We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice property and inn keepers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of McFarlin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McFarlin House
Ranked #1 of 4 Quincy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice property and inn keepers”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Richard was there to greet us when we arrived at 10:30 pm, having been delayed. We opted for late breakfast the next morning and it was served at large dining room table with china, crystal and silver. Lovely setting with poinsettia placemats under the glass protecting the huge table, which would seat 12. Two other small tables seating four are in the more than spacious dining room.
Antiques and parts of the owners collections of china, crystal and silver fill the other common and bedrooms. We stayed in the ground floor sports memorabilia room, devoted to old time baseball - not my thing, but comfortable and interesting.
Enjoyed reading about the house in the book in the room.
Will visit again when we go to Tallahassee. Beats a cookie cutter hotel any day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdallen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
56
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the McFarlin house during parent's weekend at Florida State. It is about 25 minutes from the city in a tiny town. The neighbor hood is filled with Spanish-moss tree lined streets and Victorian mansions. It is beautiful, quaint, and so southern. The McFariln house is a huge mansion filled with antiques and original woodwork and fixtures. It has a "rocking char porch" which we sat on to hear the crickets at night. The host are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast delicious. Our room was large with a canopy bed and a claw foot tub. We were very comfortable and pleased with the whole experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the Gentlemen's Room, which was very comfortable. The bed was great and had a bathroom added to one corner of the room. I have never seen so much baseball memorabilia! We are not particularly interested in baseball, but it was interesting. Breakfast was wonderful. I couldn't eat the waffles since I am diabetic, but there was plenty of fruit and Richard graciously made some toast at my request. We will be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are described on their website, so you will know what size bed, etc. you are gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed in the Gentleman's Room. Very comfortable,nice bed, nice bathroom, but wasn't particularly interested in the "Basebal" motif. I spent some time walking around the beautiful neighborhood and enjoyed it very much. I also had a relaxing hour or so on the porch during the evening.

I went to eat at the West End Grill, which had good food, but the service and appearance of the place leaves something to be desired.

By far my favorite part of the visit was just talking with Richard at breakfast and the breakfast itself was great too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwen39532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the McFarlin House and it won't be our last. Richard and Tina are wonderful hosts. We always enjoy the chats with Richard and this time we got to share a conversation with Tina over breakfast. The Inn is quiet and a nice respite from all the goings on in Tallahassee and our campus visits to FSU to see our son. We highly recommend the McFarlin House B&B to anyone looking to "go back in time" or simply to get away from life in the City. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noble, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I decided to spend our 10th anniversary weekend at a bed and breakfast. I searched for one that was local but not too close. I found the McFarlin House in Quincy, just 40 miles from my house. We made our reservations and immediately, I was emailed so that Richard could make our weekend perfect. He asked all the right questions and met us at the door. We immediately felt at home and spent the whole weekend in a beautiful, quiet spot being spoiled by the wonderful food and rich history of this house. We are now planning to have a vow renewal at this location.

Room Tip: We had the roses and ribbons room and it was gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Owners very helpful and willing to do anything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We really enjoyed the house and bedroom which was the gentlemen's quarter's. Bed was very comfortable and nice bathroom.

Had the opportunity to check the other rooms and would recommend any of them.

Breakfast was excellent. Owners are flexible with the serving times which was nice.

Enjoyed our visit so much, we are planning another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
17.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
11.8 mi away
Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Midway Florida
20.1 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
17.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#20 of 58 in Tallahassee
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allison House Inn
Allison House Inn
#3 of 4 in Quincy
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McFarlin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McFarlin House

Property: McFarlin House
Address: 305 E King St, Quincy, FL 32351-2466
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Quincy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing