We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent half day visit”

East Anglian Railway Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Chappel
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent half day visit”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It doesn't seem to be a very big attraction, but once inside there is a lot for your attention if you are interested in railways. It lacks the quantity of engines that are found in other museums but has a lot to offer.
We particularly liked the signal box and lunch in the carriage.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnboy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a lovely day out,The staff and volunteers were lovely and worked hard to keep everyone away from the edge of the platform.There were 4 trains for the children to go on but the most popular one was Thomas.The Fat Controller and his helpers had little buckets filled with water and were passing them to the children to fill Thomas up which they enjoyed.
The prices in the shop were not to expensive which makes a nice change as over venues are very dear.
A good day out.
The First Aid people were very kind and caring.
Would go back again next year for another visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank watford_girlEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Shame about the track”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went here for a Day Out With Thomas. The staff/volunteers are lovely and work very hard, the place itself is very nice, but it is let down a lot by the lack of track. Had I known how little track there was I would have booked for another venue as it makes for LOTS of waiting around while trains swap over and a not-very-exciting view from the window as you basically just go backwards and forwards up the same piece of track. My daughter still enjoyed herself but I can't help but feel we would have got more for our money at one of the other venues. Also if you want to take buggies on to the platforms you have to lift them up, then down, lots of steps.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very kid friendly, kept amused for over 2 hours.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Sweet little museum which I would probably describe more as a discovery centre then a 'museum' exactly.

Basically you wander around the train yard discovering different areas, for this reason the weather needs to be reasonable to get the best out of it. Not sure it would have been very good if raining.

There is a mouse hunt [find the little toy mouse throughout all the exhibits] and three different I-spy sheets to keep kids focussed. In the furthest display hall there are lots of different interactive displays to do various investigations with. It's been well thought out and should appeal comfortably to most primary aged children.

In the repairs shed we met an engaging mechanic who told us all sorts of fascinating information in a chatty way and got my 7 year old really enthused on some of the railway history. Seems a bit random as to who you will stumble across as it seems to be mostly run by volunteers so there are no real guides to speak of.

We went today specifically because the website had advertised a special 'minirail' day. This was probably the only disappointing bit, as you just go back and forth on a straight bit of track for a couple of minutes for 50p each, nothing special at all really.

Minirail aside, this was a very appealing little museum and it kept my son interested for over 2 hours straight with no complaints. At £7 for 1 adult and 1 child, this was good value for money.

Would certainly recommend for a change of pace at a cheap price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DK1bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots going on”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Took my son on a surprise visit on a Thomas day. He was more than impressed. Although they have limited track they made up for it by having 4 separate trains shunting up and down so even though it was very busy its was possible to have plenty of rides including the miniture one. The fat controller and others were entertaining and the museum itself has some interesting exibits.
We came by train which is a pleasent trip in itself crossing a viaduct in beautiful countryside.
They seem to be lacking steaming days at the moment with the special events being the main activity but perhaps they are lacking volenteers which is a bit of a shame as even a normal steaming would be a fun day out. One for us to return to at some point.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Anglian Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to East Anglian Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing