We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborside Suites at Little Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary week here, and found it very comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite, they call it a hotel, but it is set up more like a condo rental, where you get start up soaps and toiletries, and responsible for your own housekeeping and linens. We had a fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, combination sitting area and dining area with a flat screen TV, separate bedroom and bathroom with a large walkin shower, the bedroom also had a second TV, a safe, cable, free Wi-Fi, and tastefully decorated. The area felt safe, I went for afternoon walks alone and never felt uncomfortable. The property backs up to the harbor, that has a lot of docked sail boats and yachts, ans is full of manatees, if you take the time to look for them. The gym was among the best I have experienced when away from home, it felt more like our local home gym, and was fully stocked with working equipment. Machine weights, free weights, clean towels, water and TV's. We did not used the pool or hot tubs, but they looked very nice. The staff was super friendle, and always greeted us, and asked if we needed help. The beach area is private and nice, and chairs and umbrellas are provided free of charge for guests. Ruskin is a sleepy little down, not much to do

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Harborside Suites at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary! I'm glad that you were pleasantly surprised with our condo-style Harborside Suites. According to the contract with the third party wholesaler which you booked through, housekeeping services are not included. I apologize if this was not properly communicated to you prior to your arrival. If you choose to stay with us again in the future, all reservations booked directly through the hotel include housekeeping services. Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again on future anniversary trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    97
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
102
127
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

perfect place to unwind,watch sunset,play golf, staff war wonderful,tiki bar was great.Rooms were good sized and clean. the hotel is a little out of the way so if you are looking for alot of shopping or nightlife you have to go into Tampa. Overall gust a great party weekend

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Harborside Suites at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Harborside Suites. I am glad that we were able to provide you had such a pleasant weekend getaway. Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il.-USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I thought I`d already reviewed this but maybe not:)My husband and I took our Grandson there for a week-it was definatly very fullfilling!!!The condo was totally stocked even to the washer and dryer.The staff was primo to every need!!The pool was the first salt water pool I`d ever been in and totally enjoyed it!!It is 4 ft. on the edges and goes to 6 ft. in the middle-no chlorine to smell:)We faced the marina and oversaw the Ocean and could actually see St.Petersburg from our condo!!!They have just everything you could want as an inclusive-private beach-pool-jaccuzzi-courts-Tiki Bar-be careful the language got pretty spicey from the band:)Little ears-nono!!We loved the fact the car was totally protected from the sun-so no worries on getting into a heated car!!I sprained my foot on the 3rd day-drat!!!So that shut down our plans on going deep sea fishing-they are called Anna-Banna I`d highly reccommend them-as stated we didn`t get to go-but the Father -son team were very impressive as people in general and bottom line if we ever go back we shall have our exchursion!!The food was good My hubby and I git a little metal detecting on the private beach-only a few hours-as of my sprain:(we didn`t find any lagoons but we did find change that`s fun to us!!I would have no qualms about taking anyone to this resort!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to be no lower than the 3rd floor in condos and request a waterview!!!!I was double grateful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USALOVETOTRAVEL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Harborside Suites at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our pools, private beach access, and magnificent views. We look forward to seeing you again soon for some deep sea fishing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We especially loved looking at the boats and the walk to the private beach is only about 500 feet from the rooms! I could stay for a week and enjoy every moment of it!
The clean sand is like a tropical island and the food close-by is excellent too but that is another review!
I can highly recommend this little hidden hot spot for a romantic get-away or family fun. It would even be a nice spot to write a book!

Room Tip: We had a back room looking at a canal but next time I would like Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannaCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Harborside Suites at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also upload photos from your recent stay with us. Your photos provide a great example of our One Bedroom suites with a partial kitchenette. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our beach access and also the view from your room! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in the Harborside Suites portion of the resort in an 2-story 3bdr/3 bath unit for one week in early April. The resort was booked to capacity, thus our check-in was delayed. After driving 1100 miles to get there, our family (5 adults and a one year old) were tired and cranky, so this was an inconvenience we brought up to the resort staff. We were compensated with 6 free drinks for use at their restaurant or tiki bar. We were extremely impressed with the accommodations overall. There was one bedroom/bath on the main level, along with the kitchen, living/dining area, and a balcony. The upstairs had 2 bedrooms/baths and a balcony attached to one of the bedrooms. The unit was decently stocked with basic utensils/cookware and some (not many) toiletries/soaps/etc. Our only complaint was the carpet-it had seen better days no doubt. With how often we were coming in/out to/from the beach and pool it's no wonder the carpet wears quickly, as I'm sure most of the unit's users are doing the same.If you are booking in the harborside suites, do your best to request and score a "harbor view." We were lucky enough to get a top floor unit with this view and I am sure it added 1 star to my rating, at least.

The location (Ruskin, FL) is a pretty desolate area by vacation standards, no doubt. Shame on those reviewers who took points off of the resort for this, though. Do your research ahead of time (pinpoint Ruskin on a map, for example) and you will find yourself aware of this issue and you can then choose not to book your stay here. We took day trips to Clearwater and St. Petersburg. The drive to each took about 40 minutes. There is a SuperWalmart about 15 minutes away, but other grocery stores and fast food are a tad closer than that.

The beach left much to be desired. Had it not been for our great accommodations, I would have downgraded my rating to 3 stars because of this. It was private and not too crowded; however there were VERY FEW chair/umbrellas available for set-up and the water was slightly murky. If you're looking for good swimming/ocean-like waters....head to St. Pete's or Clearwater. The pool closest to our unit on the other hand was GREAT. Water was decently warm, there was a hot tub, plenty of lounge chairs/umbrellas, and a communal gas grill and nice seating area too.

We ate dinner at the restaurant (Sunset Grille) once. Food was a bit pricey, but very good. We had appetizers and drinks at the Tiki Bar a few times. Excellent Mai Tais and reasonably priced. Plus the view was awesome for sunsets. The atmosphere did get a little rowdy though, especially on the weekends.

Overall, a great place for families. The crowd was generally senior citizens and families with young children (we went while most schools were in session, after the Easter holiday). The rowdiness at the bar area was due to the fact that it isn't a private establishment. It seems the locals do congregate there to blow off some steam...but this only seemed to happen on the weekends after 7pm. My advice: request a harbor view and stop at the grocery store (so you can cook a majority of meals in the unit). This place worked out great for us, as our son is still so young that a pool and beach was all he needed to be entertained for the week!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SReed12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I am a single traveler and wanted to stay someplace nice for a brief vacation. The location is a bit out of the way, but not that far from the main road. Ruskin is midway between Tampa and Sarasota. There is much to visit in the immediate area. My room was well-kept, attractive, spacious, with a private lanai overlooking the boat basin. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The one major negative is the restaurant on-site (not part of the hotel). It serves mediocre food, service is slow, the place is a bit shabby and not as clean as it should be. It is the ONLY option unless you want to drive a bit. Ruskin itself offers very little. The kitchenette in the room was very convenient, especially for preparing breakfast (which the hotel does not provide). Overall, a pleasant stay. Would return again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing west for the view of the boat basin and the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sush108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Harborside Suites at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It's refreshing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was so helpful. We’re glad you were able to enjoy our central location between Tampa, Sarasota, and St. Petersburg. The restaurant on property is leased by a separate company. However, I have forwarded your comments to their manager. We can’t wait to welcome you back for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here from Feb 22 to Mar 1. It is a little off the beaten path, but not as remote as some reviews made it out to be. All necessities are a short 5 minute drive away. Check in was quick, pleasant. Although we did not get a marina view, and requested to be moved if one became available, it did not happen, but for the time we spent in our room, we were very pleased otherwise. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable and aside from lacking toiletry space in the bathroom, it had everything we needed + more, including free wi-fi. Housekeeping came in 3 or 4 times during the week - not every day, but that was fine. The kitchen was more than adequate for preparing light snacks or picnic lunches and we stocked up on fresh fruits and veggies from roadside vendors for this purpose. The resort itself was very pleasant for walking, exploring, relaxing. Our one meal at the restaurant was good and the sunset from Tiki Bar was beautiful. Beach was more than adequate for our needs - not as "tiny" as some made out. Guess it is what you are used to. Not as busy as some of the large Gulf Coast beaches and we took full advantage of it. We returned to the resort late one night after a hockey game in Tampa and there was a security guard at the gate who carefully checked our id before letting us in the grounds. Very reassuring. All in all, this place was perfect for what we wanted and we would return again. Don't miss The Fish House (Shell Pt Road, open only Thurs, Fri, Sat). Great seafood at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiquita108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Harborside Suites at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
I apologize that our staff was unable to accommodate your request for a room with a marina view. If you would like to guarantee a marina view for your next stay with us, you may contact the hotel directly and obtain a guaranteed water view room for an additional $25 per night. We’re glad that you were still able to enjoy your stay at our resort. I agree that the Fish House is a nice little seafood shack nearby. We’re lucky to have such a hidden gem so close by. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
17.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#72 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Little Harbor
5.2 mi away
Ruskin Inn Hotel
Ruskin Inn Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ruskin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Suites at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Suites at Little Harbor

Property: Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
Address: 536 Bahia Beach Blvd, Ruskin, FL 33570-3022 (Formerly Harborside Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Suites at Little Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor is nestled between Tampa and Sarasota on 125 acres surrounded by the calm, soothing waters of Tampa Bay.Harborside Suites offers superior accommodations featuring, studio, one, two and three bedroom suites, all beautifully decorated featuring upscale amenities and complimentary WIFI internet access.Harborside Suites features a pool, jacuzzi, fitness center, fire place area, outside kitchen with gas grill, views accross our marina and Tampa Bay.Our guests will also enjoy our secluded half mile of provate beach, tennis, basket ball, kayaking, waverunners, sailing, fishing, shuffleboard, horse shoes and two other pools. With 36 holes of Championship golf just 10 minutes away.See you soon at our "Little Slice of Paradise" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Harborside Suites at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Suites At Little Harbor Ruskin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing