We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit outside and enjoy the view!”

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #12 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sit outside and enjoy the view!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Met my daughter for lunch and had great service. They had a special Father's day fare with BBQ and it was a good value. Her small Caesar salad and personal cheese pizza was a little weak. The drink prices would seem to be a little heavier but not too bad with the nice bar and TVs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your feedback and your business. We hope you will take advantage of our happy hour which is M-F 2pm to 6pm. We also have a new summer menu which offers many of our regular items at slightly smaller portions and a value price. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    343
    142
    55
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stinky, loud, stinky”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

As soon as you walk inside to get a table you can smell, smell! Like bad oil, grease on the floors. Service took 10 min before we were even asked what to drink. The smell was to much, so we left. Out side might be ok. But if it smells on the inside I don't even want to see what the kitchen looks like. Ew

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hmmm, I don't know what to say. I was there myself several times since July 3rd and found the marble floor to be sparkling and noticed no odor despite the heavy traffic of the holiday weekend. We've also had several reviews which noted the cleanliness of the building. I will be sure to ask the manager to check for your observations today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Party Bash!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We recently celebrated our mothers surprise 90th birthday at Hurricane Charley's with approximately 50 plus family members and friends. The staff was very attentive, friendly and even helped us with decorating- above and beyond! What a great place to have a group event. Bob, the manager was always close by and checking in on us to make sure things were running smoothly. He really helped us pull off a great celebration and family reunion!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tripnfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind comments. We're honored you chose us to share your mothers 90th birthday. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Scenic and fun”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Since new ownership took over I would recommend this place to everyone. The drinks and quick in getting placed in front of you, the food is very well done and the appetizers/bar food is yummy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy-kay3841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind comments. We've been working hard to bring something fun and new to Punta Gorda and still have many things to do. We hope you will return soon and enjoy a sunset with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place in PG.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a mini reunion here while on vacation from NY. About 15 or so in our party and even with only one server we never had to ask for anything more. The food & atmosphere are in a word,great! I have to give special thanks to Nina,she is friendly and very helpful. Thanks Nina and thanks Charlie's a great time had by all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure and an honor to be part of your family celebration. We hope you will return soon to Hurricane Charley's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing