We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great water view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great water view”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel from February 24, 2014 to March 1, 2014 so that I could go to the hook-in sponsored by the Searsport Rug Hooking Shop in Maine. We had a waterfront room on the main level so we had a door that went out to a small patio with a couple of chairs so we could sit and look at the water. The hook-in was just next door so I was able to take the harbor walk and was there in minutes. About a mile the other direction on the harbor walk was the fisherman's village with lots of shops and restaurants. When we arrived they had us down for reservations for only two nights though I made them for five, but they corrected that for us. Our room was one of the renovated ones so it was fine. The breakfast was fine, too. It was nice not having to go to a restaurant for at least one meal a day.

Room Tip: Get a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    145
    95
    63
    86
See reviews for
137
197
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The internet was down the entire weekend. The towels placed in our room were damp! The free breakfast ran out of eggs at 9:00 and the food quality was poor...containers were dirty. Although the view was pretty, we went to the pool area and there were only 6 lounge chairs, for 180 guests! The place has some potential but they need to start but putting a cordial and welcoming person at the front desk! She was nasty and making comments under her breath. Four Points was a better overall experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 595christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have subsequently made dramatic changes in the pool area, we have built 2 new gazebos and added 30 brand new chairs and chase lounges as well as many umbrellas. I think by this time next year you will notice a completely different hotel, including our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Siara was very helpful in getting our room ready since we arrived early! The hotel is located right on the water and the "water view" rooms actually have a direct view for the most part. You don't have to lean way over the balcony to see the water. It's right there! We'd definitely go back and Hurricane Charley's is attached with great, reasonably priced food and cocktails. Wonderful service there as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked the Waterfront in a blind "fingers crossed" situation as we took a trip to see family down the road. We booked an oceanfront room and checked in rather late on our first night at around 12:30am. The night clerk, Melissa was at the front desk.

Our spirits sank when she told us our room wasn't saved and we wouldn't get the view we had booked. She immediately made an executive customer service decision for the win and gave us an oceanfront suite. She explained that the hotel was still in the middle of renovations and it was clear the front desk was quiet but, slightly disorganized. We were skeptical but, wowed at our room. Modern amenities including two balconies, a plexiglass jacuzzi in the living room with flat screen as well as shower, king bed, microwave, coffeemaker and fridge. Our romantic home two hours away from home!

Not to mention the location is central to the adorable historic district complete with shops and a decent selection of restaurants right on the main drag of Marion Ave. We walked everywhere.

Melissa is clearly operating under difficult transition and construction situations but, she went out of our way to make us comfortable and we truly appreciate her for that. We had a terrific stay without overwhelming the family or stressing ourselves out. Will certainly book again.

Room Tip: Haven't seen the other new rooms but they are very clean and turn-down service is perfect. Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for an extended period of time as we are house hunting. We are truly enjoying our stay here. The hotel is under renovation but the General Manager and his staff make it so that you would hardly notice. The rooms are roomy and clean and the beds are comfortable. Everyone is so friendly, from the front desk staff to the housekeepers and maintenance workers. The sunsets are fabulous and we love the convenience of walking into town. Complimentary breakfast is available daily with a nice variety of items from which to choose. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends. R&R

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We really loved having you guys stay here with us, and we're looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Terrible experience in hotel. Booked sea view and got the parking lot. Asked the evening clerk for an adjustment which she agreed to. I should have got it in writing. when I checked out in the morning at 9:15 no adjustment. When I explained the issue the morning clerk said I would have to wait 45min for the mgr to show up and make a decision. Since I had an appointment I could not wait. The place was jumping if your not going to have a supervisor on duty empower your people.
Also teh place was a dump

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel because our Allegiant flight home was cancelled (after 6 hrs. In the airport) and a local person told us it had recently been renovated. The hall carpet was very worn, the floors in the elevator were raw exposed wood. The room was so crowded with furniture, which was way too big for the room, that my husband and and I could not walk around the room at the same time, but the worst part was the soggy carpet where the windows were leaking so badly it splashed when we stepped in front of the windows. The breakfast area was in the lobby where the automatic doors were constantly opening. The wind was blowing very hard so every time the door opened a gust of wind blew through. Once it was so strong it blew my breakfast off the table. I will say that the bed was a very good bed. Not a nice experience, don't recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
636 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 300 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3620
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterfront Hotel Punta Gorda
Best Western Hotel Waterfront
Best Western Punta Gorda
Punta Gorda Best Western
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites Punta Gorda, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing