We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little spot!”

The Orange House Wine Bar
Ranked #13 of 159 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Orange House is combination Bistro and Wine Bar. We offer small plates of various portions. You may snack on imported olives, nibble on a Artisan Cheese Plate, or if you are up for something a bit heartier...you can choose a Flatbread or Wine Bar Plate . We have an amazing selection of wines with over 100 to choose from and around 50 that are served by the glass . Our staff is focused on providing you with a great experience, so please ask about our wines and if a bottle is open, we will happily let you sample. We also have an ample selection of bottled beers and make a great cappuccino or latte! LIVE MUSIC!!.... including Jazz, Blues, & Motown can be heard every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. The staff is warm and inviting and we treat you like family. ******SIP INTO SOMETHING COMFORTABLE AT THE ORANGE HOUSE******
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped into The Orange House Wine bar and loved it immediately. Ruth and Bob are so sweet and attentive and the atmosphere is lovely. We stayed for a little bit of jazz music and thoroughly enjoyed it. We also got the hummus and it paired perfectly with our beer and wine. A wonderful spot to grab a drink, listen to music, or to enjoy a small plate! We will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Wow, could not get a better review, we try really hard to make sure everything is welcoming
and the cool jazz stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    21
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great wine, great bites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a nice place for a glass of wine and a small plate. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Ruth knows her wines. The olives and bread with oil and spices were very complementary of our wine. If I lived in Punta Gorda, I would be here 5 days a week because they are closed on Sunday and Monday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bananney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We love that we can impress the out of towners. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go out of their way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stopped in for wine and a small plate and the owners Bob and Ruth were so welcoming and friendly. The wine by the glass selection is fantastic. Got an education on wine and the temps at which it should be served.
Beautiful interior as well as a welcoming porch seating. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, we truly try are hardest to update and keep
are knowledge fresh on food and wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I'm not sure what I can say that I haven't already said in my previous reviews of the orange House, but it just keeps getting better. Ruth's wine knowledge, while already excellent is improving daily and Bob's small plates are still superb. We have taken other couples for their first visit and they are always impressed

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Are customers keep us on track to find and serve the greatest wines we can , Bob in
the kitchen means he is always thinking up new Just A Bite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Orange House Wine Tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice food and wine. Very nice hosts! Had the blue cheese stiffed fish with pastrami wrap-excellent.
Tried 3 different wines. Fun place and the music duo was very entertaining.
We will go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank buenobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for such a lovey report, every time we read we know we are doing somethings
right. Please come back, we are changing all the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orange House Wine Bar also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Orange House Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing