We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT!”
Review of La Casita

La Casita
Ranked #33 of 57 Restaurants in Ruskin
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I love the food here.... I come to la casita every weekend to get the tacos with papas con juevo. U guys are doing a great job keep up the good work! :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica7607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food is why you eat here......”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It's quite true that the ambiance is somewhat lacking; that being, said the food was great and the prices were good. The building appears to be an old converted convenience store with the front windows walled in. Inside is a little Spanish market on one side and a dining room on the other side with school cafeteria seating. You place your order at the counter and are directed to select a drink from the cooler in the mini mart side and then take a seat. The food was served quickly and was filling, satisfying and quite good. If you ask for a desert you will be directed to some rich, but quiet good shrink wrapped large dried and frosted sweet potato or the like. The whole experience felt like we were transported to Latin America but in a good way. As a saying goes...... Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgieiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

When I first walked into the restaurant, I was a little hesitant because of the lackluster appearance, but don't be fooled, the food is amazing! The meat was perfectly seasoned and the soup was so flavorful. Even my picky fiance enjoyed the food. We liked it so much, we went back again before our vacation ended. Give it a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brittany e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't let the ambiance deter you, the food is amazing!”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

At first sight it doesn't seem much. A grocer & walk up deli style establishment. However the servers are warm and the food is amazing! Truly amazing. Our family of 6 ate for 32$ and we are stuffed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank happybunch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay . . . but not a restaurant.”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A local in the area had recommended this place; however, he failed to tell us that it wasn't a restaurant. It is more of a local Mexican store that offers food and has a few tables and chairs to eat it. First off, the menu is extremely limited and all in Spanish. The food itself was not that great. My youngest daughter, who normally enjoyes Mexican food, barely ate it. My husband, who lived in Texas for a time being, said it was authentic, but not that great. The rice was dry and the tamale wasn't that tasty. Maybe the other menu items were better, but we didn't return there after our first visit to find out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnnNash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing