We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the breakfast crowd goes”
Review of Popi’s Place V

Popi’s Place V
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oneida, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Where the breakfast crowd goes”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Get to any one of their locations early because the crowds line up quickly after about 8:30 a.m. Evidently each of their locations has a family member on site which helps assure consistent quality and service. They offer an array of breakfast specials each day as well as an extensive menu of omelets, pancakes and French toast. Served poached eggs cooked as you want them.

As a tea drinker, I appreciate the fact that tea refills are offered as often as the coffee ones. Too often the coffee carafes arrive frequently and the hot water refills seem to vanish! Not so here.

Prices are reasonable, service quick and efficient. My only criticism is that the corned beef hash in not homemade. I love homemade corned beef hash with a poached egg but finding places that don't just open a can of it is challenging these days. Accomodating-- no problem substituting mozzarella cheese for the feta in the Greek omelet.

Suspect that lunch is equally as good, but haven't had a chance to eat it here yet. Menu looks good so hope to do so in the near future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    67
    21
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good food but very noisey”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The food is very good and reasonable priced but the seating is tight and very noisy. The service is quick efficient and the waitress's are friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ED R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was the first time my family and I visited this restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised. The employess were very friendly and the restaurant had a home feel. Although the restaurant was packed and all tables were full, service was very quick and efficient. Our waitress knew the menu very well and was helpful in making suggestions based on our desires. The food portions were very big and satisfying. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a large home cooked meal with reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 282MoniqueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
313 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good "home made" food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We been here dozen of times. What appears like an old Pizza Hut location, they converted into this "home cooking" restaurant. Very down to earth, no thrills, decent food, great portions. At times, it looks chaotic, but sit back and relax, it will come thru. Waiters are very personal and are constantly checking your needs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Abundant portions! Very friendly service!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Just had lunch at Popi's V. We were greeted at the door and made to feel very welcome. Our waitress was very accommodating and very patient, even offering to provide separate checks for our party of five. This is diner fare, nothing fancy, but tasty and abundant. The lemon chicken rice soup was, especially, delicious. If you're looking for simple food, courteous and efficient service, and a very warm greeting, this is your place!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popi’s Place V also viewed

 

Been to Popi’s Place V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing