We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Edge Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Strawberry Hill(Kingston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa(Blue Mountains National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Prestige(Kingston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Christar Villas(Kingston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Hotel(Kingston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indies Hotel(Kingston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
70
20
5
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
20
5
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mountainsmount edgeguest housethe ownerplace to staylaid backmichael foxmy friendlove this placebeautiful settinganother guestcoffee farmkingstonrastaroadrobynviews
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Mount Edge Guest House is a wonderful place to stay! I am so happy that we were able to find the place. We were only able to spend two nights there but would love to come back because of the people, the view and the peaceful environment. The people who work here really make a difference. The cook Robert made some of the best food we had on the trip, along with the sauces that Bermise (sp?) made and Joy. Micke also is a very kind man and he provided us with rides to the local Coffee plantation and elsewhere. Robyn and Michael run a great business and are very kind, helpful and knowledgable people. Each room has a beautiful and I would love to go back when the yoga room is up and running. There is plenty to do like relaxing, going hiking, checking out the coffee plantation and going into Kingston. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AubreeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at the Mount Edge Guest House in the Blue Mountains two weeks ago and it was a truly fabulous experience. We were staying in the 'View' room. The name tells it all: we have never ever stayed in a room with such a stunning mountain view. Both from our large king size bed and our private terrace we had an open view over the Blue mountains and the valley. The rooms all seem pretty basic but the place really oozes charm.

Staying at Mount Edge makes you feel one with nature. Every morning at sunrise, we hiked down through their organic farm to the mountain river and waterfalls for a swim which was truly invigorating. When back at the guest house, a delicious breakfast (cooked to order by their amazing chef Rob with ingredients from their own farm) was awaiting us. We did a couple of great hikes (check out the 'Jamaica Tour Society' for great daytrips/tours/hikes) in the mountains but also used the guesthouse as our base for visits to Kingston (a bit far, but doable). Every time we returned it felt like coming home. Robyn and Michael (daughter and father running the guest house) asked us about our day, Rob, the chef came to ask what we fancied for dinner and so great nights unfolded...

Also when you don't plan any activities during the day, this place is a wonderful retreat to just relax. They have a couple of great decks and terraces where you could read one of the books or magazines from their nice little library. The place also has a well working WiFi connection (something not easy to find in such remote places in Jamaica). The place is high up in the mountains which guarantees a gentle and breezy climate all year round. So, ideally located to escape the sometimes oppressing Kinston heat.

All in all, Mount Edge Guest House is an amazing hideaway, the perfect place to unwind in a ridiculously beautiful setting and in great company. Before we arrived we thought "what will we do there high up in the mountains all by ourselves", but by the end of our stay we wanted to stay for another week...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Robyn and Michael run such a wonderful guesthouse!!! My husband and I had an amazing time retreating up in the blue mountains. Everything about our stay was absolutely perfect! We stayed in the "view" room and it definitely had a spectacular view! We sat on the little balcony and read for hours, it was so calm and peaceful. The room was very clean and we slept really well. Sharing a bathroom was no issue at all as it was right outside our door. We didn't use the wifi but they had it available for free if you are interested. They are building a yoga deck and spa room which would be a perfect place for a retreat. They also had a restaurant connected, EITS, which serves delicious food at a discounted rate for it's lodging guests. Some of the best food I've eaten!

There isn't a fitness room but there is a yoga deck and hiking trails so I checked excellent. Location is excellent if you are looking for a peaceful retreat/getaway.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the View room, it is amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Mount Edge was recommended to us last minute and after the long drive from Port Antonio through Buff Bay, Mount Edge appeared to us like an oasis. The restaurant saved our tummies! Each room is unique and corresponds to its nickname like the revolution or vibes room. Our room was right on the cliff side and had both breathtaking view and lovely art work on display from local and renowned artists alike. The room was clean and neat, the staff was always accessible making our stay very pleasant.

Would stay there again and refer family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My girlfriend and I visited this wonderful place as we had heard about it from some good friends who had loved it. Our lovely and comfortable room had an incredible view of the valley, mountains and kingston. We would sit and drink coffee every morning in contemplation of the magnificent view, as it is impossible to get enough. The staff was really friendly and attentive - Michael and Robin are excellent hosts, and will ensure you have a good time and make the most of the wonderful local activities. The food is excellent, and all the ingredients are grown on the farm so everything is extremely healthy and natural. A wonderful time, and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews