We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location for business venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmsbu
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for business venue”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

This is the third time I'm staying here for a seminar. The location is beautiful, located about 1 hour south of Oslo, right on the fjord. The surrounding area is excellent for excercise, like jogging, swimming or just walking. The scenery is wonderful and relaxing.
The rooms are OK but nothing above what is to be expected. Some minor details should be pointed out - two out of three lightbulbs in the bathroom were blown when I checked in, and as noone from the sevice dept was on the premesis the recepton said there was nothing to be done that day. Definately not satisfactory.
But, that being said the receptionists were friendly.
As have been mentioned by other posts, the hotel sometimes tend to attract partying people, so I you aim for a relaxing spa weekend, you may have your relaxation and sleep smewhat disturbed by partying people.
My room faced the entrance area, and I had to close the window to be able to sleep.
The food was good, but again, nothing above what should be expected.
All in all, I recomend a stay here, and especially if you manage to avoid the partygoers.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrWhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    94
    47
    32
    8
See reviews for
34
92
2
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed at one of the villas with some friends and had a great time. The house was amacing. It had all we could dream of (except bathing robes)! The breakfast at the hotel was included and had a good variety.

I had a spa treatment which was one of the better I have ever experienced. To bad it held a much higher level than the rest of the spa. The spa area in general is of the cheaper kind. It has an ok pool, but if you want to use the out door pool you need to leave the spa area even though the two pools are only meters apart.

Overall the standard of the spa area and locker room (they are of the same type as you find at public pools) and that children are allowed in the spa area makes the experience of the hotell and spa much less exclusive and relaxing than other hotels of this kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betts_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Overall excellent stay and relaxing. The food was hit and miss. The spa was relaxing. Excellent venue for long walks.

Room Tip: Try and find friends and go to the villas rather than stay in the hotel. Some rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanjane17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Holmsbu is a beautiful resort so close to the water as possible. The surroundings are amazing and so are the rooms and the SPA. We lived at one of the Villas outside and we had splendid view over the coastline. Which enjoyed it a lot especially the fireplace with a glass of wine:)))

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrikbackpack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Came here with my family for one night. We stayed in one of the villas, a three floor white house with three bedrooms and bathrooms! The interior is very welcoming, you feel at home in these nice summer villas. There is a large and delicate kitchen, nice and cozy seating with a fire place in the livingroom and also a big balcony. We had the full-pension, which included entrance to the spa and all of the meals. At saturday night there was a buffet, which made all five of us satisfied with both seafood, meat, salad, fruits and delicious desserts. The Spa is also good, with both indoor and outdoor pool and jacuzzi. All in all a very cozy place for a few days by the sea! As some of the others guest has written below, there are very few who work in the restaurant that speaks norwegian, but we did find them very service-minded.

Room Tip: If you want three bedrooms with nice and comfy beds, try the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perserpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I came here with girlfriends for a spa weekend special. They had different classes (yoga, spinning, boot camp etc) throughout the weekend, and the price was very fair. We stayed in a villa. The entire stay was wonderful, but the dinners could be improved.

Room Tip: If you stay in the hotel, stay on the top floor. I heard it can get pretty noisy from the bar at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestfoss
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I enjoyed a nice weekend with my wife at the spa hotel in January 2012. We booked in advance through e-mail and everything was organised according to our needs.

Since we wanted a quiet weekend without kids for a change, we booked the package "Tid for hverandre" (Time for each other) including stay in a sea house with different spa treatments. We needed time for ourselves and thought the hotel would be quiet and enjoyable.

Unfortunately Friday night was terrible because other guests did not have the same needs as we. There were several groups of people who definitely wanted to have a nice time with lots of alcohol. In the night to Saturday people were shouting, screaming, playing loud music until 4 o'clock in the morning - terrible and a waste of a good night's sleep for us.

Luckily the party people disappeared on Saturday and the rest of the weekend was great.

The spa treatments were perfect and the food delicious. We had booked all meals as well, and especially Friday evening was perfect in the restaurant (three course meal). Saturday evening they served buffet meal, so we could eat as much as we wanted.

Room Tip: We had a cabin close the sea. Ask for a cabin far away from the hotel entrance where people smoke an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmsbu
9.5 mi away
Son Spa
Son Spa
#1 of 1 in Son
627 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotell Refsnes Gods
4.9 mi away
Holmestrand Fjordhotell
Holmestrand Fjordhotell
#1 of 1 in Holmestrand
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden
17.2 mi away
Stotvig Hotel
Stotvig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkollen
303 reviews
19.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmsbu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmsbu Hotel & Spa

Property: Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
Address: Roedtangveien 18 A, Holmsbu 3484, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hurum > Holmsbu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmsbu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holmsbu Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Holmsbu Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing