. There are many museums and other attractions nearby. Orlanda is about 1 1/2 hours away, so Punta Gorda is a great base for taking in Disney World. It's also an option for those who want to attend the Daytona 500. And of course, in February and March many spring training exibition games are within an hours drive. Oh yes, there is also a wonderful farmers market right in Punta Gorda on Sunday's. Lots of local fruit, vegetables and crafts. I would encourage anyone who enjoys a more laid back vacation experience to visit Fishermen's Village Resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the main entrance of the resort. Rooms toward the middle of the esplanade te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 358am46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I recently had a one week time share rental.

Our suite was 3 bedroom and had numerous "extras"

The ordinary rental charges are $190 per night.

The outdoor heated pool is undersized but with modest chlorine levels.

There are 111 boat slips and tours are available.

There is what amounts to a small mall with 3 dozen shops and restaurants.

ALL are locally owned.

Room Tip: Reservations well in advance are all but required. Dream vacation for a deep-sea fisherman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenMaster_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a fun week at Fisherman's Village. Our apartment was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They provided us with a cooler, chairs, and a beach umbrella for our daily excursions. Great sunsets viewed from our balcony!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ICook13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After 2 weeks in Orlando, this was a welcome change of pace. It was completely deserted. A few people sat around the water fountain on the main floor. We had a breathtaking view from our balcony, where we watched the sunsets every evening. We borrowed bikes(complimentary) and rode around the neighborhood to the Ponce de Leon park and wildlife sanctuary. We played tennis (complimentary). They had a breakfast to introduce the area and had someone come in to talk about a wildlife park close by. She had a baby gator you could hold and photograph. There was no timeshare presentation. There was also a wine and cheese evening which we missed, because it was quite early in the evening and we were still on our way back from the beach. The nearest beach in Port Charlotte was closed due to bacteria, so we drove to Englewood.
Staff was friendly. The unit was clean. The local wildlife was quite tame. It was very quiet the entire week we were there. We walked to Gilchrist Park and the splash fountains nearby. The quaint downtown area was also very quiet.
The units were clean. The bathroom needs to be updated but the rest of the unit suits the whole vibe of the area.
The location was ok, although far from beaches. We did visit Ft.Myers Beach and Siesta Key, both really nice and wide with white sand and clear warm water.
We probably won't visit again, since once you've seen it, there's not much to go back for. We have teenage kids. For seniors or fishermen I'm sure it's a wonderful place to keep going back to.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the water have great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mamawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishVille, Resort Manager at Fishermen's Village Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in Punta Gorda. We are located in a smaller town and the summer months are typically our off-season. I hope you enjoyed the slower pace and will recommend the area to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
1.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
1.0 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.8 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
6.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishermen's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishermen's Village Resort

Property: Fishermen's Village Resort
Address: 1200 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-5325
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishermen's Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishermen's Village Resort Villas are located directly above Fishermen's Village Shops, Boutiques and Restaurants. An all inclusive vacation destination, each villa is 1,000 sq. feet, accommodates up to six people, two bedroom, loft, kitchen and balcony. Free bicycle loaner program, BBQ grills, pool, on site shopping, dining, water recreation activities. Daily/Weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fishermen's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishermen`s Village Villas Hotel Punta Gorda
Fishermen's Village Resort Punta Gorda, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing