We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar view compensates for poor service”

Sunset Grill at Little Harbor
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Ruskin
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stellar view compensates for poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant several times and although the service is often slow, this past experience left us scratching our heads. We were the only customers there on a Monday lunch and I had to go searching for someone to refill our drinks. The receptionist got the chef to come out of the kitchen to pour a diet coke. So, the chef gets our thanks twice because the meal itself was mouthwatering fish so perfectly prepared it was worth the wait. The restaurant is a bit hard to find but worth the effort as it is only about 10 minutes off I-75. The windows face Tampa Bay and across 5 miles of open water one can see the skyline of St. Petersburg. We have gone several times for lunch and will keep going back for the ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phototango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    209
    116
    57
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The name says everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We visited the Sunset Grill on Halloween with lots of folks in costume. The deck was not terribly full, but the DJ was playing LOUD and smoking is allowed on the deck, which spoiled our desire for outdoor dining. The lounge was quieter and smoke free, wait staff was friendly and accomodating. Walked us through the evening specials without rushing us. All meals were well prepared and tasty, drinks were also good. Sunset was absolutely perfect which made it a great dinning experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great view so so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The reviews were mixed but since we were in Ruskin we give it a try. Awesome view overlooking St Petersburg on the water. I had the lobster pita which was small pieces of claw and a lot of mayonnaise. My husband had the fish sandwich which was huge topped with onion strings. Lots of breeding and very soft fish which made it hard to eat. The waiter was attentive and refilled our drinks but overall would go for happy hour and skip the food.

Helpful?
Thank RNSAILOR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Medicore food and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I went to the Resort & Club at Little Harbor and had dinner at the Sunset Grill. Dinner was medicore - the Chilean Sea bass was just ok and the risotto was not very tasty and mushy. The service was very slow.

The next morning we went back to the Sunset Grill for breakfast which was a buffet. There were only about 15 tables and 2 waiters. The waiter came by our table to get our drink order, brought our drinks and NEVER came back. After attempting to get his attention for 20 minutes, we finally left.

They really need to kick up the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What Happened to One of Our Faves?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

In the 6 years we have lived in the area, we have been to Little Harbour and the Sunset Grill many, many times. It has had its ups and downs, service- and menu-wise, but has always bounced back. This time...?

We arrived around 6:30 on a Saturday evening to eat in the outside Tiki Bar area. We knew we would have to wait a while, but that's OK. But 2 1/2 hours?? Are you kidding me?? I have never, ever waited that long for any restaurant ANYWHERE in the world! (And believe me, this is NOT a world-class place.) So we were forced to eat inside -- which is pretty much just a bar.

Our server was friendly, but inattentive and sloppy -- wine all over the table. The menu has been reduced to the barest minimum, with several of our previous favorites not making the apparent cut. Food was plated sloppily, and tasted so-so. And the canned music was incredibly, unbelievably LOUD -- ear-bleeding, seizure-inducing loud! It was impossible to carry on any kind of a conversation. We ate and high-tailed it out of there!

I doubt we will be back any time soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Grill at Little Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Grill at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing