We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really has gone downhill” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really has gone downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in February 2014 for 2 nights. Had reserved King room in renovated section. On checking in the desk clerk confirmed my reservation type and gave me the keys to the room. After walking down a very long hallway and turning past another 6 or 7 rooms with all our luggage in tow, we came to our room, a queen, non renovated room. We called from the room and the desk staff said they had given us that room because the one we reserved was not ready. They could have told us that before having us carry all our items. The desk staff seemed put out that we really wanted the room we reserved and paid for. So after trekking all the way back to the front desk we were given a key to a king renovated room that had miraculously been made ready. The second day there, our room was not cleaned. Called the front desk and was told that housekeeping had gone for the day. I said that was not good enough and asked what they were going to do. The front desk person very snottily said "What do you want . . . Towels". I said no, I wanted a clean room. A manager must have heard the exchange and came over and said they have a night housekeeping person who will work on your room. (Thought bubble was why didn't they offer this the before) I said fine, I will wait outside at a picnic table and have someone tell me when the room is done. No one came. After an hour, we went back to the room. The bed was made. No trash pickup, no freshening. As an aside, the chair in the room was modern, but very uncomfortable. We have stayed in this hotel (under various names since 2001). No longer will we be a repeat customer.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated section if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B-K-Tacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    137
    93
    58
    76
See reviews for
122
187
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived early and the two young people at the front desk went out of their way to accomodate us. We were not happy with the first two rooms they assigned us, right by the laundry and too near the parking lot. They gave us a room on the second floor that had just been renovated. It was large, clean and comfortable. There was a complimentary breakfast every morning with waffles, hot and cold cereal, pasteries, bagels and a different type of eggs and meat each day. The pool was clean and well maintained and the hotel is located directly on the Harbor Walk which is the main pedestrian artery in town. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are $20.00 more per night but the view is fantastic. If you get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you visit us again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The towels were large and very clean and the tv worked fine.

The staff was not courteous, and actually rude, the elevator appeared to be the freight one, breakfast was very slim, plates were no longer available for breakfast and would not be restocked, and the breakfast area was in front of 2 large sliding doors so that every time the doors opened your napkins flew off the table. All in all I was extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to understand that a city view may mean a view of the parking lot with dumpsters and not a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, the elevator has been renovated. This tourist season was very difficult for us as we were in the middle of renovations and all staff was practically brand new. We look forward to next season going much smoother.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

It was easy to find this hotel, and there was plenty of available parking. Our room was well appointed, with refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, large flat-screen TV, and work area for laptop. The room smelled fresh and the king bed was comfortable. The location is great! One can walk to town, or along the waterfront. The complimentary breakfast offered many choices and was well above average.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you stay again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Desk staff was surly and thuggish. The whole hotel was shabby and unkempt. Rooms were dirty and smelly. We returned to our room in the evening to discover that although the cleaning staff had taken the tip, the room had not been cleaned. We tried to call the desk several times to complain and with no answer. Went down to complain and get coffee for the next morning, which the cleaning staff neglected to leave, and we were met with overt hostility. Two nights in a row, the halls reeked of marijuana.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sallie1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Unfriendly staff,bad rooms,I changed rooms 5 times in a 2 weeks period.all rooms awfull.not cleaned. Motel over booked so they kept moving people to different rooms. Motel in bankrupt mode so management does't care about customer service,they just need the money.breakfast only good thing it has right.if you get a room with a harbor view that is nice. Will never stay there with current manager,she is not friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We have searched our system high and low for a Kent K, we have no records of you staying in this hotel during that time unless you used a different name. Also, someone with 5 room moves in 2 weeks at some point I would imagine the situation would have been brought to my attention. If for some reason the room was not in your name please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is undergoing renovations, I had the pleasant opportunity of staying in the...."old part".
I had a leak in my bathroom that was causing the floor in the shower area to get wet. I reported the problem in the morning and when I returned later that night the floor was still wet,,, I was ignored.

After switching rooms I went to find a plug near the bed to plug in my cell phone, the only available one, behind the bed, was coming out of the wall showing exposed bare wires. The area behind the bed was filthy, obviously not cleaned in months/years. While walking next to the bed my foot kicked out an empty water bottle from under the comforter, left from the previous guest. There was, what appeared to me, to be mold in the bathtub area along the wall.

I needed to to laundry, when I went to the 2nd floor guest laundry the washer was half full of nasty water and an "out of order' sign posted on the machine. I went there a couple of days later,,, still not fixed, still half full of dirty water.

A old tube TV from the 1990's adorned the room. The paint in the hallways and elevator area was chipped off, lights above the breakfast eating area burned out. I went to use the guest computers one afternoon and the computers were not working.

The mattress in the first room I stayed in was so worn out that it almost sunk to the ground when I first sat in it.

It appeared this hotel had a serious maintenance problem. While renovating one area, the other area was totally neglected. I do not appreciate paying over 100 dollars a night for the area thats awaiting the renovations. IMO this place is a dump, I have stayed in other hotels for 50 dollars less a night that puts this place to shame.

The only positive I can think of is the location, it is right next to the harbor. I was visiting family and brought them by the hotel and into my room one afternoon and they were shocked at the condition of the hotel for the price that was being charged,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank huntbeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 300 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3620
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterfront Hotel Punta Gorda
Best Western Hotel Waterfront
Best Western Punta Gorda
Punta Gorda Best Western
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites Punta Gorda, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing