We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place for rest and relaxation!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Little Harbor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Indpls,IN
1 review
“Awesome place for rest and relaxation!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed in November and to be quite honest, at first I was disappointed but quickly saw the the benefits of it being off the beaten path!!! Our room was at the very end of the marina and on the 3rd floor. We were able to watch "Manny" the manatee every morning when we woke up! Then the days were spent walking the property and lounging on the beach. The staff for the beach was awesome!! Your water glasses never went unfilled and you were offered towels and anything else you may need while relaxing! We were able to watch dolphins swim by a few times and my husband and daughter and grandson were able to take in an hour of jet skiing too!! The property is absolutely beautiful. We were able to take our daughter's senior pictures while we were there as well.
If you are looking for hoopla and excitement this is not the place for you but if you are looking for rest and relaxation this is it!!!! I would return there in a heart beat for a trip away with my husband or by myself but not for a family vacation. My family is much too active to be content there. The veranda area is absolutely gorgeous too! We grilled our dinner out there and then we even sat out one or two evenings by the fireplace! I can't speak highly enough of the front desk staff for their friendliness availability, and being informative. Thank you for a relaxing and restful stay!!!

The Roberts Family

  • Liked — quiet and relaxing
  • Disliked — too far from town and anything major to do
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grammyof2cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    252
    106
    50
    48
See reviews for
255
255
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Little Harbor is a fantastic place to stay. It is located right on Tampa Bay in a secluded and peaceful location. It is a great place for all ages. I attended a wedding at Little Harbor and it could not have been prettier. The staff is delightful and helps to make your stay very enjoyable. The resort is beautiful and it is located directly on Tampa Bay, with a private beach and water crafts to rent. I would recommend Little Harbor to anyone. It is a great place to get away for the weekend, bring your family for a reunion, go to a wedding, or just dine and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DallasGatorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

I made reservations to stay at this property for July 2- July 5th, but only lasted one night there. I traveled with my husband and our 6 year old. (We are in our early to mid 30's). The resort is 35-45 minutes away from Tampa airport. It is located in a very small town that needs a major make over. I did like the grocery store nearby (I think it was called Sweetbay) and there is a McDonald about 10 minutes driving distance from the property. The check in process was pretty smooth, the front clerk (Alberto) gave us vouchers for free drinks at he Tiki bar and a kayak voucher (This is for all guests there). We paid about $116 a night total with tax included. Not bad considering they tried to charge us over $150 per night because of the holiday. However, we checked out the next day with no questions asked (They probably already knew the reason). The manager didn't charge us for the rest of the nights that we had booked (Thank goodness!).

Pro: The view was nice. There is a on site private beach for the guest and for the condo owners. (The condos were the first buildings you see when you drive towards the Motel. (I refer to this place as a motel for a reason- I will elaborate in the CONS section). It is better to stay in the condos I think. We saw a couple of dolphins leaping up out of the water when we were on the beach. That was amazing and was the highlight of our stay there. It was the first time ever we were able to see dolphins in their natural habitat. The restaurant and the staff there were wonderful. You can tell they enjoy what they do. The food and the presentation was great. They must pay the chef well. I especially loved the pancakes (made from scratch!). That's two things I missed about the place- the food and the dolphins. The room was equipped with a refridgerator and a clean microwave.

Cons: The moment we walked up the stairs to get to our room; I felt sick to my stomach. I knew that this was not going to be good. The building looked old and the hallway to get to our room was dark and tight. (The carpet looked dingy). I opened the room door and knew I felt uneasy about the place and started apologizing to my family for making such a bad decison this time (I am the one in the family usually planning the vacations). The room was decorated as a japanese style bedding which is in need of new ones. The room had a 'musky' odor to it (I kept sneezing). It also had a free standing very loud air conditioning (I didn't think hotel still have those). The bathroom was very very small (but it had granite sink). I felt dirty the whole time there. The beach was nice, however there was alot of seaweed (lots!) and sea shells galore. The sand & water was not pretty at all. (Better sand in Clearwater--much better). The pool also was tiny and old. It rained one night and the downstairs area leading to the front desk and the area where the ice machine/pool is located was flooded! Not a good sign.

This place is truly located in no where land. If you want a place to get away and do nothing but lay on the beach all day then this place is for you. (Warning- come prepared because there is no gift shop or anything like that on site. You'll have to drive somewhere to get it).

We checked out the next morning and drove to the Grand Hyatt near Tampa airport and paid the around the same price for a room. The Grand Hyatt is worth another review to be discussed. All I can say is that we LOVED the Grand Hyatt! That HOTEL saved our vacation! I am not staying at little harbor again. Not worth paying a hotel rate for a 'motel' room.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Our room and the pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

When our reservations at another beach resort were mixed up, a townhouse at Little Harbor was substituted. We couldn't have been more pleased. Our condo was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The resort has a private beach, which although small, was very nice. (Umbrellas and chaise lounges were complimentary.) Daily maid service and replacement of the soaps, lotion, shampoo, etc. was a plus that most condos don't have. There is a very nice restaurant on site with excellent meals and a tiki bar with a nice band (not too loud) on the weekends. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching boats and birds go by. Only drawback was that the resort is a good drive from both Tampa and St. Petersburg, where there is stuff to do. Probably not great for kids (great for really little ones) or teenagers, but was calm and relaxing for us. Already dreaming of my next trip back!

Helpful?
1 Thank baseballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Little Harbor is a developers dream on ex-indian reservation land. You get to see some really dumpy properties on the way in. It was meant to be just retirement condos and such then they decided to add a little hotel to let people stay while they were trying to sell them. You can rent the unsold condos too.
The rooms are very nice..some are bit more cramped than others but they do have little kitchens with dishwasher and tiny fridges even in the smallest ones.
If you just want to look at the ocean and nap it is a great place.
The bar closes at like 9pm and everyone goes to bed.
If you want to go to town to eat or go out...be careful. There are few places to eat or even places you would want to go into. The bars looked scary and from the ramshackle look of the town..this is a very poor area.
Maybe because I come from an area where even the poorest properties look neat and clean I see things this way. I have noticed that some of my southern cousins are ...well...unkempt.
You really need to drive into Tampa to eat, shop or go out.
Honestly, the place is great for retired people who don't do anything or maybe honeymooners who never leave their room or want to lay on the beach. It would be good for a family reunion too.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Overall the place was fantastic. I was with my wife & 2 year old son. We stayed in a 1-bedroom "condo" that was incredible. It was at least 1100 sq ft and had a gorgeous view of the marina and bay. It had granite countertops, new furniture, a great balcony and full kitchen. They even gave us a crib & hi-chair for no additional cost.

There was a pool loctaed right below us as well as two more closer to the office. The bigger pool by the office has a slippery deck, be careful, my son had quite a fall. The beach is small but perfect for what we needed, a place to play in the sand.

The restaurant was very good but a little pricey for every meal.

The staff was very nice & courteous, especially Tiffany, she was a blessing. She helped arrange the crib, hi-chair and about a zillion other questions we had.

The only reason I did not give this 5 stars was the location. Ruskin is a dinky town. There is a Wal Mart about 10 miles away but for the most part there are a lot of Ma& Pop type operations in town. We ate at several of them restaurants in town and they were good but for turisty type shopping, you need to head to St. Pete Beach which is about 30 minutes.

We have already decided to go back down there in 3-5 years once the resort is bigger and Ruskin grows a little more.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, new york
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

We stayed at this resort late April/2008. When we arrived, the desk clerk checked her files & then had to contact housekeeping. She was told the room wouldn't be ready for 45mins to an hour.(We booked this at least 2mos+ in advance). I asked the girl what we were to do in the meantime.(It's at least 1/2 hour from anything). She replied "go take a swim". We went & had dinner. When we got to the room, housekeeping obviously did nothing. The kitchen counters were filthy, the table had food stuck to it. The manager came to the room at least & tried to soothe things over with a free breakfast. The initial check-in was such a bad experience, I couldn't wait to get out of there. In their defense, the staff at the restaurants were very friendly & gracious.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — checking in
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
0.2 mi away
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
14.4 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Harbor

Property: The Inn at Little Harbor
Address: 611 Destiny Dr, Ruskin, FL 33570-3019 (Formerly The Resort & Club at Little Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Little Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor
The Inn At Little Harbor Ruskin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing