We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't fulfill expectations”

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #26 of 164 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Went with aunt and uncle who said it had recently reopened so no experience from them. Interior needs to be updated - accoustics are terrible (echoy and with many folks it is hard to talk). Menu was good and three of four got the shrimp scampi and we were pleased with the food, other eater had mussells and she was pleased.

But it took forever to get our food and the restaurant had almost empted out before we got the food.

It must be the location, but with five beers and a mixed drink, three shrimp scampi and the mussells the bill hit $100 - ambience inside the restaurant didn't catch it. Now, if there had been room on the decks it might have come closer to that value if speed of food delivery was better.

Our waitress was very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RayMargeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks for your feedback it's how we learn. We have done extensive renovations inside the dining room including removing walls, rebuilding bars, new tables/chairs, wine racks to name, the hotel owns the space so we are working with the physical building, new sunshades and fans have been ordered. We are working on the decor which is a history of Punta Gorda & Hurricane Charley, you will see it go up section by section as pictures are copied/framed etc. We are a newbie and still working out the kinks, we're meeting daily to improve and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,117 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The staff were great, nice location, food just OK - probably depends on what you order. We had shrimp po-boy and fish and chips.

Thank sparky3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your feedback, it's how we learn. We hope you will visit again soon, we want to wow you with the food & service. We're a work in progress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Service was a bit slow but atmosphere and quality of food made up for it. I will be bringing my friends. I think they do not take reservations but we got in pretty quickly. This is a new restaurant in a tired building but it has lots of atmosphere right on the water.

Thank paul75hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We're now taking reservations 941-575-0062. We appreciate your time and feedback! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had lunch on Feb 23 the food and service were excellent. Our waitress Brittany was very attentive and did a great job. I highly recommend this great grill with the super view of Charlotte Harbor.

1  Thank Larry21651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you back at Charley's soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

To be candid, we have not eaten a meal here yet. We did stop for drinks with friends and found when paying the bill that my plastic cup of draft stout (10-12 oz at most) cost $8. We will try the restaurant when the tourist season is over, but if that is their pricing structure, we won't be back.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Duane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We hear you and will offer Happy Hour prices & special drink prices in the coming months. We have also ordered nicer stemware for the outside, still plastic (that's a must) but looks like the real thing. You may have ordered a craft beer, we no longer offer anything that expensive, all our craft beer which includes ipa's and stouts are at $6, domestics are $3. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing