We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al H”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Terrible experience in hotel. Booked sea view and got the parking lot. Asked the evening clerk for an adjustment which she agreed to. I should have got it in writing. when I checked out in the morning at 9:15 no adjustment. When I explained the issue the morning clerk said I would have to wait 45min for the mgr to show up and make a decision. Since I had an appointment I could not wait. The place was jumping if your not going to have a supervisor on duty empower your people.
Also teh place was a dump

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel because our Allegiant flight home was cancelled (after 6 hrs. In the airport) and a local person told us it had recently been renovated. The hall carpet was very worn, the floors in the elevator were raw exposed wood. The room was so crowded with furniture, which was way too big for the room, that my husband and and I could not walk around the room at the same time, but the worst part was the soggy carpet where the windows were leaking so badly it splashed when we stepped in front of the windows. The breakfast area was in the lobby where the automatic doors were constantly opening. The wind was blowing very hard so every time the door opened a gust of wind blew through. Once it was so strong it blew my breakfast off the table. I will say that the bed was a very good bed. Not a nice experience, don't recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The location of this hotel is on the Charlotte Harbor. The views are amazing! We had an updated room with King bed, fridge and microwave. The bed was comfy, the furniture was really nice and modern. The amenities were a bit strange and mismatching but no biggie, I always bring my own. Bring your own pool towel. Hurricane Charley's is attached and it is really fun. This is right on the water and you really have to see the amazing sunset on Charlotte Harbor! They do have some sort of breakfast in the lobby every morning, coffee is good.

Room Tip: We were in 147 - right by the pool and the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We have received the pool towel samples and have chosen the pool towel that we want, upon your next visit, we will have plenty of HUGE pool towels available!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We selected this hotel based on some nice reviews about the customer service, what a joke! The manager is very unprofessional, told us things he never should've shared like that they were over booked by 20 rooms! We paid extra for a waterfront view but our room was smokey and NOT facing the water. When we went to the desk they struggled to find any other rooms for us. Finally the manager put us in an unfinished suite. Sounds great but it was just big and dusty. The entire floor was under construction day and night! No mirror in the bathroom to put our contacts in/out or shave, internet doesn't work in the rooms and barely in the "lobby", TV was fuzzy. And the hotel has one working elevator that has a plywood floor so you ride up and down with the construction equipment! They were scrambling the last day to put beds in 20 rooms to accommodate a baseball team so that was a whole fiasco! We're from Michigan and were especially disappointed that the hotel is owned by a Michigan company. Seriously, don't waste your money! There are much nicer, reasonably priced hotels in that area.

Room Tip: Confirm your EXACT room before you arrive and be clear if you do not want a smoking room. They must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in February 2014 for 2 nights. Had reserved King room in renovated section. On checking in the desk clerk confirmed my reservation type and gave me the keys to the room. After walking down a very long hallway and turning past another 6 or 7 rooms with all our luggage in tow, we came to our room, a queen, non renovated room. We called from the room and the desk staff said they had given us that room because the one we reserved was not ready. They could have told us that before having us carry all our items. The desk staff seemed put out that we really wanted the room we reserved and paid for. So after trekking all the way back to the front desk we were given a key to a king renovated room that had miraculously been made ready. The second day there, our room was not cleaned. Called the front desk and was told that housekeeping had gone for the day. I said that was not good enough and asked what they were going to do. The front desk person very snottily said "What do you want . . . Towels". I said no, I wanted a clean room. A manager must have heard the exchange and came over and said they have a night housekeeping person who will work on your room. (Thought bubble was why didn't they offer this the before) I said fine, I will wait outside at a picnic table and have someone tell me when the room is done. No one came. After an hour, we went back to the room. The bed was made. No trash pickup, no freshening. As an aside, the chair in the room was modern, but very uncomfortable. We have stayed in this hotel (under various names since 2001). No longer will we be a repeat customer.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated section if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-K-Tacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived early and the two young people at the front desk went out of their way to accomodate us. We were not happy with the first two rooms they assigned us, right by the laundry and too near the parking lot. They gave us a room on the second floor that had just been renovated. It was large, clean and comfortable. There was a complimentary breakfast every morning with waffles, hot and cold cereal, pasteries, bagels and a different type of eggs and meat each day. The pool was clean and well maintained and the hotel is located directly on the Harbor Walk which is the main pedestrian artery in town. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are $20.00 more per night but the view is fantastic. If you get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope you visit us again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The towels were large and very clean and the tv worked fine.

The staff was not courteous, and actually rude, the elevator appeared to be the freight one, breakfast was very slim, plates were no longer available for breakfast and would not be restocked, and the breakfast area was in front of 2 large sliding doors so that every time the doors opened your napkins flew off the table. All in all I was extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to understand that a city view may mean a view of the parking lot with dumpsters and not a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, the elevator has been renovated. This tourist season was very difficult for us as we were in the middle of renovations and all staff was practically brand new. We look forward to next season going much smoother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 8 in Punta Gorda
674 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Charlotte, FL
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 300 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3620
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £53 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterfront Hotel Punta Gorda
Best Western Hotel Waterfront
Best Western Punta Gorda
Punta Gorda Best Western
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites Punta Gorda, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing