We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfu,l Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fish House

The Fish House
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Grandville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderfu,l Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a fantastic meal we had and we sure were in for a surprise with the flavor of our food. We'll be going back to try all the other selections we couldn't decide on. Spoke with some of those sitting around us and all their comments were so positive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    79
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great take out food or outdoor eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The crowds are a true indication of the popularity of this fish place. The line often extends all the way to the road and diners jockey for places to sit at the picnic tables. The fish and and shrimp are excellent and so fresh. They serve a generous portion of fried green tomatoes and a very rich cream soup. If you are going to take your meal home, call in advance and save yourself a long wait in line. Wish it was open more than Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grouper Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very fresh lightly fried. Lots of fish on your sandwich. Just too light on tartar sauce- so order to the side.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sorry222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Fried Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just a side of the road dive, but great tasting food at great prices. I had a fried clam strip dinner with fries and slaw. Wow! There was enough good eats to feed two persons with 1 dinner. So if you don,t mind sitting at picnic tables with strangers (remember you can go home to eat) this is a great seafood joint. Since I am now local, I will be repeat customer for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dietz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited the The Fish House on a recent trip. The house fish was a mild white fish that was very tasty. The owner, a cute older gentlemen, was very friendly and chatted easily with all of the guests. The next time we are in the area we will definitely stop by again. It truly is a hidden gem.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing