We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, but minimal breakfast”
Review of Allison House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allison House Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Quincy B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely house, but minimal breakfast”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We wanted to visit Tallahassee, but decided to stay outside in a smaller town. We were with friends, and wanted a decent dinner, and were sent to 'the best place in town,' where most things were fried.
Our rooms were large and beautiful, but there was no parlor to sit with our friends and chat, so we perched on straight chairs in the dining room. We looked forward to breakfast, as we saw glowing reviews prominently displayed. Imagine our disappointment when we were served our choice of pastries and a little fruit. It was the plainest and smallest breakfast I've ever had in a B&B. But served elegantly with antique place settings!
I would not especially recommend this place. Apart from the decor, it just seemed a bit half-hearted.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed at 5 B&B's during our 3 week vacation. Allison House Inn was easily Number 4 of the five. The innkeeper, Stuart Johnson could not have been less welcoming, gracious and interesting. We got vague directions for a dinner spot, that worked out OK. There was a seasonal thunderstorm, and when we returned from dinner, the power was out at the Inn. We kept our door open, so that the hotel type emergency lights would illiminate our room. Our inkeeper was nowhere to be seen. Finally, when the emergency lights gave out, I knocked on his door, and asked for a flashlight. He gave me his flashlight and his cat . The power came on about 11:30. We had learned that breakfast was normally at 8 AM, but it was Sunday morning and we were the only guests, so Mr. Johnston agreed to 9 AM. Breakfast the next morning was remarkably ordinary, despite the wonderful decor of the room. Mr. Johnston graced us with his presence for a few minutes. We finished the tastless "Swedish" pancakes and left without further ado.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midicruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuMGB, Owner at Allison House Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Because of a power outage we do have lanterns in the guest rooms and I wrongly assumed you were using it and didn't want to disturb you. While you were asking for a flashlight, our cat inadvertantly escaped from our apartment due to the excitement. At breakfast time I will chat with our guests but am keenly aware that sometimes they wish to be left alone. I made a mistake in your case. Again, I apologize for any shortcomings during your stay, as our many reviews on Bed&Breakfast.com reflect as different picture. Thank yu for sharing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We had a lovely experience staying at the Allison House Inn in Quincy, FL. The accommodations were nice and clean, the furnishings and history of the inn were interesting and the breakfasts was delicious. The innkeeper was very pleasant and informative, also. Hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuMGB, Owner at Allison House Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
Thank you for kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and hope you will return. Again, thank you for saying at the Allison House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Four of us returned from a weekend at the Allison house in Quincy Florida. When I read it on the internet it said historic town. What is should have said is the town is history and there is no place to eat except fast food restaurants. It was my husbands and my 38th aniversay and my girlfriend and her husband came with with us and were expecting a nice restaurant to eat dinner.
We walked in the door and were immediately asked for our credit cards. The owner didn't even ask our names. No tour about the house, even though Governer Allison of Florida lived there. No pamplets on where to eat or tour, etc. No living room to sit and chat. I asked for hot water for all the teabags they had out in the dining room and was refused. Soda and water in the refrigerator was the response or sherry which we don't drink on the side table. We never occupied a B and B where the owners lived on the premises, I don't know if any do or not but we never came accross any. The yard is unacommadating with a cement table and benches all lobsided and one wood bench and a swing in a tree which if I sat on would have broken the branch of the tree.
We really had a lousy experience and this is our 7th B and B.
I wouldn't recommend this place unless you are just passing through to sleep.

  • Liked — the room we were in was nice
  • Disliked — the owners were unaccomodating
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank missscarlett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Perhaps the biggest problem here was noisy trucks rumbling by early in the AM. Also, we do not think we were given the room we actually reserved, although it may have been roughly equivalent.

Many B&Bs make a big deal about their breakfasts, which usually are overpriced--not that it's a separate line item-- and served too late for my taste. At Allison House, considering that the breakfast was just cold items (during the week), it could have been put out early as a buffet for folks who like to start their touring early in the day. And the coffee! Tepid brown water. The owner was showing his Minnesota roots.

To end on a positive note, the owner was friendly and helpful and decor was nice in a typical B&B way.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — weak coffee
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Frogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 February 2005

The Allison House Bed and Breakfast was a wonderfully romantic and quaint place to stay. The rooms were beautifully decorated. We had everything we needed. The host and his wife were delightful and helpful. We will definitely stay there when we are back in the Quincy, FL area.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuMGB, Owner at Allison House Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
Thank you for your fine comments on the Allison House Inn, Quincy, FL. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#1 of 2 in Quincy
276 reviews
12.0 mi away
Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Midway Florida
15.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#32 of 58 in Tallahassee
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
17.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#16 of 58 in Tallahassee
696 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Quincy I-10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Inn

Property: Allison House Inn
Address: 215 N Madison St, Quincy, FL 32351-2444
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Quincy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Allison House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House Inn, Quincy, FL is an English-style Bed and Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Quincy, FL historic district. There are six well decorated guest rooms with baths ensuite. We have all the amenities of a three star/three diamond facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allison House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing