We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Room 105”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Little Harbor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Room 105”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have stayed at this resort before but this was the first time I stayed in the "older" section and I must say it was not a good feeling. When I first opened the door to room 105 the smell of mildew and dampness was very strong. Next I could hear something running and it was the toilet. The toilet would run off and on during my entire stay of two nights which was annoying.

The air-conditioner was very loud and didn't blow very cold air. I had a feeling the filter needed cleaning. The room was cute with a "vintage" TV set with very poor quality channels.

The closet door, once opened I couldn't get it to shut because of the rusty track on the bottom (see photo below) The closet was a serious joke!

Next I noticed a "peep" hole in the curtain (see photo below) which made me very uncomfortable. And the lampshade had a water stain. The bed side lampshade a brown light-bulb burn marks which made me afraid to use that lamp in fear of starting a fire.

I will say the bed was comfortable.

I was so happy to see cream and an assortment of sweeteners for my coffee but after I made the coffee there was nothing around to stir it with so lucky I had a toothbrush to stir my coffee!

To be honest I would never stay in this room again but would consider to try another room. I spoke with another guest at check-out that told me how disappointed she was too with this section of the resort as it seems we both were placed into this area because she too had stayed in the newer section in the past.

The service at Hooks was terrible, but that is another review!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannaCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity it provides us to improve our product and services. While I am glad to hear you enjoyed your previous stays with us at our Harborside Suites, it is unfortunate to hear that your recent stay at our Inn was not as pleasant. I have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping & Engineering Managers so that appropriate action can be taken to repair/replace the defective items found in your room. We would appreciate if you gave us another opportunity to be your host for your next visit to the Tampa Bay area. I feel that if you chose to stay with us again, you would have a much more pleasant experience, similar to your previous stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    252
    109
    51
    49
See reviews for
259
257
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Very quaint and peaceful place. Staff were all wonderful, prices are reasonable and a variety of activities. Private beach with chairs, jet skis, fishing and two good resturants with good prices. A cozy convince store with everything you could possibly think of. The rooms are dated but very clean. I can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clw2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of several of our resort's activities and amenities. We can not wait to welcome you back to our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This Little Marina, Resort, Vacation Rental is out on the East side of Tampa Bay. About 10 miles from every thing. Its a wonderful place with very nice pools and spa's. A small store on site, but a Wal-Mart is about 10 miles away. We came to fish a little and relax and mission accomplished. We had a wonderful stay. There are lots of places to fish from the shore line, and a pier that is perfect for fishing. A private beach to lay out on and a few pools around the property. There is a bar/restaruant on site called the Tiki bar and another one called Hooks. Both had good food and fair prices. You can drive about 15 miles south and find any thing you need. We loved the relaxing vacation we had and would stay here again..

Room Tip: We stayed in Building C/4th floor. Ask for a high room floor so you can see over the Condos behind a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our resort. We are glad you were able to enjoy all that our resort has to offer. We hope that you are able to visit us again soon. During your next stay with us, don't forget about the great fishing off the sea wall along the back side of our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We bought a Travel Zoo coupon to spend a weekend at this "resort" close to our home and talked two other couples into joining us. From the first phone call for the reservation to the final contact at check-out, we were extremely pleased!! Staff was very friendly and accommodating! There were some problems with hair dryers and TVs not working but the maintenance staff responded quickly and fixed everything. The suites were very nice and well stocked with glasses, utensils and appliances (blender, refrigerator, microwave, etc.) Maybe the shower floor could have been scrubbed a bit more but otherwise, the room was fresh and clean!

There are several (small) swimming pools available for guests, a GREAT gym, several restaurants and a great tiki bar all within easy walking distance of our rooms. The service was excellent, the food was good and the prices were reasonable. The Sunday champagne brunch is reasonably priced and had a good selection of foods. Very casual resort!!

There is a drawback to it being on the brackish Tampa Bay, but there is a small sandy beach with free chairs for guests (locals use the beach too) where there was a nice breeze. The view across the bay was fantastic!!

Definitely out of the way and there is nothing else convenient to get to for restaurant choices but it was a great weekend for the 6 of us and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enewgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear our staff was helpful and responsive to your needs. We hope to host you and your friends again soon. Our front desk staff would be more than happy to recommend some local restaurant gems!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we stayed here for couple nights. It is nice and peaceful place for family. We really enjoyed the nice view ,great breakfast, clean sheets and the pool. We would come back even though it is a little bit out of the way from attractions, but it is great place for a family with kids, they have couple pools and private beach.
Room was very nice, but the carpets in the room and the halways need to be canged.
Breakfast food was good and staff was very friendly, but restaurant needs to be updated as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadicprincess75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hallway carpets have been replaced with brand new carpeting. Additionally, the carpet and tile inside each of the guest rooms will be professionally cleaned within the upcoming month. We hope you are able to stay with us again and enjoy our updated facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

After reading recent reviews I was reluctant to vacation there. We thoroughly enjoyed the vacation. The staff was friendly and cooperative, especially housekeeping and maintenance who changed out our fridge as the freezer was not working within an hour. The sunset grill seemed to have their act together and we were seated & served in a timely manner. We enjoyed the seclusion, the jetty &sea wall fishing & the rod rental from their marina shop was affordable. It is true all the carpets could do with shampooing & the kichen could have a kettle and starter paper towel roll, however, it did not take away from the general vacation experience & overall cleanliness of the resort. It does have an onsite market place for basic amenities & souvenirs.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bldg C and were happy with the accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your pleasant review. It is so nice hearing that you had an enjoyable experience. We're glad to hear you were able to enjoy everything our resort offers including the Sunset Grill, fishing, and the Village Market. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next Tampa Bay visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the inn for one night as sort of a quick getaway. This place is located on the water in the middle of nowhere. That being said that may be this resorts best amenity! The views are simply breathtaking. During a clear day you can see the sunshine skyway bridge, tropicana field, and downtown Saint Petersburg across the bay. The resort has several amenities which we used. First of all the beach is not very good. While it is private there is no drink service on the beach nor is the water very nice. The water is very shallow and covered in sea grass. On the beach chairs and umbrellas are provided free of charge for the guests. The pool was ok however there were no towels. I attempted to call however the phone by the pool was broken. They need a little more security as well because there were several kids using the pool in a loud manner stating that they sneak in all of the time. Both o the restaurants on the property were very good and very reasonable. Hooks provides a very casual atmosphere with sandwiches, salads, etc and sunset grill provides a bit more of a formal dining experience. The room was a good size (we upgraded to a junior suite since we wanted a king size bed) and had a kitchen with a mini fridge and a two burner stove. The kitchen was well stocked with wine glasses, plates, etc. The room appeared to be freshly remodeled with the exception of the tv. The tv was extremely blurry and was not worth watching. The wireless signal on the property was completely useless and needs to be upgraded. All in all a nice night away but would like to see some changes here to elevate this resorts standing in the Tampa bay area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampachris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent stay. We take all guest feedback very seriously and use it to improve our product and services. We have repaired the defective pool phone since your departure. We also provide extra pool towels in each of our guest rooms at the Inn. I am glad you were able to enjoy the magnificent views across the bay as well as our new beach furniture and umbrellas. We have recently partnered with a new security company which regularly performs pool checks to ensure only our guests are using our pools. We hope you're able to visit again soon and enjoy our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
0.2 mi away
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#73 of 163 in Tampa
1,515 reviews
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
1.5 mi away
Pirates Pointe Resort
Pirates Pointe Resort
#3 of 4 in Ruskin
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Harbor

Property: The Inn at Little Harbor
Address: 611 Destiny Dr, Ruskin, FL 33570-3019 (Formerly The Resort & Club at Little Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Little Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor
The Inn At Little Harbor Ruskin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing