We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Reviewed 6 May 2014

was very nice beautiful sunset every night staff was great at hotel and bar will be going back over the 4th of july. not to far from home and also there is a lot to do in pgi we had so much fun we stayed another night

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you July 4th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

On our last day of vacation, we stayed at the Waterfront to be closer to RSW in the morning. My husband, 5 year old daughter and I had BRAND new double bed room looking out at the water. Room was beautiful! Being our last day of vacation, we were disappointed in the weather but the onsite restaurant was fun and good entertainment for all! The hotel is undergoing major renovations and looks great. Pool area was large and we even enjoyed a late night swim after the rain ceased. I would stay here again as there is easy access to a city walk, park and fisherman's village.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyj442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed at PG Waterfront a few times over t he past couple of years. Hurricane Charlie did a number on the hotel and it's still under renovation. This trip was a 4-day stay there and I was assigned one of the renovated rooms. It was nice, clean, and had a view of Gilchrest part and Charlotte harbor. The windows could use a good cleaning. The hotel in general is average for the area. Since I was on the 4th floor I took the ancient elevator most of the time. It needs renovation. The pool area was clean and chairs were always available. It was never crowded. The breakfast in the morning was mediocre at best and seating was very limited. It continues to be a disappointment. Maybe they will renovate it eventually. Overall, an average visit. I might give it a higher rating if they fixed the breakfast area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a view of the harbor. Ask for one, or ask for an upgrade to the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes, we are still renovating but we are ALOT closer than we have ever been! We plan on finishing the lobby in September and then we will be done. We are still debating on what to do about our breakfast and the only way to address the windows up there are to replace them as the problem is in between the two window panes and that decision will be left to ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed here for my birthday plus a day. We had a room overlooking the bay. The room was very updated and clean. We sat out on the balcony each night and watched the sunset The staff was friendly and helpful. I will agree with the other reviews about the breakfast area being small. However the rest of the accommodations were very good. I definitely would stay here again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sandie45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Recently back from 4 days staying at this hotel. As previously mentioned on this site, this hotel is a work in progress, We were allocated a room on the 4th floor and stayed there one night when we realized that the phone was not working. Since we were expecting some calls this was not convenient. They tried to fix the phone but it was the phone line. We were offered another room on the 5th floor which we took, and moved ourselves upstairs. Overall the front desk personnel were helpful, IF you could find one. They were usually outside smoking, and chatting with each other. This is 100% smoke free hotel, yet they smoke right outside, and the front doors were always opening and smoke came into the reception area which also is used for the breakfast area. This area is far too small to use as a breakfast area. It is often crowded, the food is terrible, and nobody wipes the tables clean between guests. Staff also eat and drink from the breakfast buffet! Wifi is very spasmodic, you can be using the computer for a few minutes, then its gone again, unless you are downstairs in the lobby. The 'renovated' rooms all have their problems. The bathroom is tiny, the door opens onto the shower curtain rail, and when taking a shower the water pools around the edge of the bath and then down to the floor. The closet is awkward to use, our sliding doors kept falling off the track, and its not deep enough for the coat hangers, plus there are not enough coat hangers. Luckily I had taken some of my own.!! The brand new furniture will not last long. Its already got chunks chipped out and will only get worse over time. The telephone in the second room would not work at the desk, only by the side of the bed. The microwave and fridge worked fine. Overall, we regretted our decision to stay in this hotel, and will never return. The only good thing about it was the view.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindylou50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In spite of the negative reviews about the hotel we stayed for several nights because of the price and location. We were very surprised at the quality of the rooms, restaurant, lobby, etc. They were far better than we expected. I gave a 4 rating only because there is still some construction going on. Once completed, assuming it is done a well as what's been done so far, I would expect it to be a 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u-p-hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope you choose us again for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

4/14 - 4-18 We stayed in one of the renovated rooms. The lighting in the room is very limited. liked the extra area for putting on makeup or drying hair. Took the stairs most of the time due to they only have one elevator. The pool looks very nice, we did not get a chance to use it. The breakfasts were not to bad, it is still a work in progress, they need to get rid of the chairs by the TV and add more tables. the coffee is good too. Beds were comfortable. Could use more hangers. The water leaked on the floor after taking a shower in the corner.
Wish there was a safe in the room and would be nice to have a workout room.
It was great having the restaurant/bar connected to hotel. They had entertainment every night.
We used a coupon from the hotelcoupon.com book. We will stay again. I am sure the renovations will be done by then.

Room Tip: view over the park and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrentSeguin, General Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
659 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 300 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3620
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £48 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterfront Hotel Punta Gorda
Best Western Hotel Waterfront
Best Western Punta Gorda
Punta Gorda Best Western
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites Punta Gorda, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing