We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dog House and More

The Dog House and More
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We pride ourselves on making everything fresh to order. We make homemade Chili, Chowder, Baked Beans, Coleslaw, Mango Salsa, BBQ Sauces (Sweet, Spicy and White!), Chipotle Mayo, Burgers, Tartar Sauce, Cocktail Sauce, Cajun Sauce...In other words - FRESH INGREDIENTS = AWESOME FOOD! We have our own large smoker which we daily use to smoke our Baby Back Ribs, Whole Chickens, Brisket and Boston Butts (for our Pulled Pork). Our seafood is delivered to us twice a week including Clams from Ipswich, Mass (Whole Bellies and Strips), Lobster Meat from Maine, Gulf Grouper & Shrimp! If you are looking for a great place to eat you can check out our reviews on Trip Advisor, Yelp, Urbanspoon or Foursquare!
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We have been by 'the Dog a House" many times & always said we would stop - yesterday we did and we weren't disappointed ! We ordered a slab of ribs to go, the smell in the car on the way home was yummy ! We weren't disappointed - they were delicious the meat fell off the bone and the smokey flavor from the barbecue was just perfect ! Definitely be back !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    60
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outdoor food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Dog House is one of our favorite local spots. They are expanding rapidly because their food is good and the service is friendly. The menu is always expanding to include a wide variety of delights....but the dogs are our favorite!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Wait can be long on a beautiful day but food definitely makes the wait worth it. Had pulled pork sandwich, onion rings and the shrimp tacos. Food was very tasty and made to order. Even had choice of fried, grilled or blackened shrimp on taco. Would highly recommend for a casual dining experience. Not open on Sundays or Mondays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

WOW, what a awesome meal, fresh fried clams, homemade onion rings, pulled pork, sweet potato fries, and fantastic coleslaw. Nuff said you get the idea, and the couple who own the restaurant super friendly and so helpful with those of us who can't make up their mind. Had a sample of the homemade clam chowder, it's wonderful too, next time. Loved sitting outside with our fur baby as she was welcome also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracie1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent food for a shack!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Expect a short wait as everything is cooked to order. I had the fresh fish and chips basket which came with cole slaw and a pickle. Mine had nice crisp batter and flaky fish; coleslaw so excellent I wish they gave a larger portion. Wife had Pulled pork sandwich basket which also came with fires, cole slaw and pickle. Pulled pork has two sause options, sweet or spicy. Sweet was too swwet, spicy too spicy.. I wish the had a mustard based sauce.

Picnic tables under a canopy are great with fans blowing here in the FL heat. Was very busy for lunch. Eat there or they provide to-go orders...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dog House and More also viewed

 

Been to The Dog House and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing