We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Food with a View”

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #13 of 161 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yummy Food with a View”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided on a bit of a whim to try Hurricane Charley's and are glad we did! It is a bit rustic - wooden deck with a "tiki hut" ceiling - and sits right on the Peace River. Our server Rachel was knowledgeable regarding the drinks (we didn't order the 32 ounce Bacardi Bucket drinks) and menu. We started with pina colada, margarita, and iced tea; the only negative being the drinks are served in plastic cups. We moved on to starters and had crawdads, oysters, pizza. These were plentiful and delicious. Our main dishes were fish tacos, tuna and a Caesar salad with an abundance of anchovies, and grilled veggie wrap. The fish tacos were finished with a cilantro yogurt sauce and were accompanied with red beans and rice. The tuna was cooked perfectly and finished with an asian sauce. The spinach wrap was stuffed with grilled veggies. We had perfectly acceptable house chardonnay and cabernet for our main course. Although the attentive Rachel offered dessert we were too full. The live entertainment although a bit loud was enjoyable.

We left the restaurant and stepped directly on the Harborwalk for an after meal stroll.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and learn from our customers. We hope you return soon to Hurricane Charley's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    327
    136
    54
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place but it could do better.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I went to try it out after reading the reviews. I was really in the mood for oysters and the waitress said they ran out. It was 6pm. Oh well i guess it can happen. Food and atmosphere is good along with the view. The staffing could do some improvments. Our waitress read us 1 special for today while the other tables were read 2-3 specials for the day. Food was good, other than noting have oysters, the place was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hpolo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback & hope you will return again soon. Our apologies re. the oysters. We purchase our clams & oysters fresh so they are not always available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our local favorites”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have found after a few visits the consistency of very good food and service is the norm for Hurricane Charley's. The location is one of the best we have experienced anywhere, watching the sunset over Charlotte Harbor is absolutely amazing while enjoying an excellent meal. We have sampled a variety of appetizers and entrée's never being disappointed.
The Staff we have encountered are very friendly and efficient in their service.
Our most recent visit Lori was our server she done a very good job, was attentive and our wait was for food service was short even thought the restaurant was busy on a Saturday night.
We must say Good Job to Erica she is part of the Management team and you can always find her walking through interacting with guest ensuring our needs are being attended to and she will be found helping Staff with delivering food or clearing tables.
We are very satisfied to find a great place like Hurricane Charley's in our home town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate you feedback and pleased you enjoyed your visit. We'll be sure to compliment Lori & Erica, they do a great job. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The gouda chicken mac-and-cheese is excellent”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went here for a family dinner on a Saturday night. We got inside seating near a window since it was a little too hot to eat outside.

The server, Aleta, was very attentive and she got all of our dinners correct: I asked for no tomatoes or mushrooms, my nephew asked for no tomatoes, and so on. The pace of the dinner was just right.

I had the Gouda Chicken Mac-and-Cheese (penne pasta). I wasn't sure what to expect, but it turned out to be very good. It even came with 2 pieces of garlic bread. :)

And of course, the view of the Peace River is excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHoaglandFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to compliment Aleta, she's a favorite at Hurricane Charley's. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy customers”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Although they went through some growing pains when they opened I think they have it together now. I really love the fish tacos. My husband loves the raw oysters. Love the atmosphere and we have been Lucky to see dolphins feeding about 4 pm the last few times we have been there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind comments. We hope we will return soon and we're glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing